Being the Example

Huh.  Well.  This is just weird for me.

I had an appointment with my sports nutritionist earlier this week (“sports” being a necessary adjective, since, yes, I do have two nutritionists… don’t ask), and she told me that she used me as an example with another client — a teenaged girl who was worried that gaining weight would negatively impact her running by making her lose speed.

That was me not that long ago.  I was absolutely, positively convinced that if I gained even an ounce, that extra weight would just add onto the bulk I have to carry when I’m running.  But you know what?  The exact opposite happened.  Before the half marathon disaster, I was doing dedicated speedwork, and I was practically killing myself to get under an 8:00 mile (which I finally did manage, barely).  Right now, I’m focusing on building mileage over all else, so beyond throwing in a few fartleks here and there, I’m not working on speed at all.  And guess what?  I got faster.  I can run a sub-8:00 mile now, and it feels a hell of a lot easier than it did six months ago.

It’s just weird to think that I was used as an example of something other than what not to do… because that’s what usually happens.

Leave a Reply

