“Busy People Get More Done”

For the record, I believe that is completely untrue.  Because if it weren’t, I would be doing something other than sitting on the floor in my bedroom, staring at my computer screen with glazed eyes.  Though sleep deprivation probably is a factor there…

Yesterday I spent an hour waiting to see the sports MD, who says it’s probably just that my muscles aren’t used to running, and that I should “just take it slow.”  How I could possibly take it any slower, I do not know, but okay, then… he also sent me for an X-ray, not really for my peace of mind (since the old fractures didn’t show up on the X-ray initially anyway), but “because of [my] history.”  Meaning, since I am prone to falling apart in truly spectacular ways.

The X-ray showed nothing suspicious on the right side, but it did show healing on the pubic rami fractures on the left side, which is exciting news, even if I already knew that, since it feels so much better.

I thought that I appreciated being able to run before: now it has been taken to an entirely new level.  I don’t care if it’s 13° outside with a -5° windchill, I am going out!!  Though I do have to say, that would be a lot more pleasant if I were actually running the entire time, instead of having to take regular walk breaks…

My base layer, over which I wore a fleece (which I’d normally never wear to run, but I was afraid of freezing to death)  and a running jacket.  And my magic pants, over which I tugged knee sleeves, over which I wore my winter cycling pants.  Mainly because they are deliciously warm, and coincidentally just a bit too baggy so they actually fit over another pair of pants.  It worked out quite well, if you can ignore the fact that running with a chamois kind of feels like running in a diaper.  At least, I imagine that’s how it would feel to run in a diaper.  I’ve never actually done it.

Add in a beanie, face mask, and mittens, and I looked like a crazy person.  But I was a lot warmer then than I was during the rest of the day!  My office was so. cold.  I think today would have been a nice day for them to turn up (on?!) the heat.  But maybe that’s just me.

I’ve complained a million times about how much I hate it that perishable products do not come in smaller packages.  I opened a bag of Daiya a couple of days ago, and yes, I like it… but I do not like that I have to eat it every single day for a week so that I can finish it before it goes bad!  I know, I know, I can freeze it, but my freezer is a bottomless abyss, so I might as well just throw it out.

Anyway.  To help myself out, I finally achieved semi-success in another arena:

I made a corn tortilla!  A very misshapen corn tortilla, but a corn tortilla nonetheless.  The last time I tried this, it was much too thick because I didn’t have a tortilla press.  I still don’t, but I do have wax paper and a rolling pin.  Though transferring it to the pan was quite an adventure…

Corn tortilla pizza!  I think the tortilla was good.  I really wouldn’t know, but it served its purpose quite well, so I can’t say I really care.

Also…

Would you believe that this is the first time in my life I’ve ever had ravioli?!  It was good, of course.  It has mushrooms in it.  It’s impossible for something with mushrooms not to be good.  Unless it’s smothered in cheese, which is just sad.

I have to spend a lot of money at LeisurePro tomorrow.  Well, I guess I don’t have to, but I prefer to have my own gear as opposed to renting.  Though I think I’m going to have to take a pass on the dive computer — it just seems silly to spend that much money on something I’m only going to use for a few hours every couple of months.  It would be nice to be rich and be able to buy whatever I want, but I’m not and I can’t, and I’d rather be able to pay to dive than to own equipment I can’t afford to use since I spent all my money paying for the equipment!

That was, quite possibly, one of the most convoluted sentences I’ve ever blogged.  I think it’s time for me to go to bed.

3 responses to ““Busy People Get More Done”

  1. I’m happy for you that you are able to run again! You must of been very snug in your running gear. I for one have never gone running in a diaper mainly because the amount of chaffing would be insane! I’m pretty sure they’re not designed for running in. Damn.

    Do you have a recipe for that corn tortilla? I am intrigued… (I could google it but…ya know.)

  2. It’s been pretty chilly here too, but being a human hot water bottle I’m lucky that I run in shorts pretty much year round and don’t have to fight with too many layers. But you’re right that running all bundled up is infinitely better than no running at all 🙂

    I hope you got yourself something nice at LeisurePro ❤

    xxx

  3. I love the corn tortilla, it looks like my sort of tortilla! I can never seem to get any homemade wrap/pancake like thing into a proper circle. And you’ve just reminded me that I have mushrooms in my fridge. I might have to make my own ravioli – or maybe cannelloni since that’s far harder to mess up!

Leave a Reply

