Family Math and I’m a Mess… but Happy Holidays

It’s another Cousin Invasion!  I actually tried to figure out my relationship to these people… my mom’s first cousin is their grandfather.  I think that makes them my second cousins once removed.  Which is getting a wee bit ridiculous, but okay, I’ll shut about that before my blood pressure gets too high.

But on the topic of family, one of my sisters-in-law had an absolutely adorable baby girl this past week, and I’d share a picture of her, but I’m not really into the whole “putting photos of other people’s kids online for all the world to see” thing.  So you’ll just have to trust me on this one.

And oh, hey, it’s that time of year again…

obviously not a photo from this year, since today is the third day of chanukah

…which means a family party!  Woo.  Hoo.

 
Anyway.
 
As for me being a mess — I know, way to overstate the obvious, right?  Too bad, I’m stating it anyway.
 
Well, the good news is, I guess, that I won’t be getting bone cancer just yet, because I’m not taking the injections that would cause them.  Which is nice, because they cost about a thousand dollars a month, and my insurance would probably cover about two percent of that if I was lucky.  What’s not so nice is that I’m using an estrogen patch instead.  Which costs me eighty dollars a month… and my insurance is paying about sixty.  Lovely.
 
While I know that some people deliberately set out to lose their periods, I was never one of them.  I’m not going to say I enjoy them, because I think anyone who does is probably slightly crazy, but I never really made the equation in my head that getting my period means I am fat.  And hey, since I always think I’m fat anyway, I may as well not have my bones falling apart on me too, right?
 
I just don’t think that this is going to solve anything, because until fairly recently, my estrogen levels were always normal.  So whatever.  I’m a freak of nature, apparently.  And I hate drugs, and I don’t want to be using this, but then again, I’m good at freaking out about things.
 
And even though I’m allowed to try running again, what I am doing (walk-run-walk-run) is not really something I’d call “running” — I so badly want to be able to just roll out of bed and go for a five-mile jaunt in the morning like I used to, but I am absolutely terrified of re-injuring myself, and I’m afraid that it might not really be healed, and I’m pretty sure I couldn’t handle that.
 
As a totally unrelated side note, I need $1,350.  I compiled a little wish list for myself, and I’m pretty sure I’m going to buy everything on it at some point, but … it would be nice if the money just fell into my lap so I didn’t have to feel guilty about it!  Except that I probably would feel guilty anyway, so I should just do it already…
 
Oh, and happy holidays to all.  Bonus points if you can figure out why this tree made me laugh.
 
Leave a Reply

