Stabby

Last week, after my acupuncture appointment, I went back to work and subsequently discovered this in my pants:

Uh, oops.  That was supposed to come out.  Explains why I felt like I was being pricked.  Though I didn’t really mind that much, because now my parents will stop driving me crazy about what type of needles are used in acupuncture — I just brought this one to show them!  If only all problems were solved as easily…

But I also learned a new word: costochondritis.  I had never heard of it before, but when I looked it up, it seemed to match perfectly what my GP explained as a “fractured rib.”  Evidently, it’s really difficult to break the first few ribs unless someone whacks you with a mallet or something, and I’m fairly certain that hasn’t happened to me.  Even if I do feel like my heart has been crushed into a million irreparable pieces.

So, now that I have a name for this “condition,” I’m not really any better off than I was before, since I still can’t actually do anything about it.  I guess it must feel better than it did last week, though, since I wasn’t able to wash out my wetsuit and booties until tonight, because it hurt when I bent over.  Kind of like my heart was falling out of my chest, and frankly, it’s welcome to do that.  Nor would I blame it, since it’s not fair to expect it to put up with this crap for so long.

I was a little surprised when the orthopedist told me I could try to run, because I thought it would be a lot longer — not complaining about that part, you understand — but I dutifully took inventory of all my despicable parts to see how they were doing.  And I was completely horrified to find this: the right side of my groin feels weird.  It doesn’t hurt, really, but it doesn’t feel normal.  This would be a lot less alarming to me if I hadn’t felt something similar on my left side before the half marathon, after which I couldn’t walk for a week.  Or even move without excruciating agony.  Pelvic fractures are not fun.  So, yes, I’d love to try running, but A) I am scared ****less, and B) my chest still hurts.

What I find extremely ironic is that I went for years without any such problems, regardless of whether or not I was eating, or how much.  And now that I’m eating more than I did when I was running, and probably more than I ever have in my entire life, even though I’m doing almost no exercise, I’m literally falling apart.

Seriously.  I don’t know why the hell I even bother.


Contrary to photographic non-evidence, I actually have been eating.  And eating.  And eating.  But I think I already mentioned that.  I just haven’t felt like sharing the fact that I have turned into one of the world’s most gluttonous greedy pigs, but then I realized that this is old news, even if it’s just on a different scale now.  So.

I bought this sunflower seed beverage quite a while ago, but never got around to using it.  I finally opened it today because my jar of sunflower seed butter is nearly empty.  I know, that sounds completely unrelated, but it’s not.

I am nothing if not obedient, so I had to make these pancakes.  I used the buckwheat pancake mix that has been sitting on my countertop for ages (yes, I have a problem in which I accumulate products that will sit unused forever if I don’t consume them immediately).

Like I said, I am nothing if not obedient, so I had to add syrup, which I personally thought was a bit of an unnecessary addition.  I loved the pancake mix, by the way.  As for the sunflower seed beverage… well, it tasted nothing like sunflower seeds.  I double-tested that by using it in a bowl of cereal.  It’s fine by me, since I don’t actually like sunflower seeds.


In a highly unusual turn of events, I slept fourteen (interrupted) hours last night.  That’s three nights’ worth of sleep, which is awesome, but what’s not awesome is that now I am never going to be able to fall asleep tonight.  Quite a vicious cycle.

And I really love the oblivion that sleeping gives me… because these days, I just don’t like to be awake.  I’m kind of in a “stabby and hating everything” mode.  Joy to the world.

One response to “Stabby

  1. Wow, the amount of injuries you’ve had is unbelievable. Some unlucky people are just injury prone, but it sucks that you’re having so many problems when your body should be at its healthiest! I’m having the same frustrations with feeling like my body’s falling apart despite me being good and eating the meal plan.

    I’m rooting for your speedy recovery, ribs/pelvis and all! The pancakes look delicious and the fourteen hours of sleep sounds heavenly.

Leave a Reply

