Happy Birthday

Okay, so it’s not really my birthday.  (Not until next week, and anyway, I’m trying to pretend that it isn’t happening.)  But this is my 600th post, so… happy birthday?  Whatever.

A few weeks ago, I mentioned that my acupuncturist was dismayed to learn of my post-run icing habit.  I will confess that I thought he was a little bit crazy, telling me to use liniments!  Anyway, last week I had a double treatment (because I cannot levitate, it takes twice as long if I have to be on my back for some points and on my stomach for others), so I had a lot of time to think, since I don’t fall asleep like most people do.  And I decided that since he has yet to steer me wrong, I was going to trust him on this one.  Besides, it was Thursday, and I was registered for a race on Sunday… and not about to let this stupid injury screw up another race.

Seriously.  I only regret that I didn’t listen to him sooner.  This stuff is incredible.  It is amazing what a huge difference it made.  Not going to say I’m 100% percent, but I was able to run, and without being a total cripple afterward.

And oh, yeah, the race?… Well, I never intended to race it.  It just happened to fall out on the same day that my half marathon training plan called for ten miles, and the entry fee wasn’t too high, so I figured it might be fun.  I’m glad I did it, because otherwise I would have been all “oh, I have to baby this injury.”  But I ran 10 miles (well, 10.61, according to my Garmin), and obviously I didn’t run too fast: I was aiming for a 9:45 average, and wound up with 9:31.  The only problem is that since I had only run a cumulative 3.65 miles in the two preceding weeks, I am now dealing with a major case of DOMS… but that is infinitely preferable to pain I can’t run through.

To clarify: while I would obviously rather run pain-free, I will run if something hurts, but not if it will be harmful.  Two different things.  I also will not run if something hurts in a way that forces me to alter my form to compensate for it, because that’s just begging for another injury, and I manage to accumulate those just fine on my own, thankyouverymuch.

But as is often the case when I get depressed, I’ve been indulging in some retail therapy.  Ouch.

I was intending to get a pair of lighter shoes, and I nearly bought the New Balance 890, but I oddly felt that they were too light.  I got the Brooks Ghost 4 instead.  And now I’m wondering if I really should get the lighter ones.  Except that I want to keep these (um, pending the test run, of course… if I can move my legs tomorrow!).

And since I am accumulating so many pairs of shoes, and it will be a pain to constantly move the foot pod of my Garmin from one pair to another, I wanted to get a second Garmin, but this time with GPS.  I was thisclose to buying the Forerunner 305… until I realized that it doesn’t come with ANT.  (BOO.)  The 310XT is too much of an indulgence.  Sigh.

I’ve been going through Epsom salt at a rapid rate.  Seriously — I went through six pounds in one week.  (As a soak, not a laxative!!)  I’m considering buying it in bulk now.  Think 2200 pounds would be overkill?  (Yes, I am kidding.  Partially, at least.)

I’ve also been going through cereal at a rapid rate.  This, of course, is no surprise.  A couple of new ones of which I snapped photos:

Not exactly new, but new to me.  Sadly, I didn’t love this — it sounded so awesome in theory!!  But the cinnamon flavor wasn’t all that prevalent, and the texture was too “light.”  Kind of airy instead of dense, if that makes any sense?  (Hey, that rhymes.)

This, on the other hand, I adored.  So chocolatey!!

Oh, and I made porotos quebrados (I added tofu)…

This is seriously crazy insanely delicious.  Very eloquent, I know, but that’s the way it is.

I saw these yellow baby carrots, and the price was the same as for regular carrots (and apparently I got two of those as a bonus):

They tasted almost exactly the same as regular carrots, too.  But the novelty was nice.  😉

…And now, if you will excuse me, I have to go soak in a tub with some more Epsom salt.  (Seriously, I do not understand how people can find baths relaxing.  I get so bored!)

Happy Tuesday.

“Man is the only creature that refuses to be what he is.” 
~Albert Camus

6 responses to “Happy Birthday

  1. Less than a month until my birthday too :/ I’m also trying to forget about it! 27 seems like a silly age.

    I love your quote today, it’s very true. Well done on the race 🙂

  2. All my favourite people seem to have birthdays at this time of year 🙂 Is there anything at all from the UK that you particularly fancy, because I’d be more than happy to send you a little something 🙂

    I am going all gooey over your shoes like most women do over babies…I’ve never seen that particular brand/model over here.

    So happy you’re on the mend!

    xxx

  3. So happy to see you back – even if just for a little while 🙂

    Love your new shoes! Brooks were my first pair so I might always have a soft spot for them, haha. Is that weird?!

    I have liniment for my horse…and every time I give him a bath with it, I’m tempted to use it on myself, too…

  4. Yay on the race! I would do running races but I don’t run. Small glitch in my otherwise perfect plan.

    That granola looks awesome! Damn I wish we got awesome cereals like that here. We only just started getting cheerios a couple of years back. That’s how out of the look we are down in this neck of the woods.

    Peace.
    xxx

  5. Yay! It’s good to see you posting again, and even better to see that you’re feeling better 😀 To be honest, I’ve never heard of liniments… but after Googling it, it does sound pretty damn amazing. I’m glad it worked for you 🙂

    And I NEED some of that chocolate granola in my life! I’ve been seeing it all over the web lately, but I have yet to see it in our stores, which is sad because we get a lot of the other Enjoy Life stuff, so I have no idea what’s taking this so long to show up.

  6. wow 600 posts!! that calls for a celebration =)

    I’m not sure ive ever had yellow carrots. That chocolate granola look amazing, im going to have to try to search some out today!

Leave a Reply

