Commuting

I rode my bike to work today.  Mainly because I’ve been riding around with a pump mounted on there, but I didn’t know how to use said pump — every time I tried to attach it to the valve, the pump popped off.  So I needed my co-worker (who recommended the pump) to show me how it works!

But before all that, I went out for a short little run, just to see whether my back would hurt.

I don’t think it hurt.  My hamstrings and glutes are insanely tight, but I’ll take tight muscles any day over whatever the hell was going on with my back.  (Though a full-body deep tissue massage sounds kind of awesome right now…)  And I guess it’s to be expected, considering I haven’t really run in nearly three weeks, but I never thought I’d see the day when a nine-minute mile is “slower than I would have liked“!

My back had better be 100% normal again, though.  Because since I am annoyed that everyone got to go away for the holiday weekend, but I couldn’t because I had to work today, I spontaneously registered for a race that is happening on Sunday.  Oops.  I’m glad I didn’t run more than two miles this morning, then…

I intended to make pancakes after said run.  But I wound up with a pancake scramble instead.

This is quite possibly one of the most visually unappealing things I have ever had the pleasure of eating.  Because it was a pleasure — it was actually really good!  I finally found small curd cottage cheese, which I don’t find as vomit-inducing as regular cottage cheese, so that helped.  I think this included cottage cheese, whey protein powder, egg whites, Truvia, and carob chips.  It was the perfect blend of sweet and salty.  Now if I could only figure out a way to get them to stay pancakes… (Actually, I know how to do that.  But I don’t have the patience to wait for them to cook completely!)

<<insert boring day at work here>>

It’s definitely a weird choice upon returning from a steamy bike commute, but I was craving “cheesy” cauliflower.  (What, you don’t crave cruciferous vegetables?  Maybe I’m just weirder than I originally thought.)

Some more “catch up” from the glut of photos on my memory card:

my friend sent me this taza chocolate. LOVE it.


adding to my mrs. dash collection...


it's spicy. but not EXTRA spicy, i don't think.


showing my inner child...


spinach, steamfresh baby broccoli blend, sauce with hommus + nooch


failed attempt at banana chia pudding...


unsweetened soy yogurt, yogi blueberry granola crisps, blueberries


whole wheat pita, hommus, cucumber, falafel


ezekiel granola, banana, wildflower honey


spinach, bulgur, lightlife chick'n cutlet, strawberry balsamic sauce


not a fan. way too similar to the indigo morning... which i didn't like either.

…and I’ll stop now.  I have some muscles that need stretching.

Have a great weekend!

“The capacity of human beings to bore one another seems to be vastly greater than that of any other animal.” 
~H.L. Mencken

5 responses to “Commuting

  1. okay, what they hay. Kashi is coming out with new cereals left and right lately. And the only one I’ve seen, still, is Berry Blossoms! You would think they would release things more slowly and allow for market penetration. (see me brushing up on my business skills here, while on summer vacation?)
    Also. I read “pancake scramble” and immediately thought “oh my GOD, that is a GOOD IDEA!”
    And saturday race as in…tomorrow saturday?! i’m glad your back is feeling better for it – good luck and have FUN!

  2. I’ve had pancake scramble before, but mine wasn’t a pleasure and only ended up getting half eaten. I tried to make pancakes with coconut flour and they just would. not. cook, so it ended up being this nasty moosh and just… Ugh. Gives me heebie jeebies just thinking about it. Cocoa Puffs, on the other hand, make me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. I miss my childhood cereals sometimes 😦 Gonna have to buy me a box of Lucky Charms one of these days…

  3. I hate when things say that they’re extra spicy and there is nothing “extra” about it. It’s like that when I get takeaway curries. I ask for uber hot and they give me some really weak stuff. Jeeeeeeeeeez.

    Look after yourself my lovely 🙂 ❤

  4. Haha I used to be a spice fiend 😉 I could out-vindaloo my boyfriend, years ago! Not anymore though, the taste buds are willing but the stomach is weak 😛

    This is probably very wrong of me but I don’t really like cereal. Granola is okay and I like porridge, but otherwise I fail to see the attraction. I think it’s probably because I always hated the taste of milk as a kid, so I developed a bit of a cereal aversion! I know, how can you ever be friends with me again, hey?

  5. How far is the race? Be careful with it, okay!? I’m very relieved that your back is feeling better but don’t completely knacker yourself for the sake of one race.

    Keep on stretching those precious muscles.

    xxx

Leave a Reply

