Adjustments

Please note: for the second day in a row, I am posting when I ought to be in a swimming pool.  I am angry.

Last night, for some reason, I went downstairs to my basement and sat down on my bike.  I expected pain to radiate up my spine, but… it actually hurt less to sit on the bike than to stand on my feet!

So this morning I woke up, stretched and foam rolled myself into oblivion, and rode to the park, where I found my coach waiting.  Oh, you made it! I knew he’d been planning to do some sort of time trial, and I informed him that I was not about to be timed; I mean, time me if you’d like, but I’m not going to hurry.  This was just meant to be a slow and easy ride, solely because I turn into a stark raving bitch from too much inactivity.  He told me that we’d be doing a ten-minute run after the ride.  Yeah, not me.

Can you tell that my cadence sensor conked out on me again?!  I actually only spent about half of that time riding; the rest was spent trying to figure out the stupid thing.  Which didn’t even happen until I got home — I think that if I stay idle for too long, it stops reading the magnets, which is why it only registered my ride to the park, and none of the riding in the park.

While I was fiddling with the sensor and people were running past, I told my coach that every time I see someone running these days, I kind of want to run them over.  Have you talked with somebody about these feelings? <<insert look of faux concern here>>  Seriously, though — the past few days have been perfect running weather!  So.  Not.  Fair.

Either way, it really was a slow and easy ride.  In fact, I didn’t even break a sweat… so I just wore the same shirt all day.

See, Jess?  It’s hot pink!

I know I’m crazy for even entertaining the thought, but I was wondering if this shirt would go up in flames were it to come in contact with the electric heating pad I took to work.  I love fire, and all; just not when it’s attached to me.  I opted to keep my hoodie on.

Although I should have been sticking to ice.  Whatever.  Yeah… I went back to the chiropractor this evening.  In addition to the fact that my left hip is a bit higher than my right, it seems that I probably have a slightly compressed disc.  I say “probably” because verifying that would require an MRI, not an X-ray; and I was always under the impression that a compressed disc was ridiculously, insanely painful.  …Oh, right.  I think I’ve got that part covered.  But it does make some sense, because it would explain why my knee / leg has been feeling so tingly and weird.

I did ask how far I can go in terms of physical activity, because even though walking makes me want to cry sometimes, I do know that just lying around is not the greatest idea.  Wouldn’t you know … in terms of tri training, swimming and biking are better for me than running (naturally, because running is the one thing I want to do more than anything else), but for now she wants me to rest.  With the exception of the exercises she was supposed to show me, which I just realized she never did show me.  Crap.

And for all this, I got a spinal adjustment.  It is extremely disconcerting to hear your neck snap like that, by the way.  Evidently, my neck was very tense.  While it’s nice to have my neck feeling better, I’d rather have my back feeling better, since I wasn’t previously aware that my neck even hurt!!

After this visit, I needed some cheering up.

Double chocolate chip muffin topper, microwaved with cashew butter.

For some reason, I am completely exhausted.  (Why?!  Sitting around all day should not be this tiring!!)  I should be a good little patient and sleep later tomorrow, but my body clock won’t let that happen… nor will my mind, because when I said that inactivity doesn’t sit well with me?  I meant it.  I am kind of really, really freaking out.

And I desperately need to go grocery shopping… there are no fresh vegetables in this house.

I’ve been reduced to eating sauerkraut.  (Why do I even have this?  I don’t like sauerkraut!)  And green beans, and chorizo style veggie protein sausage, and TJ’s eggplant garlic spread.  Plus a few shakes of Frank’s, because I apparently love it when food is so hot that I can’t even taste it.  *sarcasm*

So, yeah.  Supermarket trip on the agenda for tomorrow night, and if I can’t at least walk normally by then, I’m going to be really upset.  Thursday (acupuncture day) cannot come soon enough.

Happy Hump Day.

“I will not be as those who spend the day in complaining of headache, and the night in drinking the wine that gives it.” 
~Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

3 responses to “Adjustments

  1. I love the pink 😉 It’s kind of bizarre, actually, because I’m not a “pink” person by any means…and yet I have two running shirts in pink and quite a few other tops in pink. Maybe it’s my mind’s way of telling me that since my hair and eyeliner are so dark it’s an attempt at making me look less like a troubled teenager.
    Right now, I’m glad I didn’t buy my Garmin with hopes to use it for my bike. Yeesh. Is it just your sensor or does it seem to be a common problem with that device?
    I’ve got my fingers crossed your back heals quickly. You’ll be back running before you know it…so get some REST! pretty please?!

  2. A compressed disk? Very ow 😦 I’m sorry that your back isn’t really feeling much better, hun. I know how it feels to go all stir-crazy from inactivity, because my foot was giving me some problems for while and I couldn’t push too hard, but you should probably take the chiro’s advice and rest for a bit. The more rest you give it, the faster it’ll heal, and the sooner you’ll be back up and running again. A week or two off isn’t going to be the end of the world.

    Oh, and I totally feel you on the creepiness of the neck cracking. I hate that…

  3. That last quote is the story of my life, in relation to both food and exercise.

    I feel your pain with the rest issue: I basically have a nervous breakdown in situations like this too. But I’d watch that your coach isn’t trying to push you too hard: you have increased mileage very quickly (you know how much of a nut I am but even I didn’t get beyond 10Ks until running for well over a year) and all of these kinks could be your body trying to tell you something. But, again, I know how frustrating that can be.

    *hugs*

    xxx

Leave a Reply

