Ow.

Right now, I should be at the tri stroke clinic.  Instead, I am sitting on my bedroom floor, leaning on a heating pad and typing this.  Obviously, I’ve had a very exciting day.

Morning: took three steps after getting out of bed and determined that I would not be running today.  I.  Was.  Pissed.  I spent twenty minutes with my foam roller instead, but it didn’t seem to have much effect.  In fact, I was so out of it that I didn’t even change my earrings this morning.  Hello?!  Who am I?!

Applied mascara, made the mistake of taking a step while it was still wet; winced and wound up with mascara all over my cheeks.  Lovely.

Had the time anyway, so went to the gym to stretch, stretch, stretch (and do PT exercises).  Didn’t seem to make much difference, either.  Then I had to get a fasting blood draw for my endocrinologist appointment next week.

By coincidence, there happens to be a lab in my office building.  If I’d had to travel to get to one, I think I might have cried.

Blood supply sufficiently depleted, I ate an oh-so-balanced “breakfast.”

That’s the end of the chocolate and peanut butter Puffins, which, by the way, taste much better eaten out of hand like this than with milk or yogurt.

And then I decided that I am sick and tired of being an invalid, and called a chiropractor.  Imagine my glee when I was able to get an appointment for this afternoon!  It would have been awesome if I’d have gotten all straightened out and been able to get back to my life, but apparently that didn’t happen.  No, instead the chiropractor sent me to get an X-ray.  In another facility.  Half an hour away.  Where I had to wait for nearly an hour, even though they told me to hurry in before 5.00, which I did.

Admittedly, I don’t really know what it is I’m supposed to be seeing here, but it looks pretty normal to me!!  Nothing that tells me why my back hurts.  Quite frankly, I don’t care why it hurts, so long as it stops hurting.  I feel like a total wuss for always erring on the side of caution when it comes to such things, but because I have a high pain tolerance it feels like it’s probably necessary for me to do that in order to avoid something really serious.  Still.  I feel like a wuss.

By the time I finally made it back home (too late to make it to the tri stroke clinic), I not only had a backache, I also had a raging headache.  So much for weaning myself off the ibuprofen!

Rice, black bean and corn salsa, chorizo style veggie protein sausage.  Done and done.

I’m going back to the chiropractor tomorrow afternoon, when I guess I’ll find out if this is even something with which she can help me.  In the meantime, I’ve missed my run this morning, the tri stroke clinic tonight, and will very likely have to skip the group ride tomorrow morning unless I wake up miraculously rejuvenated.  Not.  Happy.

Okay, fine, in the interest of total honesty: I am having a really hard time with this.  It is making me feel very anxious to be eating “like an athlete” when I’m just sitting around like a fat lazy slug.  And I’ll shut up before I start to get all “woe is me,” though heaven knows why I care.

Happy Tuesday.

Sleeping is no mean art:  for its sake one must stay awake all day.” 
~Friedrich Nietzsche

5 responses to “Ow.

  1. 😦 Oh hun. I’m so sorry to hear about your back. But you’re doing the right thing by giving it a rest because back pain is serious business and shouldn’t be taken lightly. You don’t wanna damage something permanently and have to live with it for the rest of your life. And don’t worry about the eating part, either. Your body needs the energy to heal faster. I hope you feel better soon ❤ ❤

  2. Amanda beat me to it – she said just what I had in mind. I know it’s not what you want to hear – but know that we’re rooting for you and want to see you happy and healthy. Trust me – a day or two or ten “off” will do much more good than harm. We’re young. We’ve got our whole lives ahead of us. No sense in breaking ourselves down already. I’m glad you erred on the side of caution, and I’ll bet your back is thanking you, too. Crossing my fingers for you and keeping you in my thoughts! xoxo

  3. Agreeing wholeheartedly with Amanda and Jess here. As I suspect what you have is muscular and/or nerve related, it wouldn’t show up on an x-ray or even an MRI in some cases, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t potentially serious. And please don’t call yourself a wuss.

    I fully understand the eating vs. exercising issue but honestly, you are so slim that it really wouldn’t matter if you had a month or more off training. To say that you have ‘wiggle room’ would be an understatement. And from what I’ve seen here you don’t eat like Michael Phelps or anything: your ‘athlete’ intake still looks on the light side of what most normal/light exercise people have.

    *hugs*

  4. The same thing happened to me. Turns out I had tweaked it and one of the bones on my spine was riding up a little high after I did so it was pinching some nerves and thus I was feeling some pain. It hurt sooo bad to even walk and I laid in bed all day. Even deep inhales hurt and SNEEZING = STRUGGLES. I went to the chiropractor and he told me to just ICE, no heat.. oops. I was using a heating pad and probably made it worse so just ice. I did it consistently and was back to running within a week but I wouldn’t jump right into a long run. Ease into it, your body will thank you. Besides, it is better to run 4 good miles than to get overambitious and end up hurting it more and have to take MORE time off. Also, I was going through the same food debate as you were but really it is nothing to worry about. When I exercise I eat alllll the time but when I was just laying in bed I was not as hungry so I naturally ate less.

    You will be fine! I promise. As long as you do everything you can and don’t try to do too much.

  5. I’m so sorry about your back. I know how frustrating it is to have to take time off, but your body seems to be sending you a pretty loud signal that you need to give it a rest. Could it be from running? When I was running a lot, I’d get pretty painful twinges in my lower back on the right side. Now, because of my job (I have to stand in the same place all day) it almost always hurts. Stretch + rest! Feel better soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

