So Zen

If one thing about me is obvious, it is that I am rather… high strung.  That is why this is extra amusing!  I went for a bike ride today, because one of my teammates asked me to go with her.  She overslept.  (Again.)  But since I was wearing my heart rate monitor already, I decided to keep it on all day, just for kicks.

That is my resting heart rate.  You’d think I’m a very zen person!  You would also think that I’d keel over, gasping for breath, if you would see my average heart rate when I’m running… I can’t figure out how it is that I can carry on a conversation with a heart rate that high.  Something is weird here.

Something is also weird with my knee — it doesn’t hurt, exactly, but there’s this odd twinge that feels like it might turn into something worse.  Which is why I am going to be spending the next thirty hours or so with my butt firmly planted on a chair, sofa or bed.  If half of those hours are spent asleep, that would be even better…

Anyway, since I was out on  my bike — which I so did not want to do today, by the way; I am not going to work my schedule around the whims of other people anymore — I didn’t have time to make pancakes, which is sort of a Friday ritual for some reason.

chocolate cheerios, raspberries, almond milk

Eh, that’ll work, too.  I guess.

To make up for my lack of pancakes, I instead decided to use my corn flour to make tortillas.  Or try, anyway.
 

They were definitely too thick, but I don’t have a tortilla press!  (Duh, why would I?)  It still worked out okay, though.

You didn’t really think I wouldn’t top it with red pepper spread, did you?! … And then I actually finished off the jar:

It’s been four days, not five.  I came in under the deadline.  😉

Have a great weekend!

“A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone’s feelings unintentionally.”
~Oscar Wilde

4 responses to “So Zen

  1. Yikes, that’s pretty low! Do your doctors know it’s that low? ‘Cause I read that anything under 60 bpm isn’t all that great. Orrrrr, it just means that you’re like a super athlete and in great shape, and considering your training, I’m gonna go with the latter 😉

  2. Hmmm I agree with Amanda, hun. My heart rate was 46 bpm and they were threatening me with hospital admission if it got below 42…look after yourself lovely ❤
    xxx

    (Your tortillas look AMAZING by the way 😉 )

  3. Eek, I have to agree with the others – that’s not zen, that’s more likely the after effects of anorexia, especially if it’s higher than you would expect when you’re exercising. Maybe your doctor should know about that? Look at us all being concerned 😛 I hope it’s not annoying, we just don’t want you keeling over or anything like that! x

  4. I agree with everything said above.

    I know it’s rich coming from me but running with your heart in that kind of condition is dangerous, and I’m really worried about you 😦 Please get it checked out if at all possible. You’re a talented athlete already with loads of potential, and I don’t want to see that career cut short before it’s really begun if there’s something wrong.

    *hugs* and take care

    ~Jess~

Leave a Reply

