No Good Earthly Reason

There is absolutely no logical explanation for why I am blogging right now.  I have no reason for it, whereas I do have plenty of reasons to do my PT exercises and go to sleep.  But I’ve been known to make poor choices in the past…

This morning was, thank goodness, a biking morning.  I say “thank goodness” because it meant I could wear a cycling jersey and stick my phone in the back pocket instead of further bashing up my poor hip!  Wonder what I’ll do on Thursday…

This was the last of my Shredded Oats… slightly sad because I love it, but it helped that it gave me a reason to open another box of cereal!  This time, it was chocolate and peanut butter Puffins.

It didn’t live up to my expectations.  That doesn’t mean it was bad — it just means my expectations were very high!  And the peanut butter flavor is barely discernible; it tastes more like cocoa than anything else.  Again, not a bad thing per se, but sort of defeating the purpose, if you ask me.  Which you’re not.  So.  Moving on.

I tried one of those new bars

This is the chocolate pretzel with sea salt flavor.  Obviously; you can see the salt crystals!

What you don’t see, and which I couldn’t discern at all in either texture or flavor, is any sort of “pretzel.”  It was still good, but I’m just puzzled about its name if there are no pretzels involved!

About that red pepper spread?  Yeah, it’s been a day, and the jar is halfway gone.  I’m kind of making it my job to finish it in the not-too-distant future!

So I used an awful lot of it as a “sauce” for this … mishmash bowl.  Shirataki noodles, peppers, mushrooms, edamame, and what is probably the equivalent of half a cup’s worth of red pepper spread!  What can I say?… The stuff is good, and it needs to be used.

I was so sure that I wouldn’t be lucky enough to have warm water two weeks in a row that I actually wore a tri top to the pool.  Not that it would be of much help in frigid water, but anyway… the showers were ice cold, but the pool wasn’t bad at all.  I must say, I vastly prefer to have cold showers — it’s much better than a cold pool!

And another creation inspired by Born to Runpinole.

I have a sneaking suspicion this would have worked a lot better had I used masa harina instead of polenta… but I’m not about to buy the former when I’ve already got the latter!!  Maybe I’ll try grinding it and see what happens.

Exercises.  Bed.  Right.

Happy Hump Day!

“Emotion always has its roots in the unconscious and manifests itself in the body.” 
~Irene Claremont de Castillejo

3 responses to “No Good Earthly Reason

  1. I’ve read back over your last few posts and it’ll probably send you running to the hills but I wish I could come and tri-train with you! Not that there’s any possibility of that happening, so hopefully the prospect doesn’t seem too scary 😛 I’m just lost and directionless when it comes to tris and the local team hasn’t replied to my e-mail. Hmph.

    Anyway, you did so well on your first brick workout. And yes, it is to be expected that you’d have some ‘slower’ miles after 2 hours on a bike!

    Hope your hip is feeling better today.

    xxx

  2. why do bikers get all the good stuff? i could go for having a pocket on my back…
    and man, i hate when expectations are set too high. i did that for a restaurant I tried the other day. my world came crashing down when i was expecting some sort of gourmet feast and it was just plain disappointing. i’m not sure if it really was disappointing or if my expectations were too high 😛 bummer about the puffins! i’d probably be buying it FOR the pb ones so doesn’t look like they’ll be bought at all.

  3. Puffinssssss. I just opened up a box of cinnamon ones the other day, and tbh I’m kind of disappointed. I remember liking them a lot more, but this time around they’re just “okay”. I think I’m still stuck in my Kashi Honey Sunshine phase, and no other cereal can compare atm… I wonder what my next bender will be.

    And sauce with a side of a mishmash bowl are some of my favorite meals 😉 I seriously drown my food in condiments, or just eat them straight from the jar with a spoon. No shame.

Leave a Reply

