On A Bridge

How do you prevent something when you don’t know what caused it?… That is what I asked my PT on Friday.  I was lucky enough to be able to get an appointment!  I can do exercises on my own, but I can’t do ultrasound or electrotherapy.  Anyway, there is no real name for this ridiculous injury — there isn’t even a name for this body part beyond “side of heel”!  I am so freaking sick of having to sit on my butt all the time because such stupid things keep happening, and I don’t even know why.

But I figured I should probably get new shoes anyway, considering mine are over a year old.  I know I said that I was going to get the Brooks Ravenna 2, but when I tried them on again, I realized that I need a more neutral shoe — I could feel the arch pressing up into my foot, and it was not comfortable. I love that the tongue of Brooks shoes are lower than some others, because when I have to lace shoes up higher, it hurts the top of my (apparently very oddly-shaped) foot. But I had to choose between the lesser of two evils, I guess. I drove the poor salesman crazy, and in the end I went with the very first pair I tried.

The Asics Gel Cumulus 13.  They felt really clunky in the heel at first, but I think that’s something I’ll get used to, as opposed to a too-high arch, which would just be intensely uncomfortable; and what I’m calling “clunkiness” might actually be necessary since my heels seem to require extra cushioning!  I also really hate white running shoes, but I’m going for function over fashion… and hopefully, they won’t be white for long.  (Actually, since my old running shoes still look pretty pristine, that is not a given.)

Since running on my still-healing foot is probably a very bad idea, I skipped it today and instead decided to do something I’ve been wanting to do for a while… ride my bike over a bridge.

As you can see, it is still foggy and rainy and gross around these parts.  But that isn’t the point of this story.  The point is that once I reached the other side of the bridge, I decided that it would be boring to just turn around and come back, so I would take another bridge… except that somehow, instead of winding up in the bike lane, I found myself on the actual bridge.  With vehicular traffic whizzing past … yeah, fun!  Good thing it was early Sunday morning and traffic wasn’t too heavy.  I think I should just stick to bridges I know from now on, hmm?

And I also paid a ridiculous amount of money to replace the quick releases on my seat and tires… an action which would make a lot more sense if I actually had a lock.  But okay.

I finally tried one of those cereals I’ve been dying to open.

Kashi Golden Goodness.

I am sorry to say that I did not love this; in fact, I found it pretty tasteless!  And it gets soggy very quickly.  I decided to try it in yogurt instead of with almond milk to see if that made a difference.

It didn’t, really.  It still got soggy, but there was a little bit more flavor due to the yogurt.

I was a much bigger fan of this yogurt concoction:

“Overnight” oats are rarely “overnight,” in my case!  Strawberry banana yogurt, oats, strawberries, and bananas.

Ugly, but I suppose it doesn’t matter.

And because it annoyed me that it exploded last time, I had to try making a baked pita pocket sandwich again… except that this time, I slit through the side instead of cutting it off, and I didn’t stuff it quite as much.

Success!  Egg whites + hot sauce, broccoli slaw, baby bellas, Fiesta Lime seasoning, and mozzarella Daiya.

Melty.  I wonder how long Daiya keeps in the refrigerator?… Anyone know??

This makes me very sad (and angry), but I’m most likely going to have to skip running tomorrow too… which means I’m not going to get the chance to do so again until Thursday.  This is really getting quite ridiculous.

Right.  I think I am going to try to get to bed early tonight.  (That sound you hear is me breaking out into peals of uproarious laughter.)

Happy Monday!

“Mistakes are the usual bridge between inexperience and wisdom.”
~Phyllis Theroux

4 responses to “On A Bridge

  1. I think I’d have peed my tights pedaling across that bridge. You are braver than I. (…okay, so it doesn’t take much to be braver than me…but whatever.)
    Good for you for making that salesman earn his commission 😉
    I finally braved it and bought the Kashi Berry Blossoms the other day. I was sort of against the idea of berry-flavored cereal but they were on sale and while I was waffling between it and another box of puffins I thought of you and finally went with the Kashi 😛 I wasn’t so keen on them at first, but I must admit they’ve grown on me. Apparently I won’t be trying the Golden Goodness, though.
    Jingles for your foot! Just remember…if you don’t run tomorrow you’re only improving your chances for healing whatever is wrong correctly. It will all work out for you in the end 🙂

  2. One of the good things about you guys down there in the States getting all sorts of products before we get them up here in Canada is I can read all the reviews and avoid buying the duds 😉 So thank you for saving me some $$.

    Something that doesn’t save me any money? Running shoes. Blah. I just spend a fortune on a pair of Brooks Glycerin’s, but I love them. I was sooo close to buying those Asics, but they did feel kind of clunky and off, so I went with the Brooks instead.

    I hope you figure out the cause of your foot pain soon. To hell with all these mysterious foot injuries!

  3. I hope you work out what’s behind the odd injury soon too! Stuff like that is so frustrating. You are definitely doing the right thing though – I’ve run through injuries before and nearly crippled myself for the next three months. Ugh! I hope your foot feels better soon.

    I have Daiya jealousy. I’ve heard so many good things about it, when are they going to start selling it in the UK? Humph 😛

  4. imaginenamaste

    It sounds like I have similar feet as you–I really like Muzuno shoes (I usually get the “Wave”) ones, they are expense but worth it.

    Oh, the berry Kashi cereal is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

