Who AM I?!

I’ve come to the conclusion that blogging is akin to talking to myself.  That probably makes me crazy.  But it’s okay, because I’m crazy anyway, right?  (Don’t answer that.)

First, a few reviews.

Peanut butter and jelly granola bars sound awesome, right?!

Well, on the website it says “chewy,” but I don’t remember seeing it on the box… and I believe that granola bars and supposed to be crunchy, so that annoyed me.  Besides, it didn’t really taste like either peanut butter or jelly.  Considering that I do not need to eat gluten free, and the cost of these is prohibitive, I am fairly certain that it will not be a repeat purchase.

Sharon’s Sorbet, lemon flavor.  Not a fan — too icy, and not very much lemon flavor.  In fact, it kind of tasted like… crushed ice that had been drizzled with lemon juice.

No sugar added vanilla bean coconut milk ice cream: this was actually pretty good, but the coconut flavor was a little too strong for me.  I just get a little happy when I see flecks of vanilla bean in vanilla ice cream, is all.  I’m weird.

Yeah, I’ve tried this before, and I was not a fan.  But it claims to be “new and improved,” so I wanted to see whether that was true.  The verdict?… Yeah, it’s better than I remember it being… but it’s still not my favorite, and it’s still expensive, so whatever.

I’m just not loving anything right now, huh? … Okay, here are a couple of things that I did like.

Vanilla yogurt, crumbled sunbutter crunch bar, and sunflower seed butter. Which expires this week and is only halfway finished. Somehow, I think I will survive eating expired sunflower seed butter.

I am a genius and used the slicing side of the food processor blade instead of the shredding side, but I don’t think it affected the taste any!  I made “cheesy” cauliflower, and while I couldn’t tell you whether it tastes like cheesy rice, as I’ve never eaten that in my life, I can tell you that this was really, really good.  (P.S. That stuff in the background is the first tofu I’ve eaten since Pesach.  Made me very happy indeed.)

Also, I am puzzled.

I added oats to the batter of my banana whey protein pancakes, and it didn’t make any difference at all.  The texture and taste were exactly the same as if I hadn’t added the oats.  Weird.

So, on Friday a friend and I went for a lovely bike ride… destination: graduation fair!  I was glad that she was able to come with me, because otherwise I wouldn’t have ridden my bike.  I don’t have a lock, and even if I did, I don’t want to leave my bike because the tires and seat have easy release tabs, so… yeah.  Anyway, I picked up my ridiculous cap, gown, and hood… and my silver honors cord.

I could not figure out what to do with this thing.  (Brother: Tie it around your neck!  Me: And then what, hang myself from the rafters?!)  But I guess that’s why we have Google, right?

This week was also the week that I baked challah.  I used to do it every week, but I don’t have time for that anymore, so now I just do it the week after Pesach.  I tried a different recipe this year… and I actually included the oil.

However, I forgot to include the vital wheat gluten, which, uh, is kind of … vital.  Oops.  My mom went out and bought challah “just in case,” and because she did that, we have two of these left over — even though they didn’t actually taste bad at all!  I think I’m just going to have to throw them out, because last year, we froze the leftovers and threw them out when we were clearing out the freezers before Pesach this year.  That kind of makes me mad — it seems like such a waste.

Today was a very busy day… I wanted to go to the team training session, but I have no patience (or, uh, time) to travel an hour and a half each way because of the weekend subway schedules, so…

I think it is absolutely hysterical that this has become my definition of a “short and easy run.”  Who am I?!  I don’t even recognize myself.

Speaking of which… you know how I complained about my troubles sleeping?  Yeah, on Thursday night a monster mosquito feasted on me.  I need to wear insect repellent the way I wear deodorant.  Though I suppose first I need to buy said insect repellent.  Anyway, I didn’t get much sleep on Thursday night, either — even though I had taken a Benadryl for the itching, and that stuff usually knocks me out.  So on Friday night, I doubled up on it… and got nine hours.  Which is actually not a lot for me on a Friday night, but it was still nice.  And then I got three hours on Saturday night, which sucked.  It’s kind of driving me crazy.

Anyway, the point of that whole rant?  My mom insists that the reason I am having trouble sleeping is because “it is a symptom of anorexia.”  Okay, fine.  Let’s look at the definition of the word “symptom”:

1. any phenomenon or circumstance accompanying something and serving as evidence of it.

2. a sign or indication of something.
 
I do not need a sign or indication of anything!  I already know I have an eating disorder, okay?  And I also know that I’ve had trouble sleeping since I was a kid, and that it sometimes gets worse for no discernible reason.  I really hate that every single thing that happens to me is attributed to an eating disorder… I mean, how am I supposed to be able to be me if nobody sees anything else?!
 
Rant over.
 
Also on today’s agenda: I went to a running store in search of this shirt, because for some reason, shirts with pockets — which is a total necessity, if you ask me — are insanely hard to find.  They did not have it.  Then I went to the library to stock up on reading material for my vacation next week (yay!), but the literature room is closed for repairs and the material unavailable until June.  And I also went to the pet shop, since I started Pesach with seven fish, but ended with three.  I bought three fish today.  And now I have five in total…
 

…because this one didn’t even last two hours.  La de da.

My professor never answered my email re: what I’m supposed to review for the final exam, so I’m just going to have to go and read all of her mind-numbing notes.  Great fun, huh?

I also can’t decide whether I should go biking, swimming, or to the gym tomorrow morning.  Decisions, decisions…

Happy Monday.

“The only difference between a rut and a grave is their dimensions. “
~Ellen Glasgow

4 responses to “Who AM I?!

  1. You’re a bloody brilliant runner, that’s who you are! Glad you got in some quality time with Glinda 😉

    Such a shame about the fish: that one looks particularly beautiful 😦

    I think you and I may share the same professor…or they at least have a telepathic connection.

    xxx

  2. I feel the same way about blogging. I’m talking to myself basically.

    I want to try that So Delicious ice cream, but if it does taste too much like coconut, I won’t like it either!

  3. I’m so used to saying “oooh, I’ll have to keep an eye out for that” in a good way about products; but I think this time I mean it in a “well, if I see that I’ll know to avoid it like the plague.” kind of way 😛 Well, except the ice cream. I would probably love that!

    You run four miles faster than I run 3.5. Yep…I’m still a mosey-er. I SO need to find a shirt with pockets, too, though. I relied on pockets in my hoodies and sweat pants when it was warmer, that when I went out this past weekend in just a t-shirt and running tights I had no place to put anything unless it was in the waistband of the tights :X Poor iPod… Of course, I guess with the warmer weather I don’t need to use a tissue for my nose every five minutes, either…

    and LOL @ your mom buying challah “just in case.” My mom used to do stuff like that all the time. She finally has a little more faith in me now.

  4. Pingback: A Student No Longer |

Leave a Reply

