Making Do

That’s going to be the theme of my life for the next few weeks… in all respects.

Romaine, bell peppers that my mom had left over, dry-fried tofu, broccoli slaw.  I had no oven to cook the tofu; I prefer broccoli slaw steamed, but that’s too bad.

Another example:

The last of the mâche, topped with dry-fried tofu, cauliflower, and the last of the Jalfrezi simmer sauce.  Normally I’d steam the cauliflower in the microwave, but I lack a microwave, so I had to boil it on the stove.  Major pain.

And I found this in a kitchen cabinet.

Why I would have bought another one of these, when I couldn’t figure out what to do with it the first time around, is a very good question indeed.  I’m afraid I have no answer.  I just ate them straight out of the bag.  They’re good, they’re just kind of… dry.

I’m going to have to make do in terms of mobility, as well.  (This is the Injury Update.)  I could not decide whom to see about these feet of mine … I finally opted for a PT.  Largely because I know that he’s a runner and won’t think I’m crazy for having I want to run again ASAP be my top priority.

I called on Monday morning to make an appointment.  At first, it looked like I wouldn’t be able to get one until after Pesach (two weeks away), then it looked like I’d have to wait until Friday.  I was about ready to cry!! Thankfully, I got lucky, and I was able to get an appointment for Monday night.  Um, I go to my nutritionist on Monday night.  So I called her, moved up my appointment to an earlier time, dashed through the supermarket after seeing her*, and then went to PT.

(*After an entire weekend spent doing nothing except for sitting on my butt (not. exaggerating), I was oh-so-proud of myself for not cutting back on my intake despite that — and yet I lost weight.  How does that figure?!  I’m telling you… I just can’t win.)

I don’t very often say this about myself, but I definitely think I made the right call in going to this PT.  I’m still not sure what exactly is wrong with me, but I don’t really care, as long as it gets better.  It’s probably a strain / slight sprain due to overuse.  And I’m not supposed to be running on it yet, which sucks.

But apparently my hip strength sucks, too, so we get to work on that.  And altering my gait — I’m a big-time heel-striker, but when I tried to change it myself so that I land on the ball of my foot, disaster ensued.

You know where else disaster ensued?!  I saw this awesome recipe on Jess’ blog, and I just had to make it, despite my less-than-ideal kitchen situation right now.  I had to bake it in the toaster oven, which meant I had to use a dairy dish, which got very complicated because I don’t want to be sticking dairy spoons into my cocoa powder or peanut flour.  That’s probably why I missed something very, very important.

Yes, all of that Truvia is absolutely necessary… because I forgot to add sweetener to the batter. I like dark chocolate, but this was pretty nasty.

I could tell that it would probably be awesome, though, if I weren’t such a moron.  So I immediately mixed up the dry ingredients to try again the next day, albeit without forgetting anything… and I know this picture does not do it justice at all, but believe me when I say that this is awesome, and you need to try it now.

I can’t wait until after Pesach, so that I have a microwave in which to melt peanut butter to drizzle over the top.

How’s this for a complete tease?… I’m not supposed to be running — I can run in the pool, but I tried that today (after I scrounged up the courage to plunge myself chest-deep into frigid water), and running in water is freaking hard — but my new baby arrived today.

Tell me that isn’t cruel.

Actually, this whole drama with my feet might turn out to be a bit of a “blessing in disguise,” but I’m not going to talk about that.  Because I’m not superstitious, exactly, but I hate getting excited about something and then having to feel like an idiot because it never works out.

I have to give a presentation in one of my classes tomorrow.  If you think I am prepared for it, you are sadly mistaken.  This one’s going to be fun.  *sarcasm*  Especially since I’m very short on sleep… and I’ve been setting my alarm a few minutes early because I need to foam roll before I do anything else — I’ve apparently been trying so hard to keep my weight off my heels, my calf and thigh muscles are tight.  If too-tight muscles could snap, mine would have done so a long time ago.

Happy Hump Day.

“Motivation is what gets you started.  Habit is what keeps you going.” 
~Jim Ryun

9 responses to “Making Do

  1. take heart, hun! i’m here for you and i’ve been there multiple times.

    and just like you i had a ton of tofu..but you already got that email about it 😀

    AND thanks for the shout out on mobility! 😀 😀
    xoxox and i hope the cake comes out beautifully, because i want you to make it for both of us. and perhaps stick a candle in it? hahah 😀
    feel bettahhh

  2. Good luck with the presentation!

    Roasted chestnuts = pureed in soups, whole/halved in stews, blended into homemade veggie burger mixtures before grilling, and so on. I don’t really like them cold, but they are wonderful in hot meals with other ingredients 🙂

  3. Our heels seem to be twins! After Sunday’s race I’ve ended up with severe bruising on the fat pad (yeah, the irony) of my heel and it’s ice and Ibuprofen all the way. I am sure yours will heal in time, because you’re not an idiot like I am that tries to run through the pain and then ends up hobbling around for a month afterwards.

    Sometimes stretching the achilles helps with heel issues, at least that’s what I’m hoping!

    xxx

  4. I’m glad to hear that there’s a little light at the end of the tunnel. I think I’d rather hear it’s a strain or a sprain than some odd disease or growth or something! Even if it means you can’t run now, you will SOON, so that’s wonderful news :] Just saw your new baby on FBook – awesome!! But yes, definitely a tease :X
    Gah, LOVE that cake. I had two yesterday. Maybe it’s overkill. I don’t think so 😉 FWIW, I made one in the microwave and one in the toaster oven, too. Both actually worked out well enough! And to make you feel better, I seriously skimped on the sugar in one (“How bad could it be?!”) and learned my lesson, too! Luckily it was saved with a drizzle of date syrup :]
    I hope everything goes well with your presentation today!!
    (and also – thank you for sending me the link for the shoes!! I think for the first go-round I’m going to go somewhere that can help me find what’s right for me, though. I have no idea what I’m looking at! haha. Saved the link for next time, though. Lots of good deals on there.)

  5. I HATE doing presentations! I just rush through them so the pain is over ASAP lol….good luck…

    xo

  6. Boo on your injuries ma deary! You always make me feel like tofu…not physically…although that would be weird. “How are you feeling today?” “Like tofu.” “Oh? How does that feel like?” “Squishy.” Haha WUT?!

    I’m so going to try that recipe. It looks like you sprinkled it with salt haha. Yeah complete dark chocolate is sooo nasty. It needs SUGAH!

    (By the way, I apologise for not having left my mark on your blog for a while. Stupid uni got in the way 😦 But I HAVE been reading!)

  7. Pingback: The PT Made Me Do It |

  8. Pingback: The Iliad & The Odyssey |

  9. talk about a bad omen! the moment you have to rest and heal, that package arrives! sheesh- at least it can be sort of a motivation i guess huh?

    i laid out all weekend in the sun and did nothing either..altho instead of sore muscles from exercise..i do have a sore butt from sitting hehe. its so natural to want to eat less or not as savory during times like that, but it definitely feels good when you know you can work past it- good job! ❤ ❤ xoxo

Leave a Reply

