It’s a Beautiful Day

Re: my race recap post… I password protected it because it includes pictures of me, and you know I’m a wee bit paranoid!  If you want the password, just let me know.

In a nutshell: it was completely awesome, and I placed second in my age group, and I totally want to do that again.

Just so that I don’t have a two-line post, I’ll stick in some pictures that have been languishing for a few days… mostly because I was too busy freaking out about school to do anything else.  And, yes, I’m still freaked out about school.  But I’ll skip that one for now, though I do want to send out a huge thanks to those of you who reached out to me after that post… I do get sort of crazy sometimes, I know.  I’m the first to admit that.

Moving on!  I’m seeking new produce to try, but the stores here seem to not think that this is a worthy goal, since they just keep carrying the same old, same old.  So I decided to focus on greens, since there are a lot of varieties I haven’t yet tried!  First up was arugula… which I’ve heard described as “peppery.”  I like romaine because it’s mild; I hate radicchio because it’s much more bitter.  Ergo, I wasn’t sure I’d like arugula, which meant that whatever went along with it would have to be awesome to balance out its potential non-awesomeness.

Mission accomplished!  Can’t go wrong with roasted cauliflower, right?  Ditto seitan.  I drizzled a bit of sweet Italian dressing over it, which I wasn’t sure would work, but it did.  In the background is a slice of Tofutti pizza that had been in my freezer f-o-r-e-v-e-r, along with some roasted carrots.  Honestly?  I think my favorite part of this was the carrots, and though I didn’t hate it, my least favorite part was the arugula!

And I finally got around to eating this golden nugget squash that’s been hanging out on my counter for a very long while.

The variety of squash is probably the only thing that I miss about fall / winter… it’s so sad when the only types available are butternut, acorn, and spaghetti!

Roasted with sweet paprika, garlic salt, and chili powder.  (Pardon the cauliflower and tofu in the lower corners; I am too lazy to crop them out.)  I’m pretty sure the skin is meant to be removed — the sticker on it actually said to microwave the squash, then scoop out the flesh and mash it — but I loved that it got all crunchy.  I guess I’m just weird.  And I’m okay with that.

To be circular about this, one of my brothers came over to my house yesterday.  I was the only one home at the time, so we got to talking (not that I don’t talk to my brother otherwise — he’s actually my favorite brother, shhh — but I’m a pretty quiet person, and the rest of my family is not, so when there are other people here I tend to get lost in the background)… turns out that he might have done the 5K with me.  Wouldn’t you know it… the one person I don’t ask!  Well, I’ve filed this information for future reference.

Happy Monday!

“Jogging is very beneficial.  It’s good for your legs and your feet.  It’s also very good for the ground.  It makes it feel needed.” 
~Charles Schulz, Peanuts

9 responses to “It’s a Beautiful Day

  1. I miss the password protected post, but the one before that was alarming…it seems like things are looking up for you so that’s good! And squash is good! And running seems to do you well…maybe next time with the bro!

  2. imaginenamaste

    I’d love to see your race! Congrats on your finish! I hope the school stuff starts to calm down for you!

  3. Can I have the password? Well done for placing second in your age group! That’s so great 🙂 I’m glad it seems to have brightened up your weekend a bit.

    I have a squash like that lurking in a cupboard – it’s been there for months. Really must do something with it…

  4. I was always under the impression that I wouldn’t like arugula since it’s described as peppery, too. I tried it almost on accident as part of a salad blend and loved it, though! Can’t wait to get a bunch of it. I thought the description of peppery was very…strange. I imagined it would be hot, but I didn’t find that at all? Ah, well.
    Last I went to the store I was getting bored with the veggies, too. I need spring and summer for more variety!!

  5. That squash looks yummy! I saw your pictures on facebook hehe. Congrats on the run! I’ve never tried arugala before…does the taste resemble any other vegetable or does it have a whole new taste of its own?
    xxx

  6. this post made me SO HUNGRY. looks so yummy, glad you enjoyed it! xx

  7. Doh about your brother running the race! It’s lovely that your Mom turned up despite her misgivings though: made me feel all warm and snuggly inside 🙂

    And that’s an amazing squash: never seen that variety over here before. Also, heck yes to being okay with being weird.

    Arugala is about the one green that I just can’t tolerate. The peppery spiciness burns my throat…and my tum! Although the way you’ve presented it makes it look yummy even to me.

    xxx

  8. Congrats on your 5K! I would love to read more about it! 🙂

  9. Pingback: The Good, the Bad, & the Ugly |

Leave a Reply

