Twilight Zone

Because I’m in the twilight zone of the semester, and thus perpetually exhausted, I lack the energy to form consecutive cohesive sentences.  That’s why this post is kind of all over the place.  (Also because I’m currently sitting in a b-o-r-i-n-g class, and navigating on my mini is rather difficult.)

This morning brought another sounded-prettier-than-it-looked parfait.

Layers of lemon yogurt and a crumbled toasted lemon poppy seed muffin, which you can barely see since it got lost in the yogurt.  Really — would someone who knows how to construct an aesthetically pleasing parfait enlighten me about the secrets of which I’m evidently unaware?!

New product:

These are, I assume, like (a much more expensive version of) Trader Joe’s flattened bananas (which aren’t kosher, an issue which displeases me greatly).

It tastes like banana, but it has the texture of dried apples.  Very strange, indeed.

This, however, is totally awesome.

In case you don’t understand what you’re looking at… I bought a box of Kashi GoLean Crisp! today.  For 39¢.

That was pretty much the highlight of my day.  Which I guess is kind of sad.  But there wasn’t much else that qualified as “cheery” … I went to school (always a joy … not), where I realized just exactly how overwhelmed and overworked I am, and where I had to gulp down dinner in pretty much five minutes flat because my professor kept us late again.  Besides all that, it was just one of those days where I kind of want to cry because I feel like a lone person on the planet… does that happen to other people??  No?  …Guess it’s just me.

And I bought something else today.  But I’ve yet to photograph it, or even use it, since I haven’t been home yet… I’m pretty confident that nobody will lose any sleep over wondering what this thing is.

Happy Thursday.


“The world owes all its onward impulses to men ill at ease.  The happy man inevitably confines himself within ancient limits.”
~Nathaniel Hawthorne

5 responses to “Twilight Zone

  1. Uh, I totally get sort of ridiculously excited over a good deal. Especially when it’s a good cereal 😛
    I don’t get the parfait thing, either. The layers always just get covered up so you can’t see them, you just know they’re there! Grumble…
    (…and I might lose sleep tonight because of you…i’m a really nosy person, you know.)

  2. 39 centws say what???
    I’m almost equally impressed that you found the cents sign in a font.

    YES there are many days when I feel like the loneliest girl on the planet. Surrounded by people, several messages on my cell to which I cannot return, and neighbors knocking on the door.
    Hope you get some relaxation time.

  3. Far from being just you, I think the majority of people feel alone in the middle of crowds at times. I do most of the time. More so when I was younger, because now I feel like it is more important to find one or two people to hold on to in the crowd, rather than feeling comfortable with all of them.

    Your twitter informs me that you feel sad and overwhelmed, so I want to give you a *hug* bit useless really, but you can have it anyway xxx

  4. Flattened dried bananas?! Cheap as cereal?!! Sign. Me. Up.

    xxx

  5. It’s definitely not just you: I never feel more alone than when I’m immersed in a group of people, or in the bustle of the city. I feel isolated and half the time am not convinced I even belong to the human race, let alone the busy commuters or rowdy teenagers around me.

    If it helps at all I empathise with you a lot: so much of what you say resonates with me, and if that makes us both strange then at least I have someone to share that strangeness with.

    *huge hugs*

    xxx

Leave a Reply

