Good Morning to You, Too.

I was really, really hoping that my Sartorius would be all cured by this morning… but no such luck.  As a result, I was moving v.e.r.y. s.l.o.w.l.y, and if you knew me at all, you’d understand just how difficult that is for me — I do things quickly.  I have zero patience for anything else.  But I was moving slowly this morning.

Apparently, moving slowly + me = disaster.  I dropped a bottle of Boost on a tile floor in my basement; the bottle shattered and chocolate-y liquid went flying everywhere.  (Can I just say that I am so. glad. that I weatherproofed my Uggs?!)  So then I had to clean that up, which took even longer than it would have under normal circumstances: I was moving like an invalid, and I had to climb up and down those stairs multiple times! (Side note: at least it was an expired bottle…)

But I did make a slightly prettier parfait.

I used quinoa flakes instead of oats this time, because I remembered that I have a box of the former in my cabinet that I’m meant to be finishing.  I warmed it in the microwave for a minute, and I have to say, the combination of hot cereal and cold yogurt kind of grosses me out.  But I was running kind of late at this point, so I couldn’t really taste it.

I hobbled out the door and to a subway station closer to my house than the one I usually use, in the interest of babying my leg.  It nearly killed me not to dash down the stairs when I heard the train pulling into the station!!  I made it, anyway, and then I bought these.

I have no idea what happened to my ability to focus… I am getting shaky-handed in my old age.  Anyway, I used both of the packs today.  Along with my other purchase, which is instead of the annoying ice packs we have in my house… that melt after three minutes and then need to be frozen for three hours.

And after all of my morning shenanigans, I still managed to get to work on time… but the security guard was late.  Of course.

So, to make a long story short: I am not going to be running tomorrow.  I’m kind of freaking out about being “off schedule,” because I really don’t have all that much time until the race… but I guess it’s better to be safe than sorry, unfortunately.  The last time I injured a Sartorius muscle (the other one) is recent enough that I remember how much more difficult my life would be if I insisted on running through this.  And I finally, finally made an appointment with an orthopedist on Friday.  My podiatrist would be so proud of me.

And since I don’t have class this week, if my leg allows me to run for thirty seconds, I want to go and get fitted for new shoes.  I love the pair I have now, but fit and biomechanical function are two very different things…

In short: I am mad.  I need my legs, dammit!!

There have been ads for this floating around in the newspapers here, piquing my curiosity; so when I found it in the supermarket, I picked one up.

It’s also available in hummus varieties, but as we’ve established, I don’t like tahini.

Good thing I didn’t read the ingredients before buying it, then… because there’s tahini in here.  I couldn’t taste it at all, though.

I have one issue with the packaging of this product, and that is the disproportionate amount of spread to crackers.

Either add more crackers, or include less spread!  There was so much left over that I probably could have made quite the sandwich.  (Instead, I just used my finger to finish it.  Don’t judge!)

I love that the vegetables are visible in there.  But I didn’t love the sesame seeds on the crackers; that, I could do without.

And with that, I am off to see my nutritionist.  At least I won’t be banana-less this week, I guess…

Happy Tuesday.

“Losing is the great American sin.” 
~Jerome Holtzman

3 responses to “Good Morning to You, Too.

  1. It’s so refreshing to read someone listening to their body instead of pushing through something that would clearly benefit from some rest. Even though it’s difficult, you get major props for that 🙂 I am definitely bad at “slowing down,” too – but sometimes we need to!
    I get sort of weirded out about cold yogurt + hot oats, too. I can do with a little bit of yogurt on top, but if it’s too much the noticeable lukewarm yogurt gets to me :\
    Aaand, seeing your post made me remember to fiiiinally get your package ready for you. I kept forgetting to snag a flat-rate box from the post office (finally remembered today) and it weighs about ten pounds so there was no way I was sending it w/o one 😛 It will be in the mail tomorrow! :]

  2. Gah, I completely understand the feeling of not being able to use your legs! I have been injured in the hips and knees since i gave up exercise 10 months ago and I’ve been very slow ever since. It’s lame. But hey, I did it to myself.

    I’m totally with you on the hot oats and cold yoghurt. It. Tastes. Rank. I almost gagged when I had it. Now I have my oats and yoghurt in separate bowls.

    Those crackers and hummus look so yum! I was going to try making my own hummus at some point. I’ve heard that you can replace tahini with PB which is kind of intriguing.

    Have fun at your nutritionist!!!!!!!
    xxx

  3. I’ll pray for your legs! At least you caught the injury early on so hopefully it shouldn’t deteriorate any further. Don’t panic about your schedule: you made such quick and impressive progress with running anyway that I’m sure you will be able to pick up right where you left off.

    I seem to become clumsier (because, unlike you, I am clumsy to start with!) when I move more slowly, or when I’m trying my hardest not to make a noise. Inevitably, I shatter a glass/walk into a cupboard door/fall down the stairs as a result (well, the latter was only from four steps up but it still made one heck of a racket).

    xxx

Leave a Reply

