Taxing

For those of you who don’t know this about my blog: colored font = verbal vomit, if you want to avoid that.

Let me just say at the outset that I love my parents.  Still, they are so incredibly critical of everything… you would think that after all these years, I’d be used to it, but it can still be pretty hurtful.

Saturday night, as we were re-setting all of our clocks (why on earth do we need so many clocks?!), I thought out loud that I would have to go to bed early, since I was supposed to run 2.5-3 miles today.  My mom thought that an appropriate response to this was to snap that she was not going to come watch me race.  Of course, I wasn’t expecting her to do that (if the fact that it’s a charity race and I sponsored myself because I know nobody here is supportive of this endeavor is any indication), but she still felt that it was necessary to rub it in.  And then she had to add that “the timing is bad,” because it’s pretty close to Pesach, and of course preparing for that takes precedence over everything else on the planet.  (I think she goes way overboard in that regard, but that’s another story for another day.)  Like she’d come watch me if I decided to do it again in June?!  “No, someone who is not well and has an eating disorder shouldn’t be running so much.”  I think “so much” is pretty relative, but I’m not going to argue with her… there’s no point.  And then she accused me of hiding it from my therapist / nutritionist. 

Actually, they both know.  In fact, I think they knew about it before she did.  And they are more supportive of the idea than she is!  Some people might view it as a good thing, but as always, she chooses to focus on the negative.  Honestly, if I found a cure for cancer, I’d be given grief for not finding a cure for Alzheimer’s.  I just can’t win.  And I need to get over that already.

But I do have to say that this whole encounter really pissed me off.  And nothing makes act more like a stubborn brat than being pissed off.  I highly doubt that I would have actually been able to run three miles today if not for that.  It’s especially difficult to run, I’ve discovered, when you keep hyperventilating because of random anxiety attacks.  And then I felt a twinge in my Sartorius muscle around mile 2.8… I was hoping I was imagining it, but I don’t think I was, so I slowed down to be sure.  Because I remember from last year that an injured Sartorius muscle is not very much fun.  I’m icing now, but all I can say is that if it’s going to act up, it will just have to wait until Thursday so that I can have my acupuncturist fix it for me.

Weekly frozen reviews…

Prickly pear sorbet.  I guess it tasted like a sabra fruit… I don’t quite remember, since it’s been a while since I’ve had one!!  None of us were crazy about it, though.

Tofutti Marry Me dessert bars.

They were pretty good, but if that’s all it takes to save your marriage, then your marriage wasn’t in very much trouble in the first place.

Last night, I went out to buy some of my crack.  The first store I tried didn’t have the flavors I wanted, but somehow — I don’t know how it happened! — I emerged with a yuca.

I do want to try and make yuca chips, but this thing is huge, so I think I have enough to do more than one thing with it!  So I just made “fries” instead.

Seriously, if you can get your hands on a yuca, you must try it.  It is so. good!  I’d say it’s kind of starchy like a potato, except that I’m not a major fan of potatoes… and potatoes are a lot mushier than this.  Which is probably why I don’t like them.

Just as I settled in this afternoon to finally get some schoolwork done, my sister called me… we had tentative plans to do my taxes.  Exciting, I know.  I tried to do it on my own two years ago, nearly had a coronary, and she’s done it for me since then… but apparently education makes things very confusing.

So I went over to her house.  And nearly had a heart attack again, because — and I am not exaggerating — two thirds of my salary went to tuition, and most of the remaining third was withheld for taxes.  Which leaves me, in effect, with zero income for the year.  And the state claims that I owe them money!!  That is so not happening.  So after all that, I’m paying an accountant to do it for me.  Fun times.

And then I hobbled home, because I had this rising in the oven for about three times longer than necessary… thank you, stupid tax man.

Sprouted wheat berry bread!  It isn’t quite as awesome as usual.  Like I said — blame the tax man.

Another one of the “interesting-to-me” yogurt flavors I found…

And aren’t lemon and blueberry meant to be together??  I would have loved to use fresh blueberries, but I didn’t have any.

Overnight oats with blueberry jam.  I was surprised that these made very good overnight oats — for some reason, dairy yogurt has always disappointed me in that regard.  It didn’t taste like lemon, either… I think that’s the prevailing theme with this brand of yogurt.  They’re all good, but they don’t taste like the flavors they supposedly are.

And now I shall have to go and attempt to do that schoolwork… which is not very likely, considering that my brain shuts down along with the setting of the sun.

Happy Monday.

“A lot of parents pack up their troubles and send them off to summer camp.” 
~Raymond Duncan

7 responses to “Taxing

  1. yeeees lemon and blueberry are meant to be together!! bummer it didn’t taste much like lemon though :\
    looks like we were both on the same yuca page today! as i was eating mine i kept thinking the same thing – “yuca is SO GOOD.” and seriously – why are they all HUGE now? i remember i used to get smaller ones that i could just eat in one sitting…but the only ones i can find now are gigantic?!
    and i’m really sorry about getting your morning off to a rough start with your mom :\ i hope it all works out for you and your (…sagawhat?) muscle is okay!

  2. LOVE yucca fries!
    Sorry about your parents–I can relate to the criticism! I have parents who criticize everything I do and how I do it (and how I look, but that is a thesis-sized comment), yet think my brother hung the moon 😦
    Your running sounds like a good outlet, btw, even if your mother does make snide remarks! I read a quote recently where a woman said her mother “would criticize a rainbow for being bent.”

  3. You are preaching to the choir. My grandmother has a negative remark to just about everything. Even if it’s not about me, if she has a complaint and the subject in question isn’t around to hear it, I will. It’s like she’ll spontaneously combust if she doesn’t get her opinion heard…

  4. Your mama sounds like a bit of a meanie pants, if you ask me. I’m very proud of you for running the 3 miles for charity! That’s such an awesome thing to do. I know that I’m too selfish to do anything like that…

    Yeah, sometimes accountants ARE actually good for something. They take a lot of the stress off of people, I’m sure. I wouldn’t know. I don’t work nor pay taxes 😛 I would HATE to be an accountant though. That would be one of the worst jobs EVER!

    Your overnight oats look nommy! Mmm jam 😉

    xxx

  5. Ack, I feel for you on the parent front. My mum used to come out with random stuff like that a lot. I maintain that there is nothing better for parent-child relations than moving several hundred miles away 😛

    I used to have trouble not hyperventilating when I ran too. I think it’s because I used to hyperventilate when I had panic attacks (very regular occurrence, grr), so breathing heavily when I ran made my body think it was panicking. Especially if I was worrying about something as I ran! It helped me to get into a regular pattern of breathing – in for three steps, out for three. Sometimes four at the beginning and two if I’m really going for it at the end, but usually three works for me. Throw in playing music and I stopped having enough brain space for panicking if I was counting my breaths as well.

    I need to make bread! Yours always looks so great 🙂

  6. I’m so sorry your parents have that attitude and aren’t supportive 😦 I always end up sponsoring myself too: there’s an event I’m doing this Saturday at my gym and I’m such a sad case (plus I can’t stand asking others for money!) that I’ve filled out the form with random names and am just donating my own money. I can’t believe I just admitted that.

    I’m behind you all the way with your race! Not that it helps, but I believe you have it in you to finish in a great time. I’ll be cheering from the internet sidelines all the way 🙂

    xxx

  7. Pingback: Today I Did a Somersault |

Leave a Reply

