National Cereal Day

I’ve been pondering where to go for my next dive trip, as I mentioned a few days ago.  It’s got to be a big one, since I’m going to be celebrating my release from the hell of grad school at the same time.  I was considering just biting the bullet and heading to the Great Barrier Reef, but then I realized that it would be winter there.

And ever since then, I’ve been getting this massive, undeniable urge to go to Israel again.  It’s been two years since my last trip, which is way too long; and I’ve never actually gone diving in Israel, since my attempts to get down to Eilat were unsuccessful in 2009.  I really, really, really want to go now… even if it would set me back many more dollars than going somewhere else.  This must be worked out…

Since today was the first day of the Hebrew month of Adar, and Purim is in Adar, I decided that today would be a perfect time for some more oatmeal art

It’s kind of hard to see, I know — I should have created a greater contrast — but it’s a hamantash!  A PBJ oatmeal hamantash, to be precise.  I cooked steel cut oats in water, added chia seeds, and let it set for a bit.  Then I divided the oats in half, stirring a tablespoon of peanut flour into one half, and refrigerating it overnight.  The “filling” is just raspberry jam, since that’s what I’d use to fill real hamantashen.  (Side note: my cousin wanted to know if I “really eat these things.”  I said that of course I don’t, I freeze them cryogenically for storage in my Oatmeal Museum.  Who, me?  Sarcastic?  Never.)

While this was delicious, I must admit that I was a bit dismayed to find out later on in the morning that today was National Cereal Day… and I neglected to have cereal for breakfast!  Of course, it then needed to make an appearance later.

I had been planning to use up another one of the orange cranberry mini muffins in my freezer (there are only two left!!) when I tried the coconut milk yogurt, but I changed those plans and opened a new box of cereal instead.

Newman’s Own Sweet Enough Cinnamon Fiber Flakes Cereal.  I remember how hard it was for me to get my hands on this, but that was so long ago — I didn’t let myself open it until I made some headway on the boxes I already had started!

Parfait with plain coconut milk yogurt, cereal, and roasted Saigon cinnamon. I totally love that cinnamon, by the way; I’d say it’s worth every penny, except that I go through cinnamon at a rather alarming rate, so I’m not too sure about that!  And the yogurt?  Loved it, too.  It didn’t taste at all like coconut, and it wasn’t overly sweet.  As for the cereal, I’m pretty sure it’s the best cinnamon cereal I have ever eaten in my life.  Loved that, too.  So this cup made me very happy.  😉

Then I made some headway in clearing out of my freezer some inexplicable contents.

Steamfresh sweet mini corn on the cob, as well as whole green beans.

The green beans make some semblance of sense, I guess; but the corn?  Considering that I prefer my corn A) raw and B) off the cob, I can’t figure out what on earth would have possessed me to purchase this.

Those grains sprinkled over the vegetables are garlic salt, which obviously makes everything taste worlds better.  And the corn, oddly, was really good.  I don’t think I have anything against the taste of corn on the cob; it’s just that it gets stuck between my teeth, and it is extremely. annoying.  And when it’s raw, it’s crisp and crunchy.  I prefer that to the … mushy texture of cooked corn.

Not that this is at all related to anything, but I just felt compelled to say that I bought the most awesome socks ever in Target yesterday.  It’s surprisingly difficult to find ankle socks with an elastic that is not so tight that it leaves an imprint on my leg, or so loose that the socks slip down past my heels when I am wearing boots.  These are perfect.

My nutritionist had to re-schedule my appointment, which means I am sitting at home now with the opportunity to cross some more things off my to-do list… but I think I burned myself out for the week already.  And I’ve decided I’m allergic to work, because I had another couple of inexplicable anxiety attacks today.  I’m seeing my therapist tomorrow, but I don’t think I’m even going to bother mentioning this, since I’m really, really, really not in the mood of having her push drugs on me again.

Anyway, I’m off to go, um, not do some schoolwork… procrastination is back in full force!  Oh, dear.

Happy Tuesday.

“Anyone can do any amount of work, provided it isn’t the work he is supposed to be doing at that moment.” 
~Robert Benchley

3 responses to “National Cereal Day

  1. Do you go on spring break soon? It seems everyone is talking about it atm. I don’t even know when mine is, but I’m sure I’m just as eager as you 😛
    This is the second time I’ve heard glowing reviews of saigon cinnamon. I think I must try it just to see what all the hype is about! I hope it’s something I can obviously taste the difference in, though. (or maybe I don’t so I can keep buying huge tubs of normal cinnamon at a restaurant supply co nearby for all of $5, lol)
    I remember when I used to be obsessed with the Newman’s cereal line. I can’t remember the name of the one I liked, though – but it was the green box! Honey flax flakes, maybe? Yeah, loved them. They slowly started becoming too sweet for me, though. Next time I’m in the store I’ll have to search out the cinnamon one!

  2. I love your oatmeal art. My oatmeal tends to look like baby sick in a bowl. At least it tastes good…sometimes.

    I’m with you on the whole getting corn in your teeth. I HATE corn on the cob for that reason. I only ever have the corn that is separated or baby corn. Omg I have an obsession with baby corn! It’s like WOAH.

    I hope you’re not stressing out too much about school, dearie!!

    xxx

  3. I keep getting anxiety attacks in Uni too. I can only sympathise (and empathise? I always get the two mixed up! Some English student I am…) and offer a hug. Sometimes I almost break down and agree to meds but then I think it doesn’t address the root cause of the problem, but when the anxiety is so prevalent sometimes any numbness and peace, even artificially created, seems preferable to the current situation.

    I hate corn on the cob! Off the cob, fine, but the husks tend to cut my gums and it just takes so much darn effort to eat.

    I wish there was an oatmeal museum: I would definitely visit!

    And good luck with getting the diving sorted out: I think you’re worth the extra money personally, and should go for whatever would make you happiest. After such a hellish few years of grad school (and a heck of a lot of hard work on your part!!!) you deserve a huge reward.

    xxx

Leave a Reply

