Crazy Race

About that itty bitty type

Considering I haven’t been running at all since I hurt my knee quite a few months back, registering for a 5K is sort of a ridiculous thing to do.  But completing a race is on my bucket list, and I don’t want to do just any race for the sake of a race; I’d rather do a charity race.  I was going to do one in December, but then I decided it’s just too cold for me in the winter.  A good call on my part, as it turned out, since the day of that race was frigid.  Anyway, this opportunity presented itself now, and I kind of grabbed it.

So, yeah.  Insane?  Me?  Not at all.  (Have I mentioned that I’ve never covered more than two and a half miles in one go, and even that was half walking?)

They did provide a training plan “for beginners,” based on the assumption that you can run one mile.  Which, evidently, I can, because while I was ruminating over this on Sunday morning, I ran just under a mile at the gym.  The problem with the training plan is that I’m a week behind.  My co-worker gleefully revised it for me.

The revised plan includes a longer taper, which is nice.  It also includes a four-mile run, which is hysterically funny.

The thing about this whole situation is that I don’t think I can do it… but I know that I can.  It will just involve a lot of ego-bruising, because I’m setting the bar very low.  Say… forty-five minutes?!   That’s not even setting the bar low, it’s burying it underground — I can walk faster than that.  But since I’m notoriously self-critical and will be dissatisfied with my time anyway, I think I’m going to accept the fact that I’m just a slowpoke and deal with the battered ego.  I’d rather do that than deal with battered knees.

Though speaking of battered knees, I have to say that the knee strap is the eighth wonder of the world.  I don’t know how it works, and I don’t care; I just know that it does.  Now, if they only made something like that for ankles…


Another reason to believe that I am a natural slowpoke was that not pushing myself in terms of speed meant I didn’t experience any cramping.  That’s always a nice thing.  But I have another dilemma.


Toasted zucchini bread, topped with Maranatha sunflower seed butter.  This had an entire hour to digest before I started running today, and it still wasn’t long enough.  Apparently I am one of those people who can only run on an empty stomach.  Annoying, but duly noted.

I stumbled across something exciting in the supermarket the other day.

Plain yogurt!  I always use vanilla because I was unaware this even existed.  I did the same thing with this as I did last week with vanilla yogurt: toasted orange cranberry mini muffin, orange marmalade diluted with water, and dried cranberries.

I really liked the yogurt!  It was pleasantly tart.  I’m not going to stop using the vanilla, because I like that, too, but it’s nice to know that I have this as an option.

Oh, by the way, remember those red bananas?  They finally ripened.  Yes, it took two weeks.  And it was still a battle to peel the thing!

I guess it does taste a little different than regular yellow bananas… but I really think I prefer the yellow ones.  And even if I didn’t, I’m not about to start paying double the price for the novelty of red bananas.

Now that Alphebruary is over, it’s time to move on to a March challenge!  Since March is National Frozen Food Month (and also National Nutrition Month, which I find slightly ironic), this is as good a time as any to clear out some major freezer space.  Yes, I’m supposed to be doing that anyway.  Let’s ignore that little issue.  😉

Since I can pretty much open a Steamfresh (I hate their new site, BTW) store right now, and I also have random Alphebruary things to use up…

Steamfresh whole grain brown rice, Jalfrezi simmer sauce, and steamed cauliflower.  There were actually supposed to be chickpeas in there, too, but I forgot to soak them last night.  Oh, well.

Ever since that whole ear saga, it bothers me to get water in my ears. I never had a problem with that before, but it’s annoying — even if it’s probably all in my head! So I bought me some ear plugs. But they really kind of gross me out — I do not like silicone ear plugs! And they’re not 100% effective. Or comfortable. So, as part of a huge Amazon order tonight (which included two knee straps!), I bought these, which hopefully will work out better.   Because I need to be able to hear the bobbing ladies, right?

Okay, okay.  I’m not complaining about that part.  The water was quite lovely tonight.  Until they invaded it!

I have an appointment with my endocrinologist tomorrow morning.  I am so not excited about that.  He tends to not listen to me when I tell him I don’t want to know my weight.  And seeing the … issues I am having right now, it would be really nice if he would keep that information to himself.  Just saying.

In jewelry-related news, I am very sad.

My bracelet broke!  😦

And I dug out a pair of earrings I bought a few months ago, but never wore.  It’s like jewelry shopping in my own room!

No idea why it’s so blurry…

Happy Hump Day… (Ten weeks until I can say that and mean it!  Um, that also means I need to get a move on and quit procrastinating…)

“Humankind cannot bear very much reality.” 
~T.S. Eliot

7 responses to “Crazy Race

  1. love the earrings. can’t wait til you display mine- when i get around to sending them! LOL.

    so not a fan of red bananas? did they taste appley? hmm.

    when i was in swimming team, we called those bobbing ladies water buffalo. well..that’s what my mean a$$ swim coach called them….

  2. Lovely blurry earrings! Is there any way you can fix your bracelet? I always have a go at mending any jewellery of mine that breaks, the clasps aren’t all that expensive.

    I can only run on a very empty stomach too – it takes three hours of digesting for me, grrr. Not that I’ve been running in months anyway! Good luck with the 5K plan 🙂

  3. That’s awesome that it’s a charity race! And I think you’re going about it just fine 🙂 If it’s your first race, no need to push yourself to go faster than you need to and risk h urting yourself. I think you’ll do just fine, though 🙂 And if it makes you feel any better, last I checked I couldn’t run a mile without stopping 😛 I’m actually sort of excirted for the warm weather to come so I can see if over the winter I’ve gained any more stamina but I don’t have my hopes up!
    haha, we have tons of frozen veggies in our freezer, too. I tend to buy a bag or two when I see them on sale (and they’re cheap to begin with!) and my mom buys them all the time, too. Problem is, I always forget about frozen vegetables and only have my mind on fresh!

  4. whoa those are some crazy earrings…only you could pull them off!

    I puke if I run with food in my stomach….I get so sick. So I usually run before breakfast. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Holy Coconut! |

  6. Pingback: National Cereal Day |

  7. Pingback: Fickle |

Leave a Reply

