Fifteen Hours

Wednesdays are fifteen hour days.  Plus.  By “fifteen hour day,” I mean that it’s about that long from the time I leave the house in the morning until I get back home again.  Then there are other things to do… see why it’s impossible for me to get eight hours of sleep a night?!  Also, that explains why this post probably is sort of incoherent — I doubt I make much sense when I’m not overtired, but it sure doesn’t help.

I also don’t like wearing heavy earrings on such long days; they tend to start to hurt after a while!

These are supposed to match the glittery, sparkly letters on my sweatshirt.

This, by the way, is from the girls’ department. I vastly prefer the guys’ fit… they’re roomier in a different way than the next size up in the girls’, and the sleeves are longer.

Doesn’t this look rather… boring?


It’s more exciting than it looks.  I was going for a semi-tropical vibe, so I cooked the quinoa flakes in coconut milk with cinnamon and Truvia, then stirred in some dried pineapple.  (Since I keep saying I don’t like coconut, it might seem weird that I voluntarily used coconut milk… but I don’t think this has a coconut taste.  It just makes things creamier.  Works for me!)  The pineapple absorbed some of the liquid overnight, so it wasn’t like chewing on desiccated morsels — can you tell I’m not a major fan of dried fruit?  😉  Anyway, the most exciting part of this is the cinnamon sprinkled on top.  Because it’s not just any cinnamon…


It’s roasted Saigon cinnamon!  Quite possibly the best cinnamon I’ve ever tasted… after all, everything is better roasted, right?!  But this is going to be reserved for special occasions (as in, I’m not going to toss this in a banana bread), because it is ridiculously expensive… I could get five bottles of regular cinnamon, double this size, for the same price.

Here is evidence that the universe needs to make decisions for me, since I am incapable of making them on my own.  When I was in Trader Joe’s on Monday, I couldn’t choose between snow peas and sugar snap peas.

romaine, cauliflower, baby peppers, tofu, snow peas

You think I chose snow peas, don’t you?… Well, I didn’t.  I actually threw one of each into my basket.  And then I came home and found that my shopping bag only contained snow peas.  I really didn’t feel like going all the way back to the store… but then I looked at my receipt and realized that I was never even charged for the sugar snap peas.  I have no idea where they went, because the basket was empty after the cashier rang up my purchases, but… I guess weirder things have happened!

You know what happens when you’re cleaning out your freezers?

You end up having to eat PBJs on germinated wheat bread, because you won’t buy more mini pitas, even though that’s what you really wanted.  Sad face.  Double sad face to the fact that I had to gulp it down; seriously, do these professors think we have nothing to do in the few moments between classes?!

Oh, yes, classes.  Those of you who saw my Facebook status earlier are (again) aware that I hate group projects.  I especially hate them when you have to choose your own group… because someone is always going to be the “odd man out.”  Figures that that someone is usually me.  Also figures that I don’t really care where I end up or what I end up doing, because I have senioritis so bad that none of it matters anymore.

But I did end up in a group.  And that class is going to be taking a field trip next week, which is also unfair, because I have another class after that, but… oh, never mind, I’m not going to get into it.

In random news, it is surprising that more than one person has found my blog by searching for “hissy fit blue jeans.”  I have no idea what that’s about, since I don’t think I’ve ever even used the word “jeans” before on my blog.  And it also made me feel oh-so-good that someone’s search for “hideously ugly” led them here.  Yup, you got the right place!

And on that note, I did want to address some things re: my last post, but I think sleep is a better idea right now.

Happy Thursday!

“Some people can stay longer in an hour than others can in a week.” 
~William Dean Howells
(I bet they’re in class)

2 responses to “Fifteen Hours

  1. I. hate. group. projects. Call me antisocial, but it’s not the group thing that bothers me so much as the fact that I’m always destined to end up in a group that doesn’t give a poo about how they do, so I end up doing EVERYTHING. I love online classes because I can do everything all on my time. Not only that, but we’re in college now. Having the same schedule as another college student is not going to happen, I’m sorry.
    I have “incidents” like your snow pea one all the time. I won’t be able to choose b/w two things, and I’ll either end up putting both things in the cart, one (wrong)thing, or no thing!
    And I understand the coconut milk thing – they really taste nothing like it, so I don’t think it’s weird at all – and I love coconut!
    Have a good day, hope you got some rest 🙂

  2. Fifteen hours!?! I now officially have no right to complain about my schedule. That’s insane.

    I love the look of your quinoa flakes breakfast ~ I need to work on making mine more presentable and dainty like your wonderful creations (and I think we need to bully a publisher into assemling a picture book of your oatmeal art because I really do consider it to be beautiful!)

    Ugh to group work ~ I share your feelings on the subject but at least it’s probably one of the last group projects you’ll ever have to do 🙂

    xxx

Leave a Reply

