Nobel Procrastination Prize

I’d hereby like to nominate myself for this award.  Guess how much schoolwork I got done today?… The answer should be obvious.  None whatsoever.  I have never, ever had such bad senioritis before.  Ugh.

But I had something so much more exciting to do!


Yep, indeed.  However, for reasons that shall become clear in the future, I am not going to be trying it out tomorrow; in fact, in order to avoid the temptation, I used up my last banana (well, my last yellow banana; the red ones still aren’t ripe, believe it or not) making banana oat muffins.

Notice anything missing?… Yes, that’s right.  I made banana oat muffins… and I forgot the oats.  I realized it as soon as I started to scoop the batter into the muffin tins, but I was not in the mood of scooping it back out again, so I just left them as they were.  Doesn’t seem to have had any negative affect!

I also decided to be environmentally friendly, and instead of chopping my vegetables on paper plates that get thrown out, I bought this.

I like to make my life easier.  :p

Some Alphebruary: M and P!

First, something that I’ve been wanting to try for a very long time, but I kept waiting for it to go on sale.  It never did, so I’m guessing it probably never will, but… mochi.

Since I’ve never tried it before, I went for the original flavor… and I just followed the package directions, cutting some squares and sticking them in the oven for about ten minutes, until they started to puff up and brown.

It doesn’t look like much, I know, but it was delicious — chewy and slightly sweet.  I just wish it came in a smaller package!!  I hate that I have to eat the same thing for a few days in a row because the package has so many servings; I get burned out on things that way.

Anyway, next up: pecan butter.

I spread some of it on a spelt flat bread.

Full disclosure: I have never eaten a pecan in my life.  But I don’t think this tastes like pecans.  Primarily because I could taste the cashews.  Which, if you ask me, isn’t a bad thing… (I am going to buy cashew butter.  Once I get rid of another jar or two of nut butter.  Check back in a couple of years.)

And then I tried a recipe from Appetite for Reduction, because the delicata squash I’d been hoarding really needed to be used.  It was my last one.  😦

I think that’s supposed to read sweet potato squash.  Anyway.  I was a little confused about the recipe directions, and I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to wrap the squash itself, or the entire pan… so I tried both ways, one for each half.

The one on the left was in the wrapped pan; the one on the right was wrapped completely.  They tasted exactly the same; the only difference was that the one on the right was a little charred on the bottom, which is fine with me, as I love crispy squash.  Oh, who am I kidding, I love all kinds of squash, all ways!

As it works out, I’m going to have a three-day work week: tomorrow is President’s Day, so my office is closed, and I’m taking a personal day on Friday because my hair is in desperate need of some TLC.  (I was talking about that with someone at my gym today; she said that she always thought that curly hair was easy to care for, and that you just got out of bed in the morning, shook out your curls, and went about your day.  Um, right.  I wish!  I was thisclose to getting my hair permanently straightened when I discovered Ouidad.  And thank goodness, because I look rather like a witch with straight hair.)

Seriously, now — anyone want to write a paper for me?!  Ahhhhhh!!

Happy Monday… when I hopefully get some work done.

“Any philosophy that can be put in a nutshell belongs there.” 
~Branch Rickey

8 responses to “Nobel Procrastination Prize

  1. No ma’am – I am done writing papers for…a couple days 😉 Although between the two of us, I think our e-mails could probably write at five ten pages, no? 😛
    I’m with you on baking and processors being more important than schoolwork. You know I’m a firm believer of just getting what’s on the mind out of the way so I can focus better after, right?! 😉
    Never had mochi – and I don’t think I really know what it is, either?! I hear you on the package thing, though. It takes me months (okay, weeks…) to make it through a bag of pretzels because I eat them so sporadically, yet the bags are so huge. I start out pretzel obsessed and half the bag later the obsession fizzles…
    Enjoy your day off tomorrow!!

  2. Oh I love mochi! you need to leave it a heat it a little longer though, it should look quite puffy, ‘deformed’ even. It cooks really well under the grill. I used to eat it as a snack in Japan with a little soy sauce. It should keep for a long time because it is so dehydrated, so don’t stress about using it quickly.
    best of luck with the schoolwork

  3. I have never heard of mochi in my life but now I would definitely be willing to try it!

    I love that you forgot the oats in your banana oat muffins. That totally sounds like something I would do 😛

    xxx

    P.S. I will write the paper for you but it won’t be good. Is it about penguins?

  4. I have no idea what mochi is but I am going to have to find out now! I LOVE pecans, and I have tried pecan butter before. Cashew butter is my favourite though! Ooh, three day work week 🙂 I like it. I need to make an appointment at the hairdressers too, thanks for the reminder!

  5. Haha, I would write your paper but I should be doing my own…. Instead here I am commenting 😛
    I’ve never tried Mochi but it looks interesting. I hate things that have so many serving sizes though. Can you freeze some of it?
    It made me laugh that you forgot the oats. Really I’m just glad that I’m not the only one who does things like that! xo

  6. YAY for the new cuisinart!!!! 😀

    i look forward to you trying cashew butter when i graduate pa school 😀

    i like mochi rolled in peanuts (it’s like peanut crumbs. so delcious) but roasted mochi isn’t too bad.

    banana oats muffs minus the oats. that’s how i bake 😀

  7. Try goat cheese and honey in the mochi…okay…I am on a goat cheese kick lately….
    Sorry!

    And that cuisinart is just speaking PESTO to me!

  8. Pingback: Alphebruary Recap |

Leave a Reply

