K… Giveaway Winner

An alternate title for this post (#500!) could have been “Green and White.”

The lack of color is so sad.  It could use some peppers — I don’t know why I always equate cucumbers with peppers in a salad — but these are the only peppers I had:

I like heat, and all — even though I really bought these for my brother — but I do not like to put hot peppers in salads.  Actually, I just wanted to be able to post that picture, because I thought the “BEWARE!” is really funny.

Also, it is possible to have too much of a good thing.  Sometimes.  I like cucumbers, but this was major overload.  I can’t eat it non-stop the way I probably could roasted cauliflower!  And the daikon?  I intended to just throw it in there raw, but I ended up steaming it for a few minutes.  It did taste radish-y.  Not a fan.

While I was busy prepping that, my Alphebruary “K” was simmering on the stovetop…

Kamut berries! You know its ultimate fate, I am sure… but I wanted to try the actual grain first, so I made a “pudding” of sorts for breakfast this morning.

After cooking, draining, and rinsing the kamut berries, I microwaved half of a sliced banana with a bit of almond milk and cinnamon, then mashed the banana and mixed it into the kamut berries.  Because warm bananas make my stomach turn just a little bit, I refrigerated this overnight.

This morning, I added just enough almond milk to enable me to break up any clumps, stirred in more cinnamon and some Truvia, and dug in.  The kamut berries have a nice chewy bite to them, reminiscent of wheat berries.  (Hey, it’s been a very long time since I’ve had wheat berries in any form other than sprouted bread… maybe I should try this with wheat berries!)  The flavor of the kamut berries is very subtle — kind of slightly sweet and nutty at once.  I would definitely add some sort of extract next time — and there will be a next time!

There appears to be an “ankle gremlin” running rampant in my office; my co-worker hurt his ankle, and when it started to feel a little better (only because his other calf started to hurt due to over-compensation), my ankle started to hurt!  For no reason whatsoever.  “Hurt” isn’t the right word… but it was bothering me, and it was annoying, so I mentioned it to my acupuncturist today.  I mean, I’m there anyway, right?  Yeah.  So, apparently I have crepitus, which he claims happens to pretty much everyone once they pass the age of twenty.  And which, yes, has the same Latin root as the word “decrepit.”  Isn’t that lovely?  Enjoy your youth, kids… it’s all downhill from here.  😉

As planned, I tried the coconut curry tempeh another way.

On a bed of spinach: brown and wild rice with corn, carrots and peas, and the tempeh.  To be fair, this isn’t an accurate judge of the tempeh itself, because I did add healthy amounts of curry powder and turmeric!  Oh, well, who cares… it was good.  Isn’t that all that matters?!  (And not that you can tell, but that’s also one of my new bowls.)

One of the pairs of earrings I bought yesterday debuted today:

I am a shameless earrings addict.  Don’t ask me what’s up with my neck.  I was kind of wondering the same thing.

I was supposed to mention the giveaway winner, wasn’t I?…

If my counting skills are up to par, it’s Jess!  😀  E-mail me to let me know whether you have any special requests… or if you just want to leave it all up to me.  *evil cackle*  (Don’t worry, I promise I won’t send you a letter bomb…)

Have a great weekend.

“Emotion always has its roots in the unconscious and manifests itself in the body.” 
~Irene Claremont de Castillejo

8 responses to “K… Giveaway Winner

  1. Crepitus just means that your joints are noisy 😉 the term refers to the noise itself. It can be caused by osteoarthritis or fractures, or dehydration if you’ve not got enough fluid in between your joints. It does happen to people who are very underweight, but other than that it’s mostly in people over 40, or professional athletes. Most of the time the cause is just wear and tear. So yeah, if you can hear your ankle creaking, that noise is crepitus, but the term crepitus doesn’t imply one particular condition so it’s not really an explanation for why your ankle hurts. Maybe you just sat with it in a weird position 😉 I do that all the time and then wonder how the heck I pulled a muscle in my calf/thigh/whereever!

    (information drawn from past occupational therapy lesson when one of our class who was 52 very loudly demonstrated this phenomenon for us 😛 )

  2. I LIVE for colorful meals. It brings a sense of excitement and enjoyment for me. 🙂

  3. Ack, I won?! Really?! I never win anything! That and it’s a little ironic that you’ll be sending me MORE goodies…I actually feel a little guilty :X
    heh, I’m not a big cucumber fan…unless they’ve been pickled 😉

  4. yay congrats to Jess!!! what a blast- i always love your giveaways ❤

    oh and i forgot to comment that they sell unsweetened carob chips in the bulk section of the health food stores here. i also know sunspire makes unsweetened carob chips as well. they can be hard to come by depending on where you live but i have found bulk food sections to have the biggest selections. it would be harder to find kosher companies and im not sure if sunspire is or not. hopefully u can get ur hands on some! ❤

    xoxo

  5. Happy 500 and congrats Jess!

    Those peppers are so tiny and cute. At least, they look tiny in the pic!

  6. Pingback: A T … and Sprouted Kamut Bread! |

  7. Pingback: I’m Through. |

  8. Pingback: Alphebruary Recap |

Leave a Reply

