My Face Hurts

Yep, you read that right.  My entire face hurts.  I don’t even know what hurts and what doesn’t, because it all feels the same!  It sort of feels like I’ve been punched in the face.  Not that I’ve ever actually been punched in the face, but I have been hit in the face with a baseball a couple of times, and come to think of it, that felt remarkably similar to how it feels now!  I’m not complaining, per se, because I definitely feel better than I did last Tuesday… but still.  I can’t figure out if I have a toothache or if it’s just the TMJ!  So… I’m going to see my dentist.  His associate, actually, who is the one in the office who deals with TMJ cases, but I would have had to see him anyway, since my dentist is on vacation.

I did, however, have a salad today that did not consist of cauliflower, tofu, and sugar snap peas.  Largely because I just didn’t have time to cook any of it yesterday.

romaine, baby bellas, Lightlife Italian style sausage, pea shoots

Yeah, good luck tossing this with the dressing… why must I pack the container so?!  And it took me f-o-r-e-v-e-r to eat this, because chewing hurts, and I can only take little baby bites.  I’m like an old lady, truly.

There is much to be done tonight before I can get to some sleep, which I need desperately — but I am currently sitting on my bedroom floor in all my chlorinated glory, because after I returned from a lovely, long-awaited swim, I found that my brother was in the shower.  I am not even joking when I say that the guy takes longer showers than I do!!  So blogging it is…

Since I’ve determined that the sprouted quinoa bread needs some added sweetness, I processed an egg white with some sugar-free apricot preserves, dipped the bread slices in them, and made French toast.

It was a pretty messy affair; I’ve found that whipping the egg whites until they’re nearly stiff makes for a coating that will separate from the bread (onto the pan) once cooked!  But I prevailed, and this was actually pretty good.  Not that I’m going to go through the hassle of making sprouted quinoa bread just for this, but it’s nice to know.

Because I have coconut milk kefir again, I decided to make some raita to have with falafel in a pita… not a pocket-less pita, this time.  (I still don’t understand the whole concept of that, by the way.)

The only problem is that now I have another five pitas to use, and I refuse to freeze them, because then they’ll just stay in the freezer forever.  What do I do with the rest of them?!…

You have just been spared a verbal vomit because the shower is now free!  So I will say instead that I am really, really ticked off that I need to take my laptop to school tomorrow.  And that I need to give a presentation, and I’m totally not prepared for it.  And this “banana bread protein cupcake” blew up to twice its size in the microwave, which I found hysterical, except that you can’t really see that in the picture.

Right, where was I?… shower.  I actually like the smell of chlorine, but I shudder to think of what it’s doing to my hair.  Off I go!

Do you like the smell of chlorine?

…And what do I do with five pitas?!

Happy Hump Day!

“The man who is swimming against the stream knows the strength of it. “
~Woodrow T. Wilson

5 responses to “My Face Hurts

  1. Haha my brother takes longer showers that I do, too! And he always manages to soak that stand-on mat. I don’t know how he does it or why he takes so long in that shower and quite frankly I don’t WANT to know. That protein muffin reminds me of a scone. Mmm I love scones. Maybe I should get me some protein powder…

    What do you do with five pitas? Pita pizzas? Toast them and cut them up into pita chips and they will be good dunked in hummus! Umm…yeah that’s all I can think of right now 😛

    I can’t stand the smell of chlorine! I love going to the beach and I don’t mind the smelly, sea-weedy pong that goes with that. Heck, I don’t even mind the odd “steppy in the doggy doo” incident every now and then. But chlorine gives me baaaaaad headaches. [Just to clarify, I don’t go out of my way to stand in dog poo. Unless it was the poo of a three-legged dog…maybe.]

    xxx

  2. I quite like the smell of chlorine, and I’m afraid that my use of pitta bread only extends to falafel or eggs! I stick to what I know 😛

    Here’s a weird coincidence – my whole face hurts too! I have had quite a bit of dental work done over the last month and my face keeps randomly hurting at various points throughout the day now. I think my nerves are traumatised, lol.

    Happy hump day 😛
    x

  3. I feel for you re: your brother & long showers. My sister takes eons. And of course it’s always right before you need to use the bathroom, right?! Right.
    Love the idea of mixing jam with the eggs for french toast. Why haven’t I thought of that?!
    I’ve noticed a lot of people make pita pizzas, as suggested above. You could make a meatball sub, too 🙂 Just don’t split it in half and put everything right in the middle so it’s more sturdy. Although my vote = make pita chips for hummus. Yummus.
    Good luck on the presentation today! You’ll do fine 🙂

  4. Having just been swimming, I can say that I’m on the fence when it comes to chlorine. The smell does seem oddly comforting, as if to serve as a reminder that the germs of everyone else in the pool are being thoroughly eliminated and bleached to death. It does wreck my hair though, and if I don’t shower at least twice afterwards then it seems to burn my stupidly sensitive skin.

    Five pitas? Erm, the only thing I used to make were pita pizzas too. Wish I could be of more help with that!
    xxx

  5. ahahah 5 pitas!! MAKE SOME HUMMUS AND SCARF THOS BABIES DOWN!!
    i love the smell of chlorine hehe

Leave a Reply

