Senioritis Stricken

After getting into bed before 9.45 PM yesterday, waking up multiple times in the middle of the night to pee, but having a somewhat restorative sleep, I had a banana split for breakfast.

Banana, plain unsweetened soy yogurt (half a packet of Truvia stirred in), the last of the Yogi granola crisps, and a sprinkle of fresh blueberries.  Making the slightest progress in finishing some cereal!

I’ve never actually had a banana split.  Ever.  But this was quite lovely, anyway.  It’s just too bad I didn’t have any cherries!

Yesterday, I felt like I had been run over by a semi… multiple times.  While I wouldn’t say I am 100% back to normal, now it feels like I’ve been run over by a pickup truck, and only once.  Progress, I suppose.

I had a very yellow salad today.

Romaine, delicata squash, tofu, and cauliflower, all roasted after being tossed in sweet paprika and turmeric… hence the golden hue.  Unfortunately, I think the squash was “off,” because it kind of gave me a stomachache.

But a pumpkin bran muffin came to the rescue.

I go months without making these, then I do and I wonder why I let it slide… because I love them!

I also drank about seven thousand gallons of water.  Okay, maybe not that much, but definitely more than you’d think the human body can hold.  I don’t know what is up with me — I am so freaking thirsty!

Even though I hate eating sandwiches, I was mildly excited about the cute little PBJs I packed for my break-between-classes dinnertime…

Primarily because they were made with my sprouted wheat berry bread.

Unfortunately, the excitement ended there.  Most of the six hours I spent in school involved a concentrated effort to not pass out; it was so hot and airless and I seriously could not breathe.  I freaking hate that building… can it just be May, already?!  I have the most acute case of senioritis ever.  I mean, it’s my last semester; can’t we just get it over with?!

Apparently not.  Have a look…

This is going to be oh-so-much-fun.  It’s actually the same professor I took way back when I first started graduate school, but that was a required course.  She’s an okay professor, I guess.  But she is Chinese.  I have absolutely nothing against Chinese people at all; I just have a very hard time understanding what she’s saying!!  Though I guess it doesn’t matter, since I probably wouldn’t understand her even if I could decipher her words.  And we need to bring our own computers.  Hello — this class takes place in a computer lab!  But no, I have to download all this crap onto my own laptop… and I can’t even take my netbook, because it won’t have enough space.  Great.

But it gets even better.  In my second class, the syllabus included this:

Midterms?  Exams?  Seriously??  I thought it was kind of an unspoken rule that in graduate school, papers > exams.  Ugh.  And another thing — the textbook for this course, which is insanely overpriced, is impossible to get anywhere.  The professor claims it’s available at a certain Barnes & Noble, but since there is no Barnes & Noble at that address, I’m not sure I can take her word for it…

I guess it’s “lucky” that I have a very boring departmental meeting tomorrow, then, because there are a couple of Barnes & Noble stores in that area.  Maybe I’ll get lucky and find a copy.  Because, well, there is absolutely nothing I’d rather do with my money than buy a completely irrelevant textbook, right?

Okay, I’m done complaining.  Except that this…

…is a clear sign that I need to get to sleep.  Like, now.  (See the dark circles under my eye?  Yeah, the camera is being kind here, believe me.)

Happy Thursday.

“Put a grain of boldness into everything you do.” 
~Baltasar Gracian

4 responses to “Senioritis Stricken

  1. I hope you get some sleep!!!! You have goooorgeous eyes, deary 🙂

    I think I’ve only ever had a banana split once or twice and honestly, it’s nothing to write home about. Would you believe that I’ve never had a PB&J sandwich in my life? I’ve never had a PB and anything sandwich to be exact. I wanna try it but I love having savoury sandwiches that it never crosses my mind! Oh well, one day.

    Textbooks are a bitch when it comes to shelling out hundreds of dollars for them. My most pricey textbook was a physics one which costed around $200 NZ which is apparently around $150 US (just googled it :P) but yeah. At least it was a good textbook!

    Take care of yourself 🙂

    xxx

  2. Aww, your sandwich was cute! I like pb+j much more than peanut butter on it’s own. Also textbooks are evil. Why do they have to be so expensive?! I hope you sleep better today 🙂
    xxx

  3. get some rest!! sounds super busy.. but i would be extremely excited about those pbjs too.. they look so good on that bread!

  4. Ditto on the gorgeous eyes – I’m jealous! Hope you were able to get a good night’s sleep last night 🙂
    Ugh – I get SO mad when I have to buy textbooks. Even cheaping out and buying an edition older, all the books I needed this year were still around $100…which is probably still really cheap compared to the one you need! You would think after all we pay to GO to school, they wouldn’t nail us with spending at least $500 in books for a couple of months.

Leave a Reply

