Stop the Presses

Had you walked into my house earlier this evening, you would have found me morosely munching on this:

chocolate Cheerios, banana, almond milk

Morosely, because it was about the time that I’d normally be getting ready to go to the pool.  And I really really really wanted to go swimming today.  Except that I kind of really really really don’t feel that fabulous, and I really really really can’t afford to be sick right now, since I am starting classes tomorrow.

So I did not go swimming.  Me.  Voluntarily.  And I hate that I feel guilty about that, since it makes me wonder whether I do go just because I enjoy it, or because I’m being compulsive about it.  (I’m also kind of annoyed because I don’t think I’ve been able to go to the pool more than two or three times since I renewed my membership… oh, two months ago?!)  I could have rationalized it — I’m only “sick from the neck up,” so I am technically good to go… since I think my thighs are so sore because walking along an endless expanse of black ice to get to work is quite difficult, as it turns out.  And that makes me feel very lazy.  I’m not actually going to get into all that right now, because my head hurts and thinking might just cause my brain to explode… the only things I want to do right now are take a hot bath and go to sleep!

So, real quick, then…

A couple of people asked for the recipe I used to make my pancakes.

Honestly, I think pancakes are one of the easiest things to make, because if the consistency of the batter is off, you can just keep adding in more things until you get it right!  That said, here’s what I did this time:

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • a little less than 1/3 cup plain soy yogurt
  • packet Truvia
  • 1/4 tsp. each baking powder and baking soda
  • pinch sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/4 cup almond milk

I beat all of the ingredients together using my mini whisk, then used a spoon to stir in a handful of fresh blueberries.  I cooked them on a hot non-stick pan over medium heat.  I got seven pancakes out of it because I am impatient, and the smaller they are, the faster they cook!  But I’m guessing that this amount of batter should yield about three “normal” sized pancakes.

This is me, exhibiting total class:

Sunflower seed butter on sprouted wheat berry bread (I love these mini loaves — so cute!)… on a high-end paper towel plate.  And awesomely crappy lighting, because I was too lazy to go to the lightbox.

A long, long, long, long, long, long, long day ensued… time seems to come to a standstill when you just want to go home and curl up in bed, you know??

I did, however, try a new-to-me vegetable, which always makes me happy:

pea shoots

I wrapped up some of it with Mountain bread and hommus… from a new container, obviously. 😉

Kleenex box in the background.  Just saying, the lotion-and-aloe tissues are pretty much one of the most awesome inventions ever.  Oh, yeah, the pea shoots; I liked them.  They were kind of like crunchier alfalfa sprouts.

Since I can’t get enough of tofu lately, I dry-fried some slabs last night, then apparently over-seasoned them with Bragg’s and garlic powder, since I couldn’t smell what I was doing. It doesn’t really matter, though, since I couldn’t really taste that it was over-seasoned, either!

So this is a major issue.  That was the last of my bulgur.  And while I’m supposed to be winnowing down the insane food stash here, I will replace the bulgur, because it’s probably my favorite grain.  The question is, do I buy another box of the bulgur I’ve been using until now? Or do I try this bulgur wheat with soy?  Help me out, here… I’m very indecisive, you know.  😉

As an aside, I wore these earrings today (recycled picture).

And it just struck me that they were so appropriate, in a totally cartoonish way — you know how a character gets bonked over the head, and then they’re “seeing stars”?  Yeah, I kind of felt that way all day.  And I will be 100% better by tomorrow, so I am off to get into that bath.  Which is probably cold by now (just like me!)…

Happy Hump Day!

“If I had my way I’d make health catching instead of disease.” 
~Robert Ingersoll

10 responses to “Stop the Presses

  1. It’s true: days really do drag on and on when you just want them to end! Again, I really hope you feel better soon! I am glad it’s more of a “nuisance” cold than a bed-ridden plague, though 😛
    Love the mini loaves! So cute!! As for the bulgur – I’m t he same. I’ll tell myself I won’t buy more ___ until everything else is gone – namely, flours and grains. But there’s some I just can’t do without! Bulgur is one of those things 😉 I’ve tried the bulgur with soy before and while it’s not bad, I prefer the normal kind. Nuttier flavor, better texture.
    And I feel awful that you were walking everywhere in the freezing rain just to mail the box!! I’m sure that didn’t help your cold any – so just blame me for it now, okay? haha.

  2. Thanks for the recipe! Looks super easy, too. I need to get myself a mini whisk 😉

    Hope you feel better soon! Well done for not going swimming, though. I remember the times when I would talk myself into exercising when I was sick and it WASN’T fun. In the end, it just made me sick for longer. Gah! Now i’ve learnt.

    Your earrings do remind me of when a cartoon character gets bonked over the head! Ahh, they’re so cool!! Love the quote 😛

    xxx

  3. Well done for not going swimming 🙂 I think that was a good idea too, and not exercising because you’re sick doesn’t make you lazy! You are one of the least lazy people I can think of. Baths are great, I quite often sit in boiling hot baths for a couple of hours when I feel like I’m coming down with something, artificially raising your body temperature helps kill the damn thing off more quickly (hence why your immune system does it for you sometimes!).

    I love your earrings 🙂 I have some dangly star earrings too, they are my favourites!
    xxx

  4. I’m always trying to use up the food stash, and it seems like every time I go to the grocery store I set myself back more than I’ve moved forward with the task that week. I understand!

    MAJOR props to you for taking a break from the swim even though it was a challenge. You deserve to take a break and let yourself heal, and it’s also more considerate of others to not risk spreading a virus around….I know making a decision like that and sticking to it is hard as hell though, glad you stuck with what you knew was the best rational choice.

    Good luck with the start of classes!

  5. Get well soon and good luck on the beginning your classes!
    And thanks for the pancake recipe. I just tried Truvia at a restaurant last Sunday and now I am going to the store today to buy some for myself!

  6. Good for you for listening to your body and knowing swimming just wasn’t in the cards. Good luck with classes tomorrow! I just bought my books a couple hours ago… I’m excited!

  7. Argh, I didn’t mean to suggest swimming in relation to ear-clearing properties to make you feel guilty! Absolutely the right decision not to go when you’re feeling ill ~ it’s not laziness! I kept swimming when I had a cold back in November and it took months to go, where as some of the other guys at the gym that had it rested and it went within a week. And your virus sounds far worse than mine ~ you don’t want a chill/flu!

    Chocolate Cherios always sound so lovely to me…I think having some with some warm rice milk and a soak in a hot bath would be my ideal sickness remedy. I really hope you did get that relaxing and warm soak in the bath and that you’re feeling better tomorrow!

    P.S Possibly my favourite earrings to date ~ simple yet stylish and beautiful, just like you (and I mean that sincerely, even though it sounds mushy)

  8. Pingback: Acupuncture = Awesome |

  9. Pingback: My Face Hurts |

  10. Pingback: Alphebruary, Day One |

Leave a Reply

