Achoo

It is so. damn. cold!!  It’s amazing that none of my limbs have frozen and detached themselves from my torso…

This morning, I found myself in Target bright and early to stock up on some pharmaceutical necessities.  I am also very aggravated, because, while it has never happened to me before, I am attributing to this annoying cold the fact that my ears seem to be perpetually clogged.  I do not like feeling deaf.

Oh, guess what happened today?  I made pancakes.

That’s a stack of blueberry pancakes… made with whole wheat pastry flour and soy yogurt.  I can’t even remember the last time I made “regular” pancakes (as in, pancakes sans protein powder)!  I didn’t eat them like that, though.

Please tell me I’m not the only one who has issues with wrestling a stack of pancakes and prefers to eat them singly?!

Then I got lazy and decided to see what would happen if I took a picture in my lightbox, but without bothering to use a background.

I’m sure you can see the result… the sides are much more visible.  Of course, I could crop them out, but I’m far too lazy to do that.  Besides, I had already expended so much effort on this — since massive salads, it turns out, are best served in bowls, not plates.

And I would leave you with this “plate bowl” (even though I think it should be called a “bowl plate”):

Variation number six thousand and seventeen.  Looks revolting, tastes anything but that.  And I forgot how much I love spaghetti squash!!

I said I would leave you with that, but I won’t because Katy tagged me with this Stylish Blogger Award!

These are the Stylish Blogger guidelines:
In order to accept this award you must do the following:

  •  Make a post and link back to the person who awarded you this award.
  •  Share 7 things about yourself.
  •  Award 15 other recently discovered fabulous bloggers!
  •  Contact these bloggers to alert them that they’ve won!

So… seven things?  That’s harder than it sounds!

  1. When I first discovered my favorite fragrance, it was because a guest had left behind a vial of it.  I thought it was a mens’ cologne.  (And yes, I wore it anyway.)
  2. I love the smell of baby powder.
  3. I think feet are really, really gross.  Any way you look at it, they just creep me out.
  4. Even though I was pretty much surgically attached to one in high school, phones make me nervous.
  5. I love cars.  At least, I used to love them, until it just got depressing to realize how many awesome ones I could never afford.
  6. I wish that my Earth Science class in high school had been an Astronomy class, because I find that fascinating.
  7. I have never eaten a grilled cheese sandwich.

I honestly don’t think there is a single person out there who hasn’t been tagged with this yet… but if you haven’t, I’m sorry for missing you, and have at it!  What’s something random about yourself that most people wouldn’t know?

And how on earth do I get my hearing back?!

Happy Tuesday.  😦

Torture numbers, and they’ll confess to anything.” 
~Gregg Easterbrook

12 responses to “Achoo

  1. 1. I m envious of your pancakes . Mine never turn out pretty .. Also I don’t eat them in a stack ,but stacks are nice for photo purposes 🙂
    2. i think you could make the sides in the photobox sans background photo un-noticable if you took it from on top a chair.
    3. I found my fav fragrance, Gap Dream ( no longer made so I use Dream More which is almost as good ) it was because it was in a purse I found :O
    Hate feet too.

  2. I can’t decide which is worse – having a clogged nose or clogged ears! It’s lose-lose if you ask me. No tips from me but I hope you feel better soon!
    I don’t get eating pancakes in stacks, either. I just feel like that’d equate to huuuuge bites and I’d hardly get to enjoy them.
    AAaand I seriously hate feet and also have a weird “relationship” with phones. I get nervous when they ring. Like, texts are okay…but if my cell phone or home phone rings, I always immediately think “uh-oh.” Either somebody’s hurt, I’m in trouble or something else bad has happened.
    One last thing: it was too cold for me to think today, too. -20 when I got in my car this morning was NOT cool.

  3. I love eating pancakes singley! What is your recipe?! It looks so good! I had pancakes for breakfast, too, but they were left over from the other day. Gotta love quick pancake breakfasts 😉

    Feet ARE really gross. I find them yucky, too haha.

    xxx

  4. i LOVEEEEE spaghetti squash!! i like to mix it with spinach, garlic, black pepper and paprika, yum 🙂

  5. sorreee about the cold, thats a big bummer 😛 the pancakes look great, i dont remember the last time i had one! could you email me a recipe for those? 🙂 have a happy week!
    Maddi

  6. Those pancakes look delish! I don’t eat them in a stack, either.. I like to take my time, and dip them into syrup and yogurt and all that good stuff.

    I also like the smell of baby powder 🙂

  7. ahah i eat pancakes individually too!! and i am so with you n number 3… feet are NASTTTYY

  8. I always want to make pancakes when I see yours…no other bloggers’ creations have that effect. They’re so neat and precise…if only I wasn’t so lazy with breakfast.

    Actually, I have never eaten American style pancakes.

    Oddly enough, swimming always seems to unclog my ears. But it’s not that appealing when it’s so cold!

    Get well soon

    xxx

  9. You’ve never had a grilled cheese sandwich?! Ah!
    I can touch my nose with my tongue!

  10. I think your ears are going to be blocked until your body decides to unblock them! Pippetting a couple of drops of olive oil into one and lying on your side for ten minutes (repeating on the other side if they are both blocked) can help if you do it over a few days. When you get a cold a high temperature can melt the wax in your ears and have it cover the canal, so putting oil into the canal can help the wax dissolve/get unstuck. Just don’t put q-tips in them, that is a bad idea for anyone other 5 years old!

    (Random TMI medical tips of the day…)

  11. Those pancakes look perfect! And I love eating them one by one, too. They last much longer that way. Otherwise they’re gone in 5 seconds flat.

  12. Pingback: Stop the Presses |

Leave a Reply

