Go Away, Winter

It’s official: I am sick of winter.

I’ve been forcing myself to gargle with salt water, which is gross but supposedly effective… and pre-emptively downing DayQuil like it’s my job.  I have a nasty sore throat, but so long as it doesn’t morph into a full-out cold, I’ll be satisfied.

Meanwhile, my kitchen has been keeping me busy.  I’m going to miss having the time for such things once the semester starts.  😦

First up:

sprouted barley

This was destined to become crackers, except that I wasn’t really sure how I’d make that happen!  Since I have some dates that I need to use, I decided to process them with the barley and see what resulted from that.  As an afterthought, I tossed in some cinnamon and a bit of sea salt.  Final product:

Oh, my goodness; these smell exactly like the cinnamon raisin cracker flats!  I stupidly didn’t grease the pan before baking them the first time around, so it was a battle to flip them over… and then I left them in the oven a little too long / at too high of a temperature, which is why they’re so dark.  I’d like them to be a bit thinner, but for a first try, they were pretty good.

To further aid my throat on its journey to recovery, I ate a couple of these with some butternut squash soup.

Wow — they even taste like the cracker flats!  Totally wasn’t going for that, but hey, that’s pretty awesome.  (You know, I wonder if I have to bother sprouting the grains for this…)

While I already had my food processor out, I whipped up another batch of sprouted wheat berry bread.

And while I was already using my KitchenAid mixer, I gave my new silicone muffin pans a try by making some pumpkin bran muffins, which I haven’t done in far too long.

And then it was time to curtail the fun stuff to make some actual food.

There is quite the collection of winter squash on my kitchen counter… several of which are pretty much begging to be used before they die.  So I used a sweet dumpling squash to make a variation of this curry recipe.  I left out the coconut milk, which sort of negates half of the curry-ness of it, but who cares?  And since the recipe didn’t say how many servings it’s supposed to yield, I just used it as a rough guideline and invented my own measurements.  I also added cubes of dry-fried tofu… and then ground some black pepper over it.  I’m still not used to how much stronger pepper is when it’s freshly ground!!

Remember when I got so excited about finding Mountain Bread?  I pulled the oat wraps out today.

I think the barley ones are better, but anyway…

I wanted to make a sprouts + hommus wrap.  Except that when I opened my new container of hommus, I was met with this oh-so-lovely sight:

Yum.  Anyone want some hommus??  …Gargling salt water suddenly doesn’t look so unappealing.

So I guess I should go do that, then.  😉  Happy Monday!  (It really is a happy one, because I don’t have to go to work… I get to go to Trader Joe’s instead.  Anyone want to give me a shopping list?!  ;))

“Preconceived notions are the locks on the door to wisdom.” 
~Merry Browne

6 responses to “Go Away, Winter

  1. ehh, is that mold on a new tub of hummus?! that’s bizarre! i’d be pretty angry if it happened to me!
    all of your baking looks SO good – which is making me even more excited for the bread 😛 The crackers look awesome – and very clever! – too.
    I was just thinking the other day how disappointed I was going to be once school starts up again, too. Although…I guess it’s not SUCH a bad thing…because I’ve been baking alllmost too much lately 😛

  2. awww im sorry your not feeling well, feel better :{ try drinking some honey diluted in hot water, does it every time for me :). those crackers look so yummy too! i used pressed dates to save me time from having to take the pits out. all the best hun 🙂

  3. Ewww, I’ve had some nasty hummus like that, too! Once, I bought some where they had put citric acid in it and IT FIZZED IN MY MOUTH! WTF?! Yeah, so I spat that out.

    I love all of your tofu creations. Make me some, yes? I’m glad your crackers came out yummy! I’ve never ever thought of making crackers. Maybe I should try some day…or you could just send me some 😉

    Feel better soon, my dear!!

    Oh and your tweet today cracked me up! I hope that every 3-legged dog you see reminds you of me 😀

    xxx

  4. aHH What happened to the hummus! such a bummer.. i would have been ANGRRYYYY! i need me my hummus 😀

  5. Wow, you have been busy in the kitchen!! Those crackers sound really good. I’ve never had cinnamon raisin cracker flats but no doubt they’re delicious!

  6. Pingback: Stop the Presses |

Leave a Reply

