Oriental Garden Pilaf + Veggie Monster

This is for those of you who were interested in the pilaf I posted yesterday!  I once had some celery left over from some recipe.  I hate celery.  So, in searching for a way to disguise it, I found this recipe for “Oriental Garden Pilaf” on the back of my barley box.  (Keep in mind that this is quick-cooking barley; if you use regular pearled barley, it will take a lot longer.)  The bold type indicates the amounts I used for a single serving.

  • 1 1/3 cups chicken broth (1/3 cup water boiled with Mrs. Dash)
  • 2/3 cup barley (1/4 cup)
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup carrot, thinly sliced (20g zygote carrots, chopped)
  • 1/2 cup celery, thinly sliced (40g)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced (1/4 clove)
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms, sliced (40g)
  • 1/4 cup green onion, sliced (20g yellow onion)
  • 1 -2 tablespoon soy sauce (1/2 tablespoon)

In medium saucepan, bring chicken broth to a boil.  Stir in barley; reduce heat. Cover and simmer 10 to 12 minutes, or until tender.

In large skillet, heat oil.  Cook carrots, celery and garlic over medium-high heat 2 to 3 minutes.  Add mushrooms and green onions; continue cooking 1 minute.  Add cooked barley and soy sauce; mix well.  Continue cooking over medium heat until heated through.


Today was quite veggie-tastic.  Not that I mind, of course.  😉  But before I get into that, here is today’s take on the sprouted wheat berry bread:

Same as yesterday, really, except that I added some banana slices, made a sandwich, and stuck it on the Foreman.  Seriously — if I didn’t feel like I “can’t” eat the same thing multiple times in one day, I probably would have finished the entire loaf long ago.  Um… I’m spreading out the goodness??  Actually, I can’t wait until it gets stale enough for me to make French toast out of it!

Plodding along in my quest to finish some of the cereal and granola around here, I poured some Yogi granola crisps over soy yogurt.  Since, you know, I can kind of use all the probiotics I can get right now.

I usually mix some Truvia with the unsweetened yogurt, because otherwise I find it way too tangy; but I figured that the granola crisps are so sickeningly sweet on their own that it was probably unnecessary.  I was right.

And then the Veggie Monster attacked.

Sugar snap peas, cauliflower, hommus.  I forgot that I actually like cauliflower this way — lightly steamed in the microwave — because I was so enamored of roasting it!  This is a lot faster and easier, that’s for sure…

Most people either love or hate mushrooms.  I am, and always have been, firmly fixed on the former side.  But this was my first time trying fresh shiitakes.  I picked them up in Trader Joe’s over the weekend, along with a jar of black peppercorns with a built-in grinder.  (Actually, I wanted the pink Himalayan sea salt, but of course there weren’t any on the shelf…)  I roasted these for about ten minutes after tossing the slices with sea salt, the aforementioned pepper, and a drop of peanut oil.

This was probably not the most frugal purchase, but these little carrots were so adorable, I couldn’t help myself.  I roasted them with peanut oil and sea salt.  Despite looking a wee bit wrinkly, they were delicious.  (There is a recipe for vanilla glazed carrots on the bag… as a self-proclaimed vanilla lover, I am intrigued.  But I don’t do butter.  This isn’t an ED thing; I never had butter in my life prior to going IP, and when I finally did try it, I nearly threw up at the vile taste.  Besides, it’s dairy.)  I’m going to have to figure something out…

Moving on from vegetables to dry fried tofu!

Similar marinade mix to yesterday; sugar-free apricot preserves, Frank’s, and water.  I just reversed the marinate / cooking order; after “dry frying,” I poured the marinade over the tofu and refrigerated it overnight.  Both ways were good, but I can’t choose a favorite, because I am in one of those I can’t get enough of tofu phases, so it’s all pretty much the same to me.  😉

This, by the way, is what I saw when I got to work this morning:

Locked out… again.  No security guard… again.  He did show up about ten minutes later.  I guess I can just stop coming so early, at least until the regular guard comes back!

What really sucks, though, is that I won’t know until after 6.00 AM tomorrow whether I have to go to work.  At 6.00, I am already up and about.  If I don’t have to go to work, I’d like to at least try to sleep in.  Not to mention that I don’t know whether I need to make lunch to take to work with me.  And if we really do get a massive snowfall, I guess that means I won’t be going to my nutrionist appointment… which means, among other things, that I will be banana-less again!  Ugh… I hate it when things are all up in the air like this.

And I couldn’t go swimming tonight, either, because we can’t risk losing our parking space… since it’s on the “right” side of the street so that we won’t get plowed in.  That is, if the plows deign to come around this time.  (PS, I still have not received my package!!!!!!!!!!!)

Happy Hump Day.

“Moral indignation is jealousy with a halo.”
~H.G. Wells

7 responses to “Oriental Garden Pilaf + Veggie Monster

  1. All those meals look so delicious! Very fresh 🙂 I haven’t had cauliflower in a long time besides straight up raw at a party but I do love roasted..I should try the simply steamed way like you mentioned.

    It does suck not knowing whether or not you have to be somewhere until you’re already out and about. That always happened to me when classes are cancelled except I usually find out by getting to the class and realizing nobody else is there..

  2. That recipe looks really easy and delicious! And those carrots look really tasty. I love wrinkly carrots. They are DA BOMB!

    Hope you receive that package soon. This is just getting silly!

    xxx

  3. Pingback: Go Away, Winter |

  4. Pingback: Stop the Presses |

  5. Pingback: Acupuncture = Awesome |

  6. Pingback: BRRRRRR!! |

  7. Pingback: My Poor Back |

Leave a Reply

