2011

While everyone was out partying it up for New Year’s Eve, I was fast asleep.  Because I am an old lady… and also because I am sort unavailable on Friday nights. I must say, though, being asleep was inifinitely more relaxing than what I endured last year on December 31!

Okay, that isn’t entirely true.  Because something else happened, too, which kind of sucked.  And even though I don’t view myself as a very “secretive” person (despite the secrets my mom inexplicably believes I harbor), I really don’t want to get into it, so you’ll just have to trust me on that one.

Moving on!

A couple of reviews…

This is actually from a couple of weeks back — I think I ate it the day I returned from my vacation!  It wasn’t really very good, though… pretty tasteless, and kind of watery.  Oh, well.  You live, you learn.

And since it’s a weekend and I went to Trader Joe’s yesterday, I picked up a box of these:

While they weren’t anything mind-blowing, they were fairly decent.  I’d buy them again if I needed ice cream sandwiches, since they’re about half the price of “name brands” … but why aren’t they available in any other flavor besides chocolate??

I randomly bought this in Trader Joe’s, too.

To be honest, I don’t think they really taste like cinnamon at all.  They’re tasty enough — not “addictive” as Trader Joe’s claims, but then again, I’m not exactly a nut-lover — but I feel like the taste of the sugar overrides the cinnamon!

A little under a year ago, I purchased whey protein powder.


This sad little circle of pancakes used up the last of it.  (Such a little bit was left, in fact, that I had to supplement with peanut flour and cottage cheese.  Hmph.)  When I went to buy more, I discovered that the health food store in my neighborhood no longer carries the one-pound tubs, and if I wanted whey protein, I’d need to buy two pounds of it.  Considering that it took me nearly a year to get through a single pound… and did I mention that two pounds of protein powder costs nearly $50?!  Yeah, needless to say, I am still sans whey protein powder.

I know that I can get it in Whole Foods for, like, $10.  But I can’t use that one.  I’m hoping to be able to find the one-pound tub elsewhere, which might actually be a possibility, since my dad managed to get the car out of the garage tonight!!  Now I just have to beg and plead to be allowed to take it tomorrow.  My mom is more of a problem there — because she won’t drive in less-than-perfect conditions, she thinks I ought to be afraid of it, too.  Whatever.

Another example of why people like me should not eat foods that are warmer than room temperature:

English muffin, salsa, Daiya.  I totally burned my mouth on this.  So what do you think I did tonight?

Had it again, of course.  Burned my mouth again, of course.

I tell you… I never learn.

It’s been a really long while since I’ve posted a picture like this — these are conch shell earrings that I bought in Mexico, and they are oddly very heavy!

Apologies that this post is sort of discombobulated… partly because my mom just came in to harrass me about the issue I did / didn’t mention above.  Rub it in, rub it in.  Do you consider yourself a “secretive” person?

And with that, I hope you’ve all had a wonderful New Year’s Day!  Happy Sunday…

“I think in terms of the day’s resolutions, not the year’s.” 
~Henry Moore

4 responses to “2011

  1. ahahah oo im curious! i am kind of secretive about certain things, but other things I am the complete opposite!

  2. I ALWAYS burn my mouth on hot food so I prefer not to eat hot food haha. The main culprits are soup, toasted sandwiches, chilli, custard (only around Christmas time haha) just to name a few. I’m sure that there are more but it’s not reeeeeeeeally all that important. Suckaroonies about your whey powder though! It always happens like that though. You get really accustomed to a product and then they no longer sell it *shakes fist*. Darn indecisive food maker people!!

    I’m not very secretive. I have twitter. Anyone that has a twitter account cannot be secretive. It’s much too difficult to try and not share your lifes stories on that damned social networking site!

    xxx

  3. I burn my mouth on hot food all the time, I keep meaning to be more careful (I’m paranoid about mouth cancer since my uncle got it – he never smoked or drank but he was awful for drinking boiling hot tea. I’m sure that’s just me being a hypochondriac though!) but I can’t help myself 😛 I like my food really hot! I’m sorry to not-really-hear about the secret thing 😦 anything that causes parents to repeatedly hassle you has to be stressful. Stuff like that always seems to happen at the most inopportune time. Case in point: I locked myself out of my house without my mobile phone or purse on NYE 😛 worst possible time to do such a thing. I’m rambling, sorry, will give you a cyberhug and shush now! x

  4. Pingback: A Day of Ouches |

Leave a Reply

