Felled By Citrus

Looks like I’m not the only one to stress over something like mistakenly being undercharged for something — guess I’m not quite as crazy as I thought!  😉

pretty, pretty white snow, huh?

Because of this lovely snow, I don’t want to wear my Ugg boots; I spent too much money to ruin them!  So I wore wellies instead, but I was wearing socks that were way too thin, and my feet were freezing, and the back of my heels were being rubbed raw.  Enter this essential purchase:

slipper socks!

I do love me some anti-skid socks.  😉  Of course, stuffing my feet into my boots with two pairs of socks on presented a challenge when it came to boot removal, but hey, you can’t have everything.

All I can say right now is this: what a day.  Mr. J is for the books.  He e-mailed me a project, which I can’t actually do, since I’ve never learned how to create something like that from scratch.  But, fine, I’ll give it a shot.  I went about as far as I could go with it, then I showed it to a co-worker.

See, Mr. J doesn’t really know what to do either.  So he told me to have this co-worker check it, and then to show it to him [Mr. J].  To make a long story short, this co-worker helped me fix it up, and according to him, now it looks fine.  Along comes Mr. J, printout in hand, wanting to know, “What’s this?  Why is that there?”  Uhhh… because [my co-worker] told me to put it there?!  “Oh, okay, if he said it should be that way…”

Tried this today:

Also definitely not worth three bucks.  But I wonder how I can make those “soy crisps” so that I can replicate this sort of bar… anyone!?

So, yeah, about that citrus thing.  Like I said, I really can’t eat too much of it.  Between repeating yesterday’s breakfast…

recycled photo, because it looked exactly the same

…after which I was in agony, you’d think I would know better than to include pineapple with dinner.

pineapple, sweet potato, red onion

But, you see, I found a package of pineapple tidbits in my basement the other day.  And it expired in November.  So I’ve been trying to use it up quickly, but the remaining two cups will just have to wait.

And since I’m in the citrus spirit, this fit right in.

Orange and cream yogurt (pretty much the only flavored yogurt I now like) and a toasted, crumbled orange cranberry mini muffin.  (See what I mean when I say that after going into my freezer, things tend to overstay their welcome?!  It’s like a bottomless pit in there.)

And since I seem to be somewhat of a Muffin Monster of late:

It’s a banana protein muffin!  (Plain protein powder, mashed banana, egg white, Truvia, baking powder, cinnamon, and banana extract.)

Before I segue into some severe verbal vomit, I must show you what I found today.

That would be the post office I was seeking yesterday.

Okay, so, here is my dilemma.  I’m sure you are familiar with the adage “eat breakfast like a king, lunch like a queen, and dinner like a pauper.”  I feel like with me, that is totally reversed.  I probably consume at least two-thirds of my daily calories after I get home from work.  Which doesn’t sound so terrible, until you consider that I am awake for about five hours then, as opposed to the twelve hours prior.  And I find that it’s physically uncomfortable for me to eat right before bed, so it’s really less than five hours.

This is a problem for several reasons.  I won’t go into them too much, because that would take forever, but I feel like it’s partly coming from a disordered perspective (the “saving my calories” thing, and not wanting to eat in public places).  And as much as I find it uncomfortable to go to sleep on a full stomach, it’s equally uncomfortable to eat a lot in one sitting!  This has been bugging me for a while, though, so I really need to resolve the issue.  And that ramble probably made no sense, but I’ll just call it a “stream of consciousness” and leave it at that.

Random question: is there someone you know whom everyone seems to absolutely adore, but you absolutely can’t stand?  I know of a few people who just strike me as so… fake, I guess, but because everyone else seems to think they’re the greatest thing since sliced bread, I feel I’m kind of insane for having a different opinion, like I’m the problem.

So, to recap, three questions:

  1. How do I create “soy crisps”?
  2. How to solve this “king / pauper” thing with minimal hassle?
  3. Do you not love someone everyone else seems to adore?

As for the New Year… well, I guess my vacation is tomorrow.  So this is what I did today before I left work:

Goodbye, 2010.

Happy Friday.

“New Year’s Day:  Now is the accepted time to make your regular annual good resolutions.  Next week you can begin paving hell with them as usual.” 
~Mark Twain

9 responses to “Felled By Citrus

  1. I used to eat most of my food at night like you do and I would go to be completely bloated. Basically, one day I just ate more during the day and it made me not want to eat as much at night. For instance, I would snack more instead of having just “small meals”. Its a scary thought when you eat a lot of calories during the day at the beginning, but then you realise it all evens out and you feel better for it. I don’t know if anything that I’ve said here makes sense at all but I used to be in the same boat 🙂 It’s just a matter of adding in more food throughout the day so you don’t “overeat” at night. It’s not exactly overeating. But yeah.

    Oh gosh, YES! I know quite a few people that others love but I can’t stand. I guess from my years of sitting back and watching people, I’ve begun to understand why people do what they do and see how people interact with others. There is just something about these people that get on my nerves – well, used to, anyhow. It was mostly because these people were really happy and bouncy people and I was a really grumpy bitch so I think I was just jealous that I wasn’t happy like them. haha. Who knows?!

    I can’t really stand citrus either! I only really like squeezing lemon juice on things or having the odd glass of orange juice but I can’t really eat the whole fruit. It’s crazy. It makes my stomach sting!

    xxx

  2. i cant help ya with the eating at night thing because i do the same thing…if my job wasnt so pysically hard and in the evening i probably woudlnt…but really in order for me to make it thru work i have to be constantly fueling myself…and for question 3, yes that has happened…and usually people see my point of view after a longer amount of time…its rather interesting!
    tootles!
    Maddi

  3. 1. No idea, sorry! Interesting idea though, let us know if/when you succeed 😉
    2. I hate to say it but I think the best way is just to make a plan and force yourself to stick to it for a couple of weeks. I used to be terrified of eating after a certain time so most of my calories were consumed in the morning and I was always going to bed hungry. As with all those sort of rules the only way out of it was straight through it :/ which wasn’t pretty because I spent the first two evenings terrified that eating larger meals so “late” would make me sick – but of course it didn’t, and I stopped being so scared after the first couple of times. Good luck!
    3. Ahem. Sometimes 😛 Quite often if you’re thinking that about someone there will be others thinking the same thing and not saying anything for the same reason!

    Also, muffins rock!
    x

  4. don’t compare yourself to other people or other standards. who cares how they eat– i’m sure they do abnormal things when you’re not looking… bc let’s be serious, who’s to define what’s ‘normal’ these days?

    loving the slipper socks. i need me a pair ha
    wishing you a happy healthy and safe new years eve!

  5. I love socks like that with boots! And so my toes don’t get cold in my apt 🙂

    Happy New Year!

  6. Pingback: A Day of Ouches |

  7. Pingback: National Spaghetti Day |

  8. Just now catching up on blogs after the holidays, so I’m late to this one, but I TOTALLY get the issue with timing and proportioning of meals. I definitely fall into that trap as well, although with me breakfast is tiny, lunch is uncomfortably big, and dinner is mediumish I guess. But there were times when 75% of my daily food was consumed within about 3 hours of the day, late afternooon/evening. Might be worth a “trial period” of shuffling calories out to show yourself how much better it feels to have more energy earlier in the day, though, sometimes we don’t even realize how crappy and dragged out we are until we make changes and experience the difference…anyway, just wanted to let you know that someone gets it, hang in there!

  9. Pingback: Pink Pancakes |

Leave a Reply

