Snowed In

…Quite literally!

Okay, that’s not my house, that’s my neighbor’s front door… he was stuck inside because the screen door opens out toward the street.  I wasn’t actually snowed in per se, because after waking up at 4.45 AM (on a day when I didn’t have work — not cool), lying around + giving up on more sleep + ellipticizing, I did this at 6.30:

My back is sore.  I don’t actually mind shoveling all that much, but A) we need a new shovel, and B) when a gust of wind comes along and blows all the fine powdery snow off the shovel and back into your face?  Yeah, that isn’t much fun either.  So I thought a well-earned breakfast was appropriate after all that.

Cottage cheese, pumpkin, egg white, whole wheat pastry flour, baking powder, pumpkin pie spice.  The thing about cottage cheese pancakes is this: when you think they’re done, leave them on the flame a little longer.  And when you really think they’re done?  Leave them even longer than that.  And then you end up with lovely pancakes.  (Which I topped with creamy almond butter mixed with sugar-free syrup.)

I love my camera.  Mother Nature evidently didn’t get my  memo that we were supposed to have a snow-free winter, but I was happy that I got to take some pictures of the white stuff before it turns into grey sludge.

I was a little less happy when I went to the store for my mom, stepped in a snowbank that sent a bunch of snow down the top of my boot, took my boot off to shake out the snow, and replaced it to find that there was a big clump of snow in the front of my toe.  Brrrr!!  My mom and I were going to go to buy a birthday present for my sister, but after our very similar experiences, we decided maybe we ought to just stay home.

So, in effect, I’ve pretty much been sitting on my butt for the past week and a half.  I’m feeling very lazy and “blobby,” but whatever.  I don’t have work tomorrow, either, because the snowplows just never really made it around!  I’m fairly certain that means my gym won’t be open either, so my streak of laziness continues.  Not.  Pleased.

So, rather than focusing on that, I’m going to count my blessings that I went on vacation last week instead of this week, because if I’d booked a ticket for yesterday, A) I wouldn’t have gone anywhere, but if I had, B) I would have missed out on my days off work.

And about the vacationing thing — I have more problems than usual when meeting a luggage weight limit, because I have to take food with me, as most of the places I go diving tend not to be very kosher-friendly!  Some people have asked me how I manage that, so here’s a quick little response to that, in no particular order.  (Note: I am obviously not picturing everything.)

To-go cups of cereal, individual serving cartons of almond milk.  I don’t actually love this brand of almond milk, but the store didn’t have the soy milk cartons I wanted.

Because I don’t always know what the situation will be in terms of being able to get my hands on some fruit, I try to take something like that along with me.  I was quite pathetically excited to try this out:

It tastes like applesauce.  And cinnamon.  But it’s so much fun to suck it out of a pouch!  Yes, I’m five years old.

As it turned out, there was a fruit platter in the lobby every day, so I snagged a banana.

I’m really glad I didn’t slice it up and put it in the cereal.  I took one bite and threw it in the trash — it was the nastiest banana I have ever tasted!!  Mealy and bitter and just… yuck.

Some sort of bread product (I’m in love with these mini whole wheat pitas of late), along with nut butter packets.  (The first time I went on a solo vacation, I took an entire jar.  Then again, I didn’t have all my own scuba gear back then.)

I used to take either canned beans (Eden Organic, usually) or self-heating meals like this, and a couple of times, when I knew I’d have a microwave, I took this, but that can get complicated since the microwave itself isn’t kosher.  All of these problems were solved when I stumbled across these quinoa bowls in my local health food store.  Add some canned vegetables and beans to it, along with some seasoning, and you have something that resembles something I’d actually eat in “real life.”

Because of that, I wasn’t so sick of “travel food” by the time I got home.  Still, I always appreciate having a kitchen in which to work again!  Especially when it is so. damn. cold…

Whole wheat hot cereal with freeze-dried strawberries.  This was better in theory than in execution: the strawberries took on this weird, rubbery-ish chewy texture.  The next venture was much more successful!

Whole wheat hot cereal, pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice, sunflower seed butter.  I actually don’t really like putting nut butters in hot cereal, because I feel like it gets lost in there, but that didn’t happen with this.  (Must be because it’s in a sunflower bowl.  Ha.  Ha.  Ha.)

One thing that I really missed was my tofu.  I still can’t believe I used to be scared of tofu!  (Not in a disordered way; in an “I have no idea how to deal with this thing” way.)  So this was in order:

Stir fry with snow peas, baby bellas, baby peppers, tofu, and shirataki noodles.  I actually don’t like to use tofu in stir fries because then it tends to fall apart, but this wasn’t too bad.  I needed to use oil, remember, and this was the easiest way. I actually used peanut oil, and I am happy to report that it did not taste like a Chanukah menorah.

Okay, full disclosure, I actually needed to use those peppers.  I bought a huge bag of them not long before I left, and my brother was all excited about them and said that he’d finish them, so I didn’t worry about finishing the bag myself before I left.  I came home to discover that he hadn’t actually eaten them, and let’s just say they’ve seen better days!  Hence, I’ve been eating peppers like mad lately.  (Um, they’re also in the salad I packed to take to work today, and will probably remain so until Wednesday.)  However, I believe I can leave all the pepper-popping for another post, because this one is already far too long!

In the meantime… happy Tuesday!  (I’m pretty sure there will be no pool happening for me tomorrow, either.  Sob!)

Did you have a snow day today?

“A man’s health can be judged by which he takes two at a time – pills or stairs.”  ~Joan Welsh

5 responses to “Snowed In

  1. I was COMPLETELY snowed in yesterday, we got over 12 inches, a record. I was also unable to make it to the gym and pretty anxious about that, so I sympathize. But remember that a few days really aren’t that significant, I hope you’re able to relax and do something you enjoy with the time off work.

    I am fascinated by these self-heating meals. I am going to have to order some for upcoming trips, not because they’re kosher but because I hate having to find things that need neither a fridge or a microwave. Tuna sandwiches get old fast.

    I hope you have a great week. ❤

  2. yummy pancakes!! i totally love nut butter in my oats! i save it for last hehe

  3. I’ve had a really relaxed week so far, too! At first I felt like you described, but now I’m just sort of enjoying it 🙂 That and…shoveling snow is no easy task. I sort of enjoy it, but I hear you on the a. it kills your back and b. yesterday was especially difficult given how windy it was!!
    I am finally beginning to enjoy tofu, too!! I’m not sure if I was just using a bad brand before, but I tried a new kind from around here, and I had this revelation sort of like “wow…I think I actually DO like tofu!” haha. Either that or now I actually know what to do with it 😉
    And yes – you are lucky your trip was last weekend! Otherwise you probably wouldn’t have left the airport :X

  4. oh my gosh my back is SO sore from shoveling yesterday! talk about a strength work out haha

    stay warm 🙂

  5. It must be so crazy going from sunny Mexico to freezing cold snow! No snow for me 😉 Although the winds have been blowing 160 km/hr (I don’t know what that is in mph but it’s STRONG). Hope your back feels better 🙂

    I just realised I haven’t had tofu in so long!! I must make some soon, sheesh. Been too long 😛

    xxx

Leave a Reply

