Off I Go

For some reason, I woke up on Tuesday morning thinking it was Sunday.  That was weird.

But I do have to say that one benefit of my new office location is that I have a shorter commute.  Not by much — only about ten minutes or so — but that, coupled with the fact that I now go to a gym that is much closer and opens later, means that I get to sleep in more.  I opted to actually only get an additional ten minutes, even though I leave the house about half an hour later than I used to, and use the extra time to just have a less frazzled morning since I hate to feel rushed.

This means that I have time to diffuse my hair (it looks better when I do, but I have no patience and so I usually let it air-dry… not an option when it’s so cold outside!).  It also means that I have time to make breakfast.  I really do love cereal, and I used to eat it every single morning, but then when my house was invaded I hid it all and it was a pain to dig it out every day, so yesterday was the first morning in weeks that I’ve actually had cereal.  Instead, things like this have happened:

Bad picture.  Apologies.  I am going to make a light box, really!!  Anyway.  Oat bran with egg white cooked in, topped with apple butter and raw cashews.  My oat bran is apparently “best by 093010.”  Oops.  At least the box is almost finished.  I think those cashews were “sell by 103010,” too.  A bowl of expired oat bran… but it tasted just fine.  :p

I have a few “reviews” to toss at you…

Trader Joe’s mango sorbet.


Honestly, I did not like this, but I wasn’t expecting that I would; I bought it for my brother.  And he is going to finish this, which basically tastes like a frozen sugary mango.

Next up…


Smart Fries, honey mustard and onion
.

Mustard overload!!  I could really taste the mustard here, which is good, because lately I can’t enough of the stuff.  (I actually used to hate it.  Long story, which I’m sure you don’t care about, so I won’t bother typing it.  :p)

And finally…


Crystallized ginger
, which I bought before my last day of classes on Monday… since I had to give two killer presentations, and presentations + me = anxiety.  And anxiety = unsettled stomach.  Which ginger supposedly helps ease, even though I don’t think it means ginger coated in sugar!  And oh my gosh, but this was spicy.  Totally wasn’t expecting that.  I made my heat-loving brother taste it.  (He said he felt like he was “eating a flower.”  To my knowledge, he’s never actually eaten a flower, so I have no idea how he would know what that tastes like, but okay…)

And I have to report that I have been successful in finishing the penne:


Baked with red peppers, TVP, pasta sauce, Daiya cheddar, and some other random things I’m sure I’m forgetting.  Next up: the shells. (Would someone please explain to me why I have so many boxes of pasta?!)

And, on the side, something that kind of pissed me off.

Romaine, sweet baby peppers, and cucumber.  What pissed me off was the dressing… white wine vinegar, black pepper, lots of garlic salt … and olive oil.  I do not like greasy vegetables!!  At least, I’m pretty sure I don’t.  I shouldn’t devote such huge amounts of thought to it.

I was going to share a recipe for peanut butter prownies.  (No, that is not a typo.)  However, my photo of it is absolutely astonishing in its sheer ugliness, so I will hold off on that one until I have a better picture.

In the meantime, I am going to dash off to my nutrition appointment.  Then I get to skip next week, because I am going on my (very much needed!!!!!!) vacation.  If you can guess where I’m going, I’ll, um… send you a postcard?  (Doesn’t count if you already know!)

So I guess the question is… where am I going?

Happy Thursday… week’s almost over!!!

“Usually, terrible things that are done with the excuse that progress requires them are not really progress at all, but just terrible things.” 
~Russell Baker

5 responses to “Off I Go

  1. I’m awful at eating expired foods, too 😛 I buy boxed stuff ad sometimes I don’t open it right off. I figure if it’s not something like yogurt or whatever it’s fine 😉
    Your baked penne looks SO good!! Between you and my co-worker having goulash, I’m seriously craving pasta now 😛
    I hope you have a wonderful vacation!!

  2. I am very jealous of your daiya, it’s STILL not available over here. Humph. I really hope you enjoy your vacation 😀 I’m looking forward to the photos already!

  3. MUSTARD! MUSTARD! MUSTARD! is all i can think about right now 🙂 :):):)

    and yay! cashews!

  4. I just read that in a magazine that ginger helps an upset stomache. Actually it was Parent magazine and suggested it for kids. Maybe adults need something a little more stronger? Haha 🙂

  5. Pingback: Peanut Butter Prownies |

Leave a Reply

