Keyless Exit

Before we actually had one, I thought keyless cars were the coolest thing ever.  Now I think they’re just annoying.  But this post is not about cars.  It is about office keys.  My office key, in particular.

In short: I woke up at 4.30 this morning, for no reason whatsoever.  I was happy it was Tuesday, at least, and I’d get my acupuncture nap.

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

We were all supposed to go turn in our old office keys, get our new ones, and report to the new location.  Except that when I came back from the acupuncture clinic, I found this on my desk:

"no keys till later -- we all left early for the day"

Don’t ask what I went through to figure out what on earth I was supposed to do… leave, yes, but where do I go tomorrow?!  And I couldn’t go home, anyway, because I had an appointment with my therapist in the afternoon.  So I had a lot of fun making phone calls, which is not as easy as it sounds, because even if I didn’t hate talking on the phone, the reception is pretty crappy in my office!  Anyway, I wasn’t about to carry Molly all over town, so I decided to do what my co-worker did.

really? that's a plant? you don't say...

Except that the office was pretty bare; no boxes, hardly any tape.  I had to make do somehow:

Poor Molly.  I hope she’s okay.

Anyway, I had a lot of time to kill, so I went to the bank to deposit my paycheck and sign up for online banking, since I just started getting direct deposit; that means I pretty much never have to go to the bank again!  Yay!  And then I went to my third Whole Foods of the day.  While I was there, my therapist called me back to tell me that the person whose appointment was before mine had to reschedule at the last minute, so at least I had one less hour to waste.

Some of the oh-so-exciting Whole Foods purchases:

  • Coconut milk kefir (did you know this stuff now comes in chocolate?), which I’ve been meaning to buy for so long that I don’t even remember anymore why I wanted it, and I’m not quite sure what to do with it
  • Protein powder — I went with this one because it has the shortest ingredients list, but I think I may buy the Genisoy too… I’m going through protein powder like crazy lately
  • Aubrey Organics normalizing shampoo and conditioner, which I’ve been using ever since my stylist expressed total horror that I wasn’t using a normalizing shampoo after swimming or diving
  • Carrot cake Larabar, even though I’m not sure I want to try it; I hate coconut!
  • Peach mango salsa, because I am a sweet sister and my brother loves mango
  • And this clever little Chicobag, which opens up to this:

It’s my new best friend.

Anyway, I believe I’ve decided that the stir fry in my refrigerator is going to be consumed cold.  But I didn’t actually end up eating it today.  It’s going to chill out for a couple of days, because since I got home much earlier than expected, I decided to use the time to try out a recipe I’ve been meaning to get to…

Vegan pumpkin penne!  With olive oil, of course.  Was that three times this week, or four?… I’ve lost track.  Anyway, it was really good!

But if you think that was enough vegetables for me, you’re wrong.

Rainbow carrots and cucumber with the abovementioned peach mango salsa, which I absolutely loved, despite my not liking mango.  And can I just say, having not eaten raw carrots (except for baby carrots) in years, that they are hard to chew?!  And also oddly bitter.

Here’s part of the reason why I am using so much protein powder:

Chocolate protein powder, mashed banana, egg white, Truvia, and a bit of water. (And I just realized that I forgot the baking powder, which explains a lot.) Microwaved, halved, and serving as a vehicle for sunflower seed butter.  Hey — if you use unflavored powder, you could technically end up with “bread,” right?… intriguing thought!

This is pretty random, but a few weeks ago, we had some people staying in my house.  When they left, this was still here.

At first, I thought it wasn’t kosher, so I was going to give it to my co-worker.  But then I realized it was kosher, albeit with a symbol I didn’t recognize.  So it just lounged around for a while until I was able to figure out what it was, and then I finally tried it today.  I’ve never actually had kettle corn before in my life, but I liked it quite a bit — in fact, I might actually go buy some more!

Tomorrow should be another “fun day” … supposedly the keys will be ready.  But I have an appointment with my endocrinologist in the morning.  (Yes, I am just oh-so-excited.)  Which means that I can’t go to the gym, either.  I am not happy about that.  (My therapist, on the other hand, is thrilled.  Not because I over-exercise, but because I am too “rigid.”  Hmph.)  It’s really rather annoying not to know where / when you’re going to work … and not to have a computer all day!  Ahhh!!

The debut of one of the pairs of earrings I bought last week:

And even though I could probably go on forever, I think I will shut up.  But first, questions:

  • What on earth do I do with my kefir?
  • Have you tried the carrot cake Larabar?… Can you taste the coconut?
  • Will I get my key tomorrow?!
  • 

“The modern sympathy with invalids is morbid.  Illness of any kind is hardly a thing to encourage in others.”
~Oscar Wilde
(um…)

6 responses to “Keyless Exit

  1. never had kefir. maybe try it over cereal? or bake with it?

    I AM JEALOUS YOU GOT IT! but i’m so happy you texted me that you got it (the cc larabar. i must venture out to far off whole foods to find it. STAT)

    i’m saying…yes. on the key.
    xoxoxo

  2. Note: The chocolate coconut keifer is gross…dont waste your money!

  3. grrr, so jealous you ca find the plain kefir! haha. I like just pouring it over oats/cereal/granola…or on top of one of your protein cake thingies!!
    I love the carrot cake larabars…but then again, I love coconut. I’d say the cocout is a background flavor. It’s there, but it doesn’t hit you in the face. Take that for what it’s worth – for a coconut hater, it might be hitting you in the face, I guess! haha. I hope you like it! I’ve bought stuff like that before, too…afterwards thought to myself “why did I buy this? I don’t eve like ____”
    I really hope you get your key tomorrow!! Fingers crossed 🙂

  4. your new best friend is cuuuuute!

    and ive never had that kind of larabar, hoping for good reviews though!

  5. Pingback: Whatever |

  6. Pingback: Banana Burglar |

Leave a Reply

