Pasta Week

My inner bitch is showing: someone was throwing up in the trash can in the hallway at work today, and I kind of freaked out.  (Internally, of course.  Given my sedate nature, and all.)  Seriously… you couldn’t walk two steps down the hall to the bathroom?  Admittedly, I am looking at this from the viewpoint of an emetophobic, but … yeah.  Then a friend told me about a friend of hers who saw someone crapping in an elevator, and I thanked her for the visual.  What is wrong with some people?!  (Not my friend; the crapper!  ;))

On that oh-so-appetizing note, I’m currently working on killing two birds with one stone.  The birds: finishing the penne and using oil four times this week.  Hence, it has been dubbed Pasta Week.

Even though it didn’t begin with pasta.  No, instead I observed Stuffed Squash Sunday:

delicata, roasted with chopped baby bellas, yves ground round, and spices (sweet paprika for color)

Accompanied by some extremely overdone roasted rainbow carrot strips.

Whoops.

But back to the pasta.

Can I just say that I had the most infuriating commute home today?!  I know that doesn’t sound like it has anything to do with pasta, but it sort of does, because I was getting aggravated, and I should not cook when I am aggravated; bad things happen.  I also shouldn’t eat when I am aggravated, for the same reason, but whatever.  Thankfully, nobody was downstairs when I got home, so I didn’t have to bite anyone’s head off.  (If someone starts asking me why I’m so irritated, I get really irritated.  If I’m left alone for five minutes, I get over it.)

On my new white plate!  Because I totally need more dishes.  (NOT.)  Whole grain penne in a stir-fry with Yves Ground Round browned (geesh!!) in extra virgin olive oil, baby bellas, baby carrots, and broccoli.  And spices, which naturally included a heavy dose of garlic salt.  It’s actually rather frightening how quickly I’m going through that jar.

Anyway, to continue with Pasta Week, I’ve already made dinner for tomorrow.  Pardon the horrible photo; the steam was kind of fogging up the lens, and I just wanted to get it into the fridge already.

Sauteed rainbow carrots, edamame, and snow peas, garlic salt, onion powder, cayenne pepper, and penne.  I don’t know why this is so much greasier than the previous stir-fry, since I used the exact same amount of oil, but whatever.  I originally was intending to eat this cold, hence why I made it in advance; I’m not a big fan of the texture of reheated pasta.  But now I’m not sure… does this strike you as the sort of thing you’d eat hot or cold?!

So I’m sure you don’t remember, but I mentioned my nearly-empty canister of protein powder. 

the end.

Well.  I was going to replace it with this, but then I realized something: the Whole Foods protein powder costs about ten dollars.  The Maxi Health costs twenty five.  That’s a pretty significant difference.  So… do I go for the Whole Foods powder again, even though I don’t love it?  Do I shell out the money for the Maxi Health, based on the fact that I like the chocolate flavor? Or do I spend just a little bit more on this one, even though I’ve never tried it?  Decisions, decisions.

You’d think I’m always so frugal when it comes to food purchases.  Alas, that is not the case — I finally caved today and bought pumpkin butter.

In case you can’t see it, the price tag says $6.49.  Ouch.  (Hey, at least I didn’t buy the pear butter, too… it was tempting!!)  Of course, I had to try it right away to find out whether I was an idiot for spending so much money on something I don’t even like.

Spread on a spelt cinnamon raisin cracker flat.  And I am happy to report that I do, indeed, like the pumpkin butter.  🙂  It tastes a lot like apple butter, actually. Not surprisingly.

Before I left work today to go to class, the movers arrived.  Tomorrow I have to go to the “old” office to turn in my key and get one to the new place, which works out well since I was going to go up there anyway for my acupuncture session.  And to transport Molly.  One of my co-workers has a plant that she packed into a box.  Call me crazy, but I just don’t trust the movers to get a plant from Point A to Point B in one piece.

I still do not want to move.  But I really should be glad we aren’t going here, I know.  *sigh*

And the realization of the week is that I would be a much happier person if I got enough sleep.  Random.

Questions: that stir-fry — hot or cold?  And which protein powder is my best bet?  (Have you tried any of those three?)  And are you having unseasonably warm weather?  (Yep, and I lurve it.)

Happy Tuesday.

“Boredom is like a pitiless zooming in on the epidermis of time.  Every instant is dilated and magnified like the pores of the face.” 
~Charlotte Whitton
(seriously.)

6 responses to “Pasta Week

  1. I’ve been craving pasta lately too! It’s cozy food for chilly times.

  2. I loooove pasta! When people tell me that they don’t like it I find it really hard to believe-like when people say they don’t like chocolate…eek!! Anywhos, I would eat the left-overs cold. That stir-fry looks good, by the way! I can’t cook if my life depended on it. If I tried to make a stir-fry, it would end up on the walls or out the window due to my messiness and frustration hahaha.

    I haven’t ever tried protein powder so I’m no help there 😛

    xxx

  3. I just had to come back and say that this post has made me crave pasta like WOAH! haha

    xxx

  4. We just had THE warmest weekend…I almost said ever, but that’s obviously not true. For November, I guess I should say. I was in love with it…and now it;s back to getting cold :X
    I think the stir fry could go either way! I’m not big on reheated pasta either, so I’d probably eat it cold. Or reheat it in a pan on the stove?
    And honestly, your reminded me so much of myself in this post. The freaking out – but only internally because of your “sedate nature” (yes) to freaking out when people ask you why you’re irritated, but being fine with five minutes to yourself. (totally me. after five minutes, I’m like nothing ever happened.)
    I hope today is better for you!!

  5. Pingback: Keyless Exit |

  6. Pingback: Whatever |

Leave a Reply

