Field Trip #2

Because I am a geek, and also because it engendered such interest, I had to research this whole eyelid phenomenon.  Apparently, the “third eyelid” is actually called a nictitating membrane … but based on this information, a duck would have four eyelids, since it has two eyes.  It turns out that there is an “upper” and “lower” eyelid.  Hello?  Eyelid?  That means above, by default.  Anyway, if we’re nitpicking, a duck has three sets of eyelids.

This is just something I randomly stumbled across in the supermarket the other day… of course, they didn’t have what I went to get, and going there for no reason is unacceptable, right?  So I bought one of these Cheeky Monkey things.

It actually reminds me a lot of Bamba, which I absolutely loathed as a kid.  I have no idea if I still would hate it, because I haven’t had it in years — why would I, if I don’t like it?!

They tasted like peanut buttery air puffs.  Very strange indeed.

Here’s why being optimistic doesn’t always work out that well for me.  You know how I said that the move, while not ideal, could definitely be worse?… Well.  It got worse.  Mr. J decided that he “can’t breathe” in the new offices, and so he can’t work there.  Which means that I would end up in the location I was so glad to be avoiding!  By the way, I’m pretty sure that if I said I couldn’t breathe down there, he wouldn’t give a crap… as evidenced by the fact that I’ve been freezing my butt off for the past three years, and I just have to deal with it.  If I have to get a space heater, he can get an air purifier!  But oh, no, his comfort must come above all else.  I think this has more to do with the unsightly water stain on his carpet than with the air quality, but whatever.

So, this morning I woke up, had some extra time, and replaced cereal with overnight oats.  It’s getting kind of… chilly for that, by the way.  And the pretty bowl, after being stirred, looks more like this.

i know, i know… looks highly unappetizing. it’s awesome, though.

Then I went to vote, even though I’m not quite sure why I bother.  And then I set out on field trip #2.  (Which meant that I went to a different gym location than usual; I’d never been to this one before, and I love it — so nice and new and shiny and clean!  I hope not to have to utilize it in the future, though.)

Oh, my gosh.  It was a disaster.  I wish I had taken photos so that I could have shown you exactly how ridiculous this situation is, but I was (and still am!) too shell-shocked to do anything but gape.  I knew it was a warehouse, but — it’s a freaking warehouse!!  Mr. J was late, of course, so those of us who had already arrived went inside to get out of the cold.  The ground floor is occupied by a printer.  I don’t know if you’ve ever spent any time in a printing facility, but they reek.  And I like the smell of ink.  Still, I could almost feel the chemicals seeping into my brain, and since the windows are all drafty, it was freezing anyway, so we went back outside to wait.

It gets even better.  There are these crazy heaters mounted on the walls.  And when you turn them on, not only can you smell the gas wafting out, but it spews forth little tongues of flames.  I really, really wish I was kidding, but I am unfortunately not.  Mr. J, coincidentally, in all his great wisdom, does not see the problem with having flames shooting out of a heater when there are archives of old (read: highly flammable) paper stacked all around the room.

I could go on and on and on and tell you all about this insane place, but I really don’t think you want to hear it.  Let’s just say that I was not the only dizzy and displeased one.  Mr. J wasn’t exactly thrilled either, thank goodness… but who knows what’s going to happen now?

romaine, sugar snap peas, roasted tofu, whole grain rotini, steamed baby bellas

I realized that I have an entire box of penne that is best used by December 2010.  I’m not anal about finishing shelf stable items before the “expiration” date, but I would like to make rather quick work of it.  Help?  I want to do something more original than just throw it in a salad!

After the lovely news I received about our impending move yesterday, I was really upset, and so having to give a presentation was even less appealing than usual… but it actually went pretty well.  I feel like I’m “jinxing” myself by saying that maybe I’m not so horrible at booktalking.  But that’s just because a couple of people really screwed up, and I didn’t.  *knock on wood*

I very recently became aware of this, and then I learned that it had won an award at Kosherfest (where I totally want to go, by the way), so I needed to find some.

Outrageously overpriced.  But after I made a special trek to get it, I wasn’t going to not buy it.  I’m actually rather impressed that I exhibited some measure of restraint and only got two varieties.  😉

First up: I used the barley wrap to make a “pizza.”

pre-oven: pasta sauce, baby bellas, broccoli, banana pepper rings, yves ground round, nooch

And while that was in the oven, I did something very unlike me and made a “snack plate” of sorts.  I wasn’t intending to have another one of the wraps — I wanted honey wheat pretzels — but my brother apparently finished those, so a wrap it was.

sugar snap peas, barley wrap, roasted cauliflower, mustard for dipping

The wrap, plain, was pretty interesting; it had a kind of “floury” flavor, like it was dusted in flour or something.  It was not at all unpleasant, just thinner than I’m used to.

post-oven

Said thinness is why this makes such a bad pizza.  It got way too soggy!  I ended up cutting strips and eating them after rolling them up.  It was the least messy thing I could think of.  It tasted good, but it wasn’t very … well-mannered.  😉

Other excitement included a 76° pool; you know how your nose gets numb if you stand out in the cold for too long?  That’s what happened to me.  I probably spent more time in the hot shower there than in the pool.  I go swimming because I enjoy it, not because I have a secret desire to die of hypothermia.

And I have set my alarm to wake me at 11.55 PM so that I can register for next semester’s classes at the stroke of midnight, so I should probably get to bed.

Have a happy Hump day!

“Waiting is one of life’s hardships.”
~Lemony Snicket

7 responses to “Field Trip #2

  1. your office stories make my life seem so mundane and uneventful… i mean, probably it is.. but still!

    keep smiling– there’s a light at the end of every tunnel, i promise!

  2. Have you tried mixing hummus with pasta? It’s da BOMB, seriously!

    Thanks for clearing up the duck eyelid dilemma. I can now sleep peacefully, again haha.

    xxx

  3. man, am I glad I don’t work in an office. sounds like, um, hell?
    pasta ideas – i like to add a serving of pasta to a big bowl of sauteed or roasted veggies – instead of pasta with veggies, I like veggies with pasta. I think some zucchini and greens and mushrooms go along really well with pasta, add some sauce and you’re good to go!
    I *hated* Bamba growing up, too! Everyone in my family loves it, my boyfriend loves it, I still dislike it. Much prefer Bissli!!

  4. Pingback: Long Time No Verbal Vomit |

  5. Pingback: Pasta Week |

  6. Pingback: Off I Go |

  7. Pingback: Go Away, Winter |

Leave a Reply

