The Cold Killed My Brain

Having just experienced another teeth-numbing swim, one which will definitely have me calling the Parks department, I would love nothing more than to crawl into my bed.  Possibly with my newly-delivered space heater, which may actually have to be returned since it’s not UL certified.  But instead, the Yankees are keeping me awake.  I will be very, very angry if this is for naught.  I don’t actually have any reason to be angry — I can’t watch it, thanks to Cablevision, but it’s not as if I’d be able to sleep anyway.  And I’m blaming the random sequence of “events” in this post on the cold water in which I was submerged.  I think I was in there for a total of twenty minutes, five of which were spent shivering.  I got out after a few laps because I just wasn’t enjoying it, which really sucks, especially since I can’t go next week, since I’m going to be forced to attend my nephew’s bar mitzvah.  Hmph.  Anyway.

After falling in love with Nature’s Path Vanilla Sunrise, I just had to go hunt me down a box of the maple flavor as well.  Even though, you know, I don’t love maple the way I do vanilla.

It had the same textural awesomeness of the Vanilla Sunrise, but it also had a weird maple-y sweetness that was almost cloying.  I didn’t hate it, but I much preferred the vanilla.  Big surprise there.  😉

romaine, roasted rutabaga, tempeh, cauliflower, baby bellas. my apologies to rutabaga for abandoning you of late.

Monday night, I stumbled back from school some fifteen hours after I’d left home, and proceeded (with no small amount of mishap) to prepare this:

Spaghetti squash stuffed with, um, itself.  Mixed with pasta sauce and re-hydrated TVP.  At first, I had it covered in the oven, but it was taking too long, so I uncovered it and cranked up the heat until it was broiling.  Eventually, I took it out, figuring that I could stick in back in the oven for a few minutes before eating it.

It was way too hot to put in the refrigerator, and it was long past the time when I would have liked to have been asleep, so I asked my mom to put it in the refrigerator before she went to bed.  She said she would.  But apparently she had a “senior moment,” because when I came downstairs at 5.30 the next morning, it was still sitting (covered) on the stove top.  Oops.

Because I am (pick one) reckless / stupid / immortal, I decided that the chances of my dropping dead from this were highly unlikely, and I ate it anyway.

It was missing something, though.  And I don’t think spaghetti squash is my favorite squash to stuff, either, because I like to eat the skin, too, and for some reason it just strikes me as strange to eat the skin of spaghetti squash.

I also cracked open these dark chocolate almonds today.

I loved them!!  I could really taste the chocolate; if you let the coating “melt” on your tongue, it’s almost like you’re eating a square of dark chocolate.

I was a little more reluctant about trying the Artisana cacao bliss, but I gave it the benefit of the doubt.

I tried and tried and tried to knead the packet, but it just wouldn’t really soften up, so I put a bit of it in the microwave, because I wanted to mix it into the yogurt and the muffin topper.  It didn’t work that well, evidently, as I ended up with a huge chunk of it in one bite.  Which I found gag-worthy, not because it’s a bad product, but because I don’t really like coconut at all, and this was overkill for me.  (What’s strange, though, is that it probably isn’t extremely different from this sorbet, and I adore that.)

Just because it’s been a while since I posted a photo of earrings!

Back to basics.

This morning I told my acupuncturist that I wished I could just stay down there and sleep instead of going back to work.  He had no problem with that, but I’m pretty sure Mr. J wouldn’t share that sentiment.  Which is really too bad, since I seem to have lost all ability to sleep in my own bed!!

I wanted to buy pumpkin butter, but the only one I was able to find had HFCS in it, which strikes me as entirely unnecessary.  (Yes, I know that Trader Joe’s pumpkin butter doesn’t have HFCS, but it also isn’t kosher.)  Does anyone know whether there is another brand of pumpkin butter that doesn’t contain HFCS?… Or will I just have to stop being lazy, and make my own?

Happy Hump Day!

“Make the most of yourself, for that is all there is of you.”
~Ralph Waldo Emerson

7 responses to “The Cold Killed My Brain

  1. You posting your earring always makes me want to see your face-I am sure you are beautiful! 😀
    Maddi

  2. I have a feeling you are more beautiful than i imagine.
    I too have a strong aversion to cold, all the more reason to move to LA!
    O, an a little HFCS wont hurt ya.

  3. The cold has killed my brain too…and body! It was sub-zero here this morning. Nuts to the winter. Cold water is even worse though: I’m amazed you managed to tough it out for as long as you did!

    Your spaghetti squash always looks so delicious. Then when I try to make it, it always tastes so bitter and gross. Any tips?

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxx

  4. HFCS is everywhere! Especially where you least expect it 😛 After all the reading I’ve been doing, though…I’m starting to think that it is way more…I don’t know, demonized, maybe?…than it really is. Usually it’s between that and plain sugar…and sugar really isn’t that much better! That said, I bet it’d be fun to make some 🙂 I get a kick out of making things that I can buy! Annnd you can control what the sweetener is and how much. It seems like all the pumpkin butter I find is like sucking on a sugar cube 😦
    I’ve seen everyone stuffing spaghetti squashes lately!! That’s like, the one squash I’d feel like it’d be difficult to eat stuffed. And…I am definitely either stupid/reckless/immortal when it comes to eating possibly “bad” food, too. I hate wasting, and there would have been no chance I’d have thrown out an entire spaghetti squash, either! haha

  5. I feel your cold-related pain. My landlady refuses to turn the heating on, ever. It is 8pm, I am sitting in my bedroom and I can see my breath. I am so glad I’m moving out soon. I hope your pool isn’t as icy next time!

  6. Pingback: Loss For Words |

  7. Pingback: Pasta Week |

Leave a Reply

