Done!

Well, well, well.  It looks like I’ve survived another Yom Kippur!  Not like there was any doubt of that, but, you know…  😉

Since it’s supposedly good to eat rice and beans before a fast, I figured that this was the perfect opportunity to try out this new product I stumbled across…

On Friday, I just plated it alongside black soybeans (I think I prefer “regular” soybeans).

By itself, the rice didn’t have much flavor.  A little bit of sea salt and garam masala helped with that.  I just really wish that there were more vegetables in there!!

On Saturday night, I mixed black soybeans into the rice and veggies, along with some spices, and stuffed it into a wedge of roasted red kuri squash.

Way too voluminous for right after a fast, but hey, it was good.  😉

And to back up to even earlier on Friday, I was intrigued by April’s recipe for “shepherd’s pie”.  I did make a few changes — I used Yves Meatless Ground Round Original instead of the turkey, consomme instead of the broth, and canned green beans and corn.  For the “mashed potatoes,” I skipped the parmesan cheese and used Nayonaise instead of yogurt.

pre-oven

I also quartered the recipe, but for some reason, the liquid never completely evaporated; if I’d had to cut this into individual servings, it would have totally fallen apart! I just ate it straight out of the Pyrex.

It was really good, if a tad salty!  The only problem is that now I have random corn and green beans to finish up… I’d just throw them into a salad for lunch tomorrow, except that I think my mom is coming to the city, so I’m probably going to lunch with her.  Frozen yogurt!  Yay!

Oh, frozen yogurt.  Since I really really like it, but can only get it in this one place, I decided I wanted a soft-serve ice cream maker so that I could make it on my own.  Except that I think that in order to make anything with this contraption, you need to use cream, which kind of defeats the whole purpose, since I want it to be non-dairy.  Hmph.

Today, I was very very brave and went to the mall.  Ahhh, how I hate shopping… but I really need that black shirt!  I wound up getting a crewneck, which isn’t exactly what I wanted, but I have no patience for shopping.  And I also managed to spend some completely unnecessary money in Aeropostale.  I love that store.  It is a dangerous place for me to go.

Oh, yes, about the figs.

It’s quite simple, really.  It doesn’t matter whether they’re green figs or black figs; the trick is to make sure they’re ripe enough.  If they’re still firm to the touch, they’re probably going to be tasteless.  They need to be a little mushy.

And now I am off to attempt to finish cleaning my room (ha!) / do something with the green beans and corn / prepare for tomorrow’s classes (sob!).  Enjoy the rest of your Sunday.

Nothing is so fatiguing as the eternal hanging on of an uncompleted task.” 
~William James

6 responses to “Done!

  1. yay for finishing yom kippur. I dont fast, too risky and I dont feel the need to. I love doing shepherds pie with sweet potatoes on top! I actually use benecol which I think tastes better than butter (weird, but i swear not an ED thing). Good luck with the room cleaning. I find whenever I “plan” on doing it, i never do, so I just try to get on a cleaning spree of some sort. i really miss having a housekeeper (how JAP dose that sound!).

  2. I’m glad you made it thru Yom Kipper, even tho I dont really get what it is…haha, but you made it through, and thats the good thing!! Have fun getting froyo if you get to! 😀
    Maddi

  3. mmm the darker figs are so much better than the green ones that grow here 🙂
    i love the regular green soybeans too, the black ones are weird..i mean theyre okay i guess but i tend to have to pair them with a bunch of seasoning to cover up the soy chalkiness that the green ones dont really have.

    mmm i just finished eating a stir-fry with red kuri squash!! u can bet im thinking of you everytime i eat it from now on 🙂

    xoxo

  4. Love the shepherd’s pie idea! Looks uber yummy. I’ve never tried cauliflower mashed potatoes, though. Crazy?! Maybe 😛
    Bummer about needing to use dairy in the soft serve maker! It won’t take, like…coconut milk or something? I know Sarena (NonDairy Queen) has some awesome-sounding “ice cream” recipes. I’m always upset that I don’t have an ice cream maker to whip out! haha.
    And thanks for the Rutabega tips!! I can’t decide if I want to roast it or mash it, haha. I chose one of the smallest ones, though, so I don’t think it’s big enough to try both!

  5. Yay!

    I always do have trouble finding GOOD figs. The harder thing is finding CHEAP ones. Why the hell are they so damn expensive?

  6. Pingback: Bumbling Fog |

Leave a Reply

