Sacrilegious Foot

My stomach hurts.  This is a random fact, but randomness is my specialty.

Today was a fast day. Because I like to start out my year on a sacrilegious foot, I did not fast. But I will fast on Yom Kippur, which happens to be my very least favorite day of the entire year.  (Speak about being sacrilegious!)  Yeah, I know, you’d think I would like a day when I’m supposed to fast, but, well, I’m contrary.  I don’t like to be told what to do.  And I really don’t like the whole “sit and pray all day” thing.  But I’m getting a bit ahead of myself.

I said this was a cucumber, but now I'm not quite sure. The inside wasn't really cucumber-like, even if it did smell like one...

Tomorrow is Week 3 of the semester.  If there are fifteen weeks, that means that after tomorrow, I will be one-fifth of the way through the semester.  Whoo!

This is very similar to the gray I was after...

Over the weekend, I read Harriet Brown’s Brave Girl Eating.  My mom read it after I did.  I actually hate it when my  mom reads books like this, because then she comes back to me with pearls of wisdom such as, “See?  Not having a period is a sign of anorexia!”  You don’t say!!  She’s always picking up on the symptoms, which, in my opinion, are kind of useless once you already know what’s wrong with you.

Personally, while I found the book to be very honest and straightforward, I kind of feel like she over-inflated things a bit.  Unless she really has that close of a relationship with her daughter, in which case they’re both extremely lucky.

My mom asked me today if I have that “voice in [my] head.”  Um.

Have you read this book?  What did you think of it?

Anyway, a weekend did go by, so…

Mint chocolate chip Tofutti Cuties.  Despite my aversion to eating with my hands (especially ice cream), experiments must go on!  There are eight in the box, which means we each tried this twice.  A good thing, because at first, I was kind of miffed that there were only about three chocolate chips in the entire sandwich.  But my second one was stuffed with chocolate chips.  Distribution issues, I guess.

The problem with this time of year is that it’s freezing in the morning, but if you dress for that type of weather, you will swelter later on in the day.  I am not a fan of this season.

I was in a supermarket today and I saw a can of Libby’s pumpkin, and I nearly gave myself whiplash in my eagerness to grab it… and then I realized it wasn’t pumpkin, but pumpkin pie filling.  Boo!  There are very few redeeming qualities to this season, and this year’s lack of pumpkin removes a significant portion of those redeeming qualities.  Pretty much the only good thing about autumn, if you ask me, is the plentiful squash.

Delicata!!  😀 😀 😀  I stuffed this with chopped mushrooms, broccoli, and baby carrots, which I microwaved with garlic salt and sweet paprika.  I added some crumbled tempeh and baked it for about forty-five minutes, varying the temperature between 400 and 450 depending upon the other things in the oven at the time!  I loved it, but when do I not love squash?… However, this tempeh wasn’t my favorite.  The rice kind of got on my nerves.

Tonight is my grandfather’s yahrtzeit, and that means a family get-together.  I don’t dislike my relatives, I really don’t.  I do, however, dislike spending large amounts of time with them, as it makes me feel like an utter freak.  I’m not where I’m “supposed” to be in life, and it can be very, very boring when you’re the only person like you in a crowd.  It makes me feel like… well… a freak.  Hmm.  That was eloquent.

I’m off to figure out how to carry my stack of books to class tomorrow without incurring any serious injury.  Have a lovely Monday.

“If you haven’t any charity in your heart, you have the worst kind of heart trouble.”
~Bob Hope

6 responses to “Sacrilegious Foot

  1. We don’t have any relatives here (they’re all in China or at the other side of the country), but I get what you say. Just think of it as one day, make the best out of it and it’ll be over in no time 😉

    I wonder how the US doesn’t have canned pumpkin all year long? In Canada, we have E.D Smith’s Pumpkin ALL year long, it just gets cheaper in squash season.
    On the other hand, you guys have those Toffuti Ice cream sandwiches. I guess they are like Kashi Dark chocolate cherry bars: sometimes you get 342342 chocolate chips, sometimes you barely notice them.

    If you discover what that weird-cucumber-looking veggie is, tell us, I’m curious…It looks like a giant hard green fig, lol.

    I never read any ED book. I hate when people say ”the voice in the head”, because when I was little, I always thought I would never get anorexia because I am not crazy enough to hear another voice other than mine. Tsss. I never got my mom to read a book about ED. She’s not interested.

    Have a good Monday 🙂

  2. Yeah, my mom’s too into her own self help books, to read an ED book for me. I do think she might learn something though.

    I use to like family get togethers when I was younger. Now they’re kind of depressing. Our family has decreased significantly. That’s to say, most of those who use to attend don’t anymore.

    There is one store that sells pumpkin in my town, and I hope that they don’t run out!

  3. I got really frustrated with the scarcity of pumpkin last winter, and was hoping it would be better by this fall. 😦 There is a grocery chain here that often has it in their store brand, but for 3x the price of Libby’s.

    I haven’t read that book yet, if you could rewind would you still give it to your mom to read? My family has major “not getting it” syndrome despite so many years of seeing the ED go on under their noses.

    I hope your week gets off to a good start, take care.

  4. Grr, I feel your pumpkin frustration. I am not an autumn person either because it reminds me that winter (cold, miserable, snowy and frosty. And DARK) is just around the corner. I can’t find pumpkin either (not Libby’s anyway, which is the only brand worth buying) and it just makes the entire season pointless in my opinion 😛

    Relatives are okay in small doses…but there is always an element of competition, and the pressure to be a certain way. You’re a brilliant person, regardless of if you’re not where they ‘expect’ you to be in life.

    With the cookies, it wouldn’t cost much for me to send over a box or two every now and then. Just let me know if you change your mind 🙂

    *hugs*

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxxx

  5. O that pumpkin whiplash sounds SO familiar, I get that all the time with various food item. Sad, that food has that affect on me.
    Anyhow, I hate yom kippur. I dont fast because i get so effed up with ed things that I thinks its better I just dont. My birthday fell on yom kippur a few times. Talk about a buzzkill.
    Wanna hear a story only a jew would appreciate? I went to the kosher market (where I stalk up on produce because its WAY cheaper) and there was a guy in a full on, bright yellow chicken costume hold a sign that said “Kaparot” with an arrow on it. Seriously? the last thing I need is a chicken harassing me about such a weird and slightly sadistic tradition.

  6. Oh hey remember me? 😉 See, I didn’t fall off the face of the earth!
    Being that I am the oldest daughter and have yet to officially graduate from college, while my younger siblings are racing past me, yeah, I feel you. It’s so awkward. Of course … how many of our relatives can say their lives went exactly as planned? None. None at all. So in their face!

Leave a Reply

