Why Am I Talking?

This is, indeed, a very good question.  Which, unfortunately, has no good answer.  Nevertheless…

Here’s why I asked what your favorite memory was of the sixth grade:

You know those “introduce yourself to the class” things?  Which, by the way, I totally hate?  Yeah, this is what we had to say about ourselves in one of my classes.  Talk about random!!  (This is the class for which I need a Twitter account.  Here’s the plan: I fall hopelessly behind on assignments, then blame it on the fact that I got addicted to Twitter.  A distinct possibility, yes?)

A random muffin topper:

It’s supposed to be double chocolate chip.  No idea how the rest of it got there.

Also random, I bought a 16-oz. box of fresh figs today at Trader Joe’s for $3.99.  An 8-oz. box of figs is $3.99 at Whole Foods.  Do the math.

Snapped this photo of the sunset when I was up on my roof watering the garden yesterday (would you grow, already?!)… but more exciting things happened in my backyard garden!  Look what I got today:

Come on, tell me that isn’t exciting!  That cucumber, by the way, is cracked in half because it kind of welded itself onto the chicken wire and the only way I could get it out was to break it.  Sob.

Guess what this is?

It sort of looks like stewed apples, I guess.  But it’s a chayote squash, tossed with Truvia, cinnamon, and nutmeg, and then microwaved to within an inch of its life.  I was attempting to replicate apple pie filling.  Albeit sans goo, I guess.  (Eden, this is what I meant.)

Wrapped in a warmed brown rice tortilla.  It was kind of strange; it was good, but under the cinnamon and nutmeg, I could still sort of taste the flavorlessness of the squash, if that makes any sense!

Oh, yes, it’s a weekend.  New frozen concoction.

Ciao Bella sorbet, dark chocolate.  I had been avoiding this… for the following reason.

Yeah.  But an experiment is an experiment, so, nevertheless…

It tasted very dark; almost to the point of bitterness!  I actually vastly prefer dark chocolate over milk chocolate — I don’t like milk chocolate at all.  But this was kind of pushing it.

My schoolbooks have not yet arrived.  They are scheduled for delivery tomorrow.  Except that they’re being delivered to my dad’s office, which is, of course, closed tomorrow.  This means that I need to wait until Tuesday.  Which, in turn, means that I will need to read three books in three days in order to be prepared for my next class.  Which really sucks.  Actually, scratch that; if the books arrive on Tuesday, and I need to have posted my thoughts by Friday… Friday is the second day of Rosh Hashanah.  Which means that I won’t be able to use the computer… so I will have to post my thoughts on Wednesday.  If the books arrive on Tuesday when I am at work… I will come home, go to see my nutritionist, get home insanely late, and effectively have no time to read anything.  I am kind of really, really starting to freak out here…

Oh, and I was right about my nutritionist appointment.  I should have worried more.  And that’s all I’m going to say about it.

Have a great long weekend.  Anything exciting planned for you?

“There are no rules of architecture for a castle in the clouds.”
~Gilbert K. Chesterton

5 responses to “Why Am I Talking?

  1. Some of our cucumbers molded along the fence like that too. Too funny!

  2. 3 books in 3 days.. geez if u manage to get it done i’ll call you super woman!!
    haha you muffin top has a defect just like that one defected muffin i posted. its got ‘vitiligo’ of its dough-skin.. so its slowly turning into white patches.
    at least the dark chocolate sorbet didnt turn colors. good job for testing it out even if it was a bit intimidating nutritionally. at least u get some good antioxidants and minerals/magnesium out of it ❤

    xoxo

  3. got it! oy, im so not ready for rosh hashana…bleh… i hate the high holidays (yom kippur esp, for obvious reasons!). Do you like your nutritionist? Is she helping you at all?

  4. I want to try that sorbet! Darn you Americans, having all the best non-dairy ice cream flavours 😛

    So what was your favourite memory of sixth grade? I hope you enjoy your cucumber 😉 it’s cute! Sorry the nutritionist appointment was as bad as feared ❤

  5. I agree with Katie: you’re really teasing us Brits with your lovely sorbet flavours. Congrats for having the guts to try it despite your fears. I’m sure I’d have loved it…there is no such thing as ‘too dark’ when it comes to chocolate for me.

    Sorry about the negative nutritionist appointment and the stress with the books 😦 Hopefully the beauty (and bounty!) of your rooftop garden will provide a little solace from everything else.

    That is indeed a random series of questions. Sixth grade…I’m not even sure what age that equates to in the UK! Would love to hear your answer though 😉

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxx

Leave a Reply

