Choose Your Title

Have you ever found yourself unable to decide whether you wanted vanilla or chocolate protein pancakes?  If you are as indecisive as I am, then the answer to that question is a resounding yes.  That is, until I came up with a brilliant solution.

Looks like a black and white cookie, doesn’t it?  I think next time I’m going to try for a “marble” effect!  Chocolate syrup is optional, but highly recommended.

In other random edible news:

romaine, purple pepper, Italian style soy sausage, grilled zucchini

I found a purple pepper at the farmers’ market and purchased it on a whim.  It looks cool, but it doesn’t taste like anything special.  In terms of “regular” peppers, it tastes most like the green, which, coincidentally, is my least favorite.

It has been f-o-r-e-v-e-r since I’ve had a sweet potato, but I bought a bag of them at Trader Joe’s the other day.

Steamed and sprinkled with cinnamon, chili powder, and cayenne pepper.  (In the background: two other current obsessions [barbecue-baked tofu and cauliflower roasted with cayenne pepper, chili powder, garlic salt, and paprika], which I already sorely miss, as I will not see a vegetable over the duration of my trip.)

Remember these gloves?

I said they looked bigger!  They are.  In fact, they are so big that it is extremely uncomfortable to lift while wearing them.  I was going to return them, but that makes no sense since they didn’t cost much more than the price of shipping!  I have no idea what to do with them, but in the meantime…

I went to a store and bought these.  Success.  Finally!

In case you’re wondering how it is that I have time for this post — considering my packing panic — it is because I was very efficient and productive on Thursday evening.  Most of my packing is actually already done!  I’m so glad for that, because the last time I went on vacation, I was on edge all Shabbos, knowing that I would have to pack late on Saturday night.  I am so not a last-minute person.  At least now I don’t need to stress out about this so much.  Which is a damn good thing, because…

I’m sure nobody is interested in reading this; it’s just another attempt for me to get it out of my system.  I’m still feeling all conflicted about this whole situation — if “conflicted” can be a feeling about a feeling!!  But my nephew-to-be is actually going to be staying in my house over Shabbos.  He arrived sometime before I got home from work today, though I have yet to meet him, as we haven’t been in the house at the same time!  Being the social retard that I am, I’m sure you can imagine that I’m not exactly looking forward to an introduction.  Oh, and I learned that he is nearly three years younger than I am.  Which really only makes me feel more doomed — if people as young as he and my niece have managed to figure it out, I may as well just wither and die right now, because there is absolutely no hope for me.  All I seem to know how to do is get older… and older… and older.

Speaking of which, I got together with some friends last night, and they were admiring my camera (tentatively named Cary, but not set in stone yet!)… and in mentioning that my parents paid a portion of the price as  a birthday gift to me, I realized that all of my friends had forgotten my birthday.  (Except for one, but A) she wasn’t there last night and B) her own birthday is a few days after mine, so she remembers.)  Clearly, this didn’t upset me very much, since it took me over a week to notice.  But now that I have noticed… well, I do feel kind of irrelevant and invisible.  Just saying.

Oh, and this Mebar?

It was blueberry almond flax.  But it tasted a bit like freezer burn, because I guess it wasn’t wrapped tightly enough.  I was a fan of the blueberry part (I dehydrated them myself!), but not the freezer burn!!

In following the theory that one ought to give to him or herself what other people will not, I bought roses.

Awww.

I’m going to have a blast over the next twenty-four hours, trying to figure out what I think / feel.  No wonder I have a pounding headache!!  At least I have a stack of magazines to keep me somewhat occupied.  Let the fun begin.

Have a great weekend.

“Hope is but the dream of those who wake.” 
~Matthew Prior
(That can’t be true… I am not asleep!!)

4 responses to “Choose Your Title

  1. I’ve never had to decide between chocolate and vanilla protein pancakes, but I have had to decide between chocolate and vanilla oatmeal, and when I couldn’t settle on one, I went with both as well. Best of both worlds 🙂

    I know how you feel about watching people younger than you seem to have more of a life than you… I feel the same way. My younger cousin got married over the summer, and while I was happy for her and all, it just made me feel extremely old and almost doomed to be alone forever… My excuse is that I have to fix myself before I can try and hook up with another person, so that’s what I’m trying to do… I want a life too, dammit!

  2. I usually go with chocolate (it’s my love!), but sometimes I just want a more subtle flavor. Your pancakes turned out beautiful though! Kind of reminds me of yin & yang 😉

  3. BLUEBERRY ALMOND FLAX!! Are your recipes secret? *cute face*

    Magazine are perfect for brainwashing, relax girl 😉

  4. i love how they put the pink ribbon on the pointer finger part of the gloves!! its a neat way to feature the logo huh!
    oh and i love the ‘best of both worlds’ coming together in the pancakes! of course you’re a genius!! ❤

Leave a Reply

