The Best Kind of Sick Day

I took a sick day off work today, based on the logic that I have more sick days per year than personal days.  I call them mental health days.  Anyway.  I slept a grand total of ten minutes later than usual… and decided not to run, because even though I think my knee is better, I’m afraid of injuring it again.  Which is a weird fear, since I didn’t hurt it running in the first place, but whatever, it’s not the end of the world if I don’t run — I just like to know that if I wanted to, I could.  Instead, I made cottage cheese oatmeal pancakes.

And then I somehow totally miscalculated how much time I would need to get to the gym and Ouidad, because I left home an hour earlier than I needed to.  Um.

Let’s not discuss how much this cost.  There is a reason why I get my hair done so infrequently!  It’s quite a nasty cycle: I get a cut / highlight, I style it properly for a few weeks, I get annoyed because it never looks quite right when I do it on my own, I start pulling it back / using other products, which in turn cause buildup so I have to wash it more frequently, which dries out my hair, making it more difficult to deal with… and then it eventually gets too long to pull it up, at which point I know it is high time I take care of it.  :p

That’s at the end of the day, after it went through a total wringer.  Because today was the Yankee game!

It was made even more awesome since we got to see history…

(That isn’t my picture — but it totally exacerbated my already-powerful case of camera envy!)

I immediately called my dad to tell him that A-Rod had hit his 600th career home run, and my dad had to wonder, “Would he have done that if I’d been there?!  Oh, well, I’m happy for you that you got to see it.”  Hey… you had your chance.  😉

Final score — I was a happy camper.  😀

It was definitely a better way to spend a day than working.  There aren’t even the words to compare.  Even if my Google Reader is currently exploding, as well as my head, it was so worth it.

Random photo, just because it was also quite lovely:

Savory oats.  I have figured out why I didn’t like it quite as much the first time I made it; it’s because I didn’t use Frank’s then, and apparently, that is essential.  I used Yves Meatless Ground Round Original this time instead of Lightlife Smart Ground Original, but I can’t say I definitively prefer one over the other!

Hope you’ve all had a fabulous Hump Day and will have an even better Thursday… it’s back to normal life for me.  *sniff*  But right now I need to go tackle my Reader…

“A baseball game is simply a nervous breakdown divided into nine innings.”
~Earl Wilson
(Yeah, yeah, yeah… that’s only true if my team loses)

10 responses to “The Best Kind of Sick Day

  1. I’m jealous – tons of fun! I’ve had a whole week of real sick days =/
    When I get my hair done I try to ask them to do something that is uncomplicated – I tell them I’m a wash-n-go kinda girl (which I am usually) but that way it makes it easy to style. I can’t stand my hair being high maintenance – makes me so frustrated!!
    && Awesome you got to see ARod do his thang!!

  2. omg i am SO envious– you got to see arod’s 600th!! youre totally right in that it’s history in the making!

    sweet dreams lovely

  3. I’ve taken plenty of “sick” days from school in the past, and they were some of the funnest days I’ve ever had 🙂 I’m really glad to hear that you enjoyed your day and got so see a piece of history in the making… the stadium must have been wild, and that’s always a nice thing to be a part of. You sound a lot more relaxed and happy in this post as a result of a wonderful day, and I hope that you’re having a wonderful night as well ❤

    Oh, and btw, your hair looks really great 🙂 I know what you mean about eventually getting lazy and just saying screw it, but that's just another excuse to head out to the salon again… and it's always nice to get pampered once in a while 🙂

  4. we’ll ignore the price tag and just say how GORGEOUS your hair is. its fun to get dolled up even if its a process. my hair pisses me off so much but when i get it done i always feel AMAZING. plus you got to see the Yankees play!!! how incredible is that!!!

    xoxo

  5. Mental health days are essential 😉 and your hair looks great. I’m glad you had fun at the game, exciting stuff!

  6. ~Jessica Zara~

    Brilliant that you finally had a relaxing day and got to enjoy the game! And with the effort you put into your work, you’re more than justified in taking a ‘sick’ day.

    Despite the financial drain, your locks do indeed look lovely 😀

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxx

  7. I love your hair! Looks so shiny and bouncy 😀

    I’m glad you had a relaxing day. Sometimes you need to take time for yourself!

  8. Your hair looks awesome! I’m with you on mental health days..sometimes they’re a must in my world too!

  9. Sick days are awesome only when your not sick. I hate being sick, but I enjoy not working when everyone else is at work.
    Those pancakes look really yummy, I’m actually eating something similar right now. Your hair looks awesome, I only wish I could see you face in tit 🙂

  10. Pingback: Catching Up |

Leave a Reply

