Rainbow Knees

Pardon this hideous photo, but I often feel compelled to share such things…

Trust me, you’re glad the bandage is there… because if it wasn’t, you’d probably throw up a little bit.  I’m not at all queasy, but what’s under there is really disgusting.  Anyway, I have two rainbow-hued knees.  And I don’t even mind, because they work!

(Un)surprisingly, I just could not fall asleep last night, so this is going to have to be quick and to the point since all I really want to do right now is take a shower and go to bed!

I knew this day was coming…

Look at the expiration date.  I’m not a huge stickler for things like that, but for some reason, if a product contains dairy, it bothers me.  Hence, I needed to use this.  So I combined it with something else that I need to use up, since it’s getting stale already…

Poured over corn puffs. Yes, it was as strange as it looks.  As an aside: I like the Nature’s Path corn puffs. I can only seem to find Arrowhead Mills now.  This annoys me.

Oh, you know what else is annoying?  After the girl came to open the gym today (at 6.56 AM), I put my name down for Elliptical #2.  There are four, but I don’t like #1 and #4, because you can’t change the display so that the “calories burned” aren’t staring you in the face.  Anyway, then I went into the locker room, and someone else followed me and said that she wanted me to cross my name off because she “was waiting outside first.”  Well, goodness.  If it means that much to you…

romaine, steamed baby bellas, edamame, rutabaga

It’s a long, convoluted story, but I needed to put something in the “freezer” at work today.  In quotes because it really doesn’t keep anything frozen!  There was a two-liter bottle of Diet Coke in there.  A couple of hours later, it was on Mr. J’s desk, 95% empty.  I’d like to point out that Mr. J was once ragging on a co-worker for eating baby carrots, because “they’re washed in bleach.”  When said co-worker said that they were organic, Mr. J decided, “Oh, that’s okay then.”  This is all because his wife doesn’t like the consumption of chemicals.  And probably doesn’t allow Diet Coke in the house.  Wait, why am I saying this again??…

As long as I’m discussing the office, I’d like to introduce Molly.

Yes, I named my plant.  I got it in October of 2007, and it was about a quarter of the size.  I never, ever thought it would live this long!  It’s usually on my desk, but I decided she needed some perking up so I put her in the back room, near the only window in the entire office.  Which is usually behind a locked door.  Hello, I am a vampire and I work in a cave.

Not going to lie, I am really struggling with this whole “free-fall” business… but I don’t want to keep rehashing it, because that would serve no purpose whatsoever.  I have the knowledge.  I just need it to be okay.

Oh, and minus the thyroid tests, which haven’t come back yet, my bloodwork is all normal.  (Surprise!  Not.)  The doctor tells me, “Good job,” as if I worked hard on that one!  So I have normal blood.  What?  Some part of me has to be normal!

I no longer recall anything that I’ve just written, but since a shower sounds like heaven on earth right now, I am going to hit “publish” without bothering to re-read.  Apologies if you’ve just suffered through a load of nonsense!

Happy Thursday.

“I hate cameras.  They are so much more sure than I am about everything.”
~John Steinbeck

10 responses to “Rainbow Knees

  1. Sorry about the knee! It’s a long story but I did some bike riding in Central Park yesterday and got pretty beat up too, so my feet somehow look like your knee! lol

  2. I have a plant named Josie. I thought I killed her when I left her in my dorm over thanksgiving break but I didn’t, and now she’s almost 5!
    totally normal. just saying.
    that b ruise looks…fun. i have seen similar things on my own legs. feel better!!

  3. I’m impressed by your plant. I’m a big-time plant killer… I had a peace lily in my room for like 3 years and it was on the edge of life for basically all 3 of those years. I finally had to throw it away because it was just pitiful to look at… poor thing.

    You’re making me miss corn puff cereal. Corn Pops were like my favorite cereal when I was a kid, and now I have to find a newer healthier version that I’m not allergic to.

  4. ~Jessica Zara~

    Your poor knee 😦 At least it looks to be healing well…though as you say I have no idea what lurks beneath that plaster. Such things don’t gross me out though…I actually find them a little fascinating. Boys always used to try and scare the girls when I was a kid by cracking their knuckles or showing random scars/scabs/injuries but they were quite nonplussed by my apparent interest in them. Yes, I was a strange child and I am a strange adult.

    I hope you didn’t give up your place on the elliptical! I’d hit someone over the head with a dumbell before I’d give up my place on a machine, and particularly if they said it in such a rude way!

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxxxx

  5. lol I cant believe you names your plant…I’m terrible with plants. Animals im good with and people but NOT plants. I just forget about them and think they dont need water..ha

    Wow, that women sounded pretty rude at the gym. The gym I go to’s air conditioning is broken at the moment. It’s pretty hott there 😦 NO FUN!

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  6. anything with dairy cant help but remind me of when i used to drink cows milk and i would smell it to check how ‘fresh it was’ and it was all curdled and puke-inducing lol YUK

    btw i got ur package yesterday!!! im gonna put in in my post once im done with the breakfast contest posting series thing. i havent opened it yet, put it in my room, kind of in a little shrine hehe ❤ THANK YOU!!

  7. eww ur bruise is like yellowish haha not to make it ore gros or anything. t least all you got is a bandage i am stuck with 2 full blown broaces on my knees lol i might take a pic of them for my next post.

    good bloodwork is a good thing dont act s nonchalant about it! 🙂

  8. Awww poor knee! 😦

    Wow you actually have to sign up for machines at your gym? Well I guess I’ve never been to a public gym (only the ones in school) so I wouldn’t know.

    It’s cute that you named your plant!

  9. Pingback: Pasta Week |

  10. Pingback: Molly Or Me? |

Leave a Reply

