The Walking Wounded

First, a picture.

It’s been a while since I tried to create protein pancakes… and this reminded me why!  I haven’t perfected them yet, and it is irritating.  This is a combination of egg whites, vanilla whey protein powder, and chocolate soy protein powder.  And some baking powder which evidently didn’t do much.  Oh, well.  There’s always next time…

The following story is an example of how logic evades me.

Remember that oh-so-attractive photo of my palm / knee?  Yeah, that isn’t the worst of it.  I mean, it’s annoying to wear a bandage on your knee, because it won’t stay put, and it’s also annoying to have a bandage on your palm, because, well, it just is.  However.  Not visible in the photo is my right knee, which, despite sporting only a minor scrape, apparently took the brunt of my weight, because I could barely walk due to that.  Thankfully, it feels a lot better now, but I am also pretty sure that my left wrist is sprained.  If we factor in the trouble with my right wrist, I effectively have no fully functional limbs.  And oh, yeah, since this is turning into a litany of complaints, I appear to have sustained whiplash.  When I do something, I do it in style.

The logic evasion here is that I went to the gym this morning.  I don’t know what I was thinking, seeing as limbs are kind of necessary when it comes to working out.  It turns out that this wasn’t an issue, however, because the girl who was opening showed up 45 minutes late.  I really think I’m going to send my gym the bill when I have to go on medication because of high blood pressure.

When I got to work, I found someone with whom to commiserate, because my co-worker threw out his back this morning.  Vicodin for offer!  (Ha, not really.  I react in one of two ways to that: either it knocks me out, which is fine if I’m near a bed, but I wasn’t; or it makes me feel sick, and I am emetophobic, so I’d rather be in agony.)  And then he biked home.  We really are just a couple of masochists.


Once upon a time, I accidentally bought vegan breaded chicken nuggets instead of the patties.  These nuggets would probably do well in a dippable meal, but I don’t really like to eat with my hands, so the box just stayed in my freezer.  And stayed, and stayed, and stayed.  Until I decided that this is getting ridiculous, and that I would use some of the nuggets in an attempt at replicating thisvegan Moroccan chicken with whole wheat couscous and vegetables.  I looked up the ingredients, and then, as I usually do, decided to just wing it instead.  Mostly because I was too lazy to do otherwise.

Wheat couscous, “chicken” nuggets, peppers, onion, and a “sauce” made out of apricot preserves.  It didn’t taste exactly the same, but that’s okay, because it was really good!  Who knew that apricot preserves make such a tasty sauce?

This was in my refrigerator.

I absolutely loved the chorizo style sausages, so this had a lot to live up to…

Sliced over Italian blend steamed vegetables.  I actually really liked it!  Not sure whether I like this or the chorizo style better, but who cares?  My friend and I were evicted from Starbucks because we were eating there and neither of us had bought a drink.  Oops.

I usually go to Whole Foods on my way home on Fridays so that I can buy the frozen confections of the week, but today I decided to give the new Trader Joe’s a shot.  I was delighted: no line!!

Double Rainbow chocolate sorbet, Trader Joe’s raspberry sorbet.

I’ve already tried the chocolate (Lilliputian strikes again!)…

I loved it — it tasted just like dark chocolate!  But I don’t think I’ll be buying it on a regular basis, for this reason: the first ingredient is sugar.  The second is corn syrup solids.  Ouch.  It does taste good, though!

I loved hearing about your bucket lists, by the way.  Gave me some ideas for things to add to my own!

Question of the day: how the hell do you get a bandage to stay put on a knee?  And any magic words to wish away a sprain?  I have little patience for injuries.  Appreciate your limbs, kids.  You don’t know how much you need them until they start to misbehave.  (I’m kind of wondering how I’m going to manage to wash my hair…)

Have a great weekend!

“Physical ills are the taxes laid upon this wretched life; some are taxed higher, and some lower, but all pay something.”
~Lord Chesterfield

8 responses to “The Walking Wounded

  1. babygirl, n o working out until you’re a little bit healed! see how you feel after shabbat but its no good to work on an injury 😦
    next time, chop up the “nuggets” and put them in a salad!

  2. ahh the only way to heal is to wait it out– in good time you’ll be back at it again. sorry youer in pain, ill be thinking about you

  3. traynharder23

    sorry about your injuries! that sucks. i just poked my thumb with a paring knife. EW.

    apricot sauce???? i like the marmalade sauce you get with fried noodles at chinese restaurants. coz that is SOOOO asian.

    =D

    i’ll miss you til saturday night!

  4. ~Jessica Zara~

    And I thought I was the queen of injuries! Hope they all heal for you soon…and I would like to inflict a rather severe injury on that lazy bum of a gym-opening girl!

    Yet another chocolate sorbet I would give my right arm to try…or not, given your wise words about appreciating our limbs!

    *hugs*

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxxx

  5. Ack. I’m sorry that you ended up being so wounded, hun 😦 That happens to me sometimes and I can’t help but just laugh at all of my misfortunes hitting me at once. But you should probably avoid the gym/working out thing until you have more stable appendages… You don’t want to make things worse 😦

    Your gym situation sounds pretty bogus, though. Mine is open 24/7 so there’s no chance that I’ll be caught waiting outside a closed gym. Any chance you could look into one of those? Even if it’s a little out of your way, it’s probably better than the high blood pressure thing 😉

  6. i just saw ur last post with ur war wounds 😦 omg! sounded horrible! if i was near you id pick up a wheelchair and wheel u around for a bit, get some ice cream together lol. awe sorry 😦

    btw i think ur a pro at making protein pancakes from what im seeing!

    hmmm keeping a bandaid on a knee, nearly impossible, unless u get those really stick huge ones that stay on forever.. to where u can barely get them off, and it leaves all that glue behind to try and pick off.

    besides the unfortunate, i hope your weekend is good enough to cheer you up and make u smile 🙂

    xoxo

  7. Your meals always look fantabulous, u have such a knack for cooking! Refua shelaima on the wrists 😦

  8. I cant wait untill I move back to NJ so I can be near a Trader Joes again.. I’ve missed that store!!! I will have to pick up some of that sorbet..

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

