It’s Not You, It’s Me

On this rainy, dreary morning, I thought that the one bright spot was that I would not have to wait outside a locked gym, thanks to my endocrinologist appointment.  (This is me putting a positive spin on the extremely distressing fact that I couldn’t work out this morning!)  Said appointment was at 8.30.  I arrived a bit early… to find the lights off and the door locked.  Um.  After a couple of minutes, as I tend to do, I started to catastrophize the situation: What if the appointment time was switched, or I got it wrong, and I have to re-schedule and I won’t be able to see him for weeks?!  Etc., etc.  And then I started to wonder if he had died (hey, he’s an old guy!) — but you’d think his patients would be notified of something like that, right?!

It made me feel a little better when someone else showed up to wait with me, even though she was extremely early for her 9.30 appointment; at least I knew that the office was supposed to be open today!  So much for my thinking I wouldn’t have to wait for a door to open this morning, huh?  He did show up a few minutes later, very much alive.

I made sure to state very clearly that I did not want to know my weight.  He thought I was joking, but when I informed him that I was not, he made me get on the scale backwards.  Extreme much?  Anyway, I passed my physical.  Hooray.  Still undetermined is why I am a walking zombie, but hopefully the lab results will explain that.

Oh, the lab.  Somehow, hearing Lab Tech A telling Lab Tech B that she wants to check her own blood pressure because she doesn’t feel that great, while shoving a needle into your vein, was just never very high on my list of things I wanted to do, you know??

Sort of related to that, I have been tasked with creating a bucket list.  Things like practicality and cost are not supposed to factor into this, so it could potentially get very, very long… Do you have a “bucket list”?

romaine, tempeh, alfalfa sprouts, sauteed eggplant before...

...and after

In fact, the anticipated length of that list means it will get its own post.  Well, that and the fact that I haven’t moved it out of my head yet.  I guess it likes company, but it’s getting really crowded up there, and they aren’t all invited guests.  Not by a long shot.

Exciting discovery of the day:

I’d been keeping an eye out for this!

vanilla yogurt, chocolate chip muffin topper, chocolate peanut butter

Result?  I liked it!  Not as much as the chocolate hazelnut butter, but more than the chocolate almond butter.

Random thoughts / musings / questions:

  • Why is it that if 75% of the time when I want to go to the restroom at work, maintenance is in there, when I finally do get to go in, it is a total wreck?  People who line the toilet seat with sixteen dozen layers of toilet paper: you didn’t want to sit on a toilet seat that touched someone else’s butt, so what makes you think that I want to make contact with your self-crafted toilet seat cover?!
  • If you had a choice between a job you didn’t really like, but that is extremely well-paying, and a job that you freaking love so much that you can’t wait to get to work every day, but that doesn’t pay all that well… which would you choose?  (I’d definitely choose a job that I love.  I hate to sound cliché, but “money can’t buy happiness.”)
  • Do you think that people automatically feel drawn towards those who can claim to be a “people person”?
  • Encountering close-mindedness, bigotry, self-righteousness and the like makes. my. blood. boil.

That’s all for now, because I am realizing that my last post was really up there on the incoherence scale, which is what happens when I am tired.  Which, right now, is pretty much all the time.  (For the record, I didn’t last past the fourth inning.)

Happy Thursday.

“A man must consider what a rich realm he abdicates when he becomes a conformist.”
~Ralph Waldo Emerson

11 responses to “It’s Not You, It’s Me

  1. I would definitely choose a job that I loved over the high paying job. My only problem is finding a job that I would love. But I do think about how bad the economy is and what jobs I would have a better chance at making a good career out of. It sucks that I have to think about that, but I have to make my own money one day, or else I won’t be happy at all if I’m broke!

  2. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    i’ve always wanted a bucket list! I think ti is a great concept- i always think of things I want to do but then i never remember them later 😛 funny thing. & i would definitely pick a job i LOVE over a money making one- that is what means the most to me for sure. I really want to be happy in my future career

  3. The whole job thing is complicated. Ideally, I would choose a job that I love over a job that I’d just do for the money, but that really depends on how badly paying the job I loved was. After all, if I couldn’t afford to buy the things I loved (uhm, hello nut butters and good food), then I wouldn’t be that happy at all. It’s a sad thing, but even if money can’t buy happiness, not having enough can definitely create misery.

  4. i definitely would choose the lower paying job.. in fact ive given up naturopathy for yoga teaching.. thats a 70,000 dollar difference!! but the fact that im less stressed and feel more passionate about the life i will have, and less work more play, the happier and “richer” my life will be, and thats all that matters to me right now.

    btw my bucket lists suck.. the more lists i make, i swear the less i do! LOL

    xoxo ❤

  5. Every time I go to Barnes and Nobel to use the restroom (because it’s usually either that or Starbucks when you’re out and about) they’re in there cleaning it! They must sense us coming.

    On the job front… I would take the lower paying job. I had a job that made me absolutely miserable (and granted, didn’t pay so well either) and now, even though I still don’t pay well and the job isn’t my first choice, I’m so much happier. It is NOT good when you wake up already dreading your day. And have to do it 5x a week. Good luck!

  6. I’d choose a job I loved over anything. SO many people are miserable with their jobs… it’s just not worth it!

    I’m glad your physical went well! I had mine in March and I told them I didn’t want to be weighed and didn’t want to know my weight, and I got weighed backwards too! So you’re not alone!

  7. traynharder23

    i feel you on the last bullet point. man. i hate close=minded people. everyone at my work save a few are like that. either their way or the high way.

    yay for new food discoveries! what’s this sauteed eggplant? =D

    and i would ALWAYS choose a job i love. =D

  8. Why is it extreme that he had you get on the scale backwards? You didn’t want to know, so he made sure you wouldn’t see.

    Choosing a job … well I’ve long abandoned the “money train” – I really just want to be happy and that’s all that matters to me. Money isn’t everything.

    Dude have you ever noticed lab technicians make the STRANGEST comments when taking your blood? I’ve been told I have nice veins, nice skin depth (I don’t even know what this means??), and one time the tech wanted to talk dresses on sale. What is that?? Coping mechanism? So strange.

    On the bucket list: Sky dive.

  9. I love the concept of a bucket list– i think it’s wonderful that youve created one.

    and i would most definitely choose a job I love over one for money– passions are important, they keep us motivated.

    i hope you are well, lovely ❤

  10. Def job I love of the high paying one. I dont need much money to be happy, and I rather be happy than depressed. I dont think anybody who labels themselves as anything really exhibits that. Trying to hard seems to push people away.
    And I totally hear ya on the close mindedness, I hate it. I almost want to get violent, but my yogi zen self shines through at those moments and I try to mind my own business.
    Kind of random thought as well, but I went to the doctor the other day and I tell the nurse I have issues knowing my weight so I ask to step on the scale backwards, so what does she say after???? “O, you were X number last time!”
    Are all nurses slightly deaf?

  11. I hope they figure out why you feel like a zombie!

    I do not understand why people make such a mess in the restroom either. The pee on the seat is the worst.

    Definitely job I love.

    Ha! I met another blogger who is a “people person” and found her extremely annoying. So, no, I did NOT feel drawn toward her.

Leave a Reply

