Hodgepodge

This may be difficult for you to believe, but I actually wasn’t complaining about the boxes!  I wanted to go pick them up.  I like to be involved in every step of the process… and besides, this way I get to see the books first.  😉

Sort of related to that, I was pondering the whole concept of self promotion recently, and I’ve come to the conclusion that it is a very sad thing indeed.  I mean, yes, it makes sense if you’re doing it with people who don’t know you / your product exists, because you want to make them aware of it.  But if there are people in your life who you would expect to be happy for you, because you’ve done something that means a lot to you, and they’re just … not?  If that’s why you have to promote something, that really really sucks.

Okay, that probably made no sense.  Moving on!

As it turns out, a weekend of pacing did not fix my foot.  I left my house in sneakers this morning, but when I was five minutes away I turned around and went home to change because it hurt so badly.  It’s so weird — there’s a tiny tender spot at the top of my foot, but aside from a little redness it looks completely normal.  You wouldn’t think something like that would be so painful!  I guess it just needs more time?

Yeah, okay, you can’t see it in this picture.  But you can see my oh-so-awesome sock tan.  Why is it that when you want a tan to stick around, it’s gone before you can blink, and if you want it to fade, it just… won’t?  I tried to even it out by using self-tanner on my feet only, but that didn’t work out too well.  😉

Some reviews:

Lemonade coconut water sorbet, Almond Dream cappuccino swirl ice cream. (Pomegranate chip coconut milk ice cream review to come later this week, once I’ve tried it!)

The sorbet was really tart.  I generally like citrus-flavored things, but this was too sour.  I definitely prefer the raspberry.

I think I got a little overexcited when I saw this cappuccino swirl ice cream, because I bought it even though I know I don’t like coffee!!  It wasn’t too bad, as coffee flavored ice creams go, and the chocolate swirls were nice and fudgy.  Still, I won’t buy this flavor again.  If only it was available in a vanilla swirl, that would be perfect.  😉

This afternoon, I drove to Blockbuster to redeem a coupon.  It took me eight minutes to get there, and seven to find a parking space.  I rented the movie the way I usually do — by seeing which one was the shortest.  (A pity, because there were several that I’d really like to see, but I just don’t have the patience to sit through a movie that long!)  I was five blocks away when I realized that I’d actually seen the movie before.  So I turned around and returned it.  Can’t say I was too sad about that.  😉  Then I went to the nursery… to spend a lot of money in an attempt to transform what is a weed-choked, cat-infested backyard into a semi-respectable garden.  We shall see what comes of that.  I was supposed to go with my dad, but he’s been postponing it for two weeks already — he’s a total workaholic and it seems like work > me, always — and this is sort of a time-sensitive thing, so I just went on my own.  And I didn’t even get lost this time!  That would have been really embarrassing.  (And in the spirit of Father’s Day, I will state for the record that I actually do love my dad and all.  It’s just that I sometimes feel like his life would be easier if I weren’t around.)

A few weeks back, I received some pomegranate juice to sample from the people at POM Wonderful.  I decided it’s high time I try to do something I’ve been meaning to do for a while, and make my own granola.  I mixed about 1/3 cup rolled oats with two packets of Truvia and then added  1/4 cup pomegranate juice… but that was definitely too much juice, because I wound up having to strain the mixture.  I already had something else roasting in the oven at 450°, so I just put the oats on a sprayed pan and stuck it in on the top rack.  I should have stirred it more frequently, because, as you can see, it kind of burned.

Hmm.  I tossed the very blackened bits, but since I tend to like things well-done, this wasn’t a total failure…

On top of vanilla yogurt.  I couldn’t really taste the pomegranate juice, just a suble sweetness.  Which is weird, because the juice itself is more tart than sweet.  Maybe next time I’d cut back on the Truvia so that the pomegranate flavor comes through.

It was so hot out today that I didn’t feel like anything but a huge salad.

And yes, I do mean huge.  Romaine, Grand Rapids leaf lettuce, broccoli, carrots, cauliflower, tofu, and croutons I made out of a whole wheat roll that I found in the depths of my freezer.  Unfortunately for me, my  mom came in just as I finished making this, and she turned up the air conditioning… so I was freezing, and she was sitting right in front of my face when I was eating this monstrosity.  Since she does that, oh, every day, you’d think I would be used to it, but I guess not.

It’s Sunday evening, which means that I am in the predictable funk.  It doesn’t help that I feel fugly, and I kind of want to work out, but I did that already today, so instead I am going to go settle for my book and my crack.

Have a great Monday.

“Hateful to me as the gates of Hades is that man who hides one thing in his heart and speaks another.”
~Homer
(But isn’t that, like… everyone?)

12 responses to “Hodgepodge

  1. Aw I’m sorry about your foot! That must be frustrating. Lovin the sock tan though. =P
    And your granola looks yummyyy!

  2. “I tried to even it out by using self-tanner on my feet only, but that didn’t work out too well. ” _LOL and yes sock tans suck! I posted about mine right before my fitness show. Neutrogena makes spray tan areosol that i have used successfully to just spray on my feet

    granola. i have a great recipe. your issue on that one was 1. too hot of an oven. 2. no fat source, ie. vegan butter, coconut oil, real butter, whatever it is, just the sugar in the juice is gonna burn like hell with no fat source to balance the cooking times. Nevertheless, hope you enjoyed it 🙂

  3. I don’t really have the patience to sit through movies, either… I usually have to watch them in 30 minute segments and get up and do something else for a few hours in between. I don’t know what it is about TV that I find so hard to focus on…

    I must say, though, that that’s quite the epic sock tan… and I guess it’s just one of those unfortunate realities of life that make the undesirable things stick around.

    Hope you’re enjoying your Sunday evening, hun. Don’t let the funk stick around!

  4. Gahh I always have a sock tan too! I’ve found they even out fairly quickly though when I’m able to get to the beach, but I always spray some sunscreen on them. They still tan, but I can’t imagine having sunburned feet. That would be awful.

    Great quote.

  5. i loved burned things :] i actually purposely burn my popcorn! haha. sock tans are the worst — they NEVER LEAVE! my twin uses self-tanner — my suggestion: stay away. far far away. haha.

    p.s. granola looks awesome!

  6. ~Jessica Zara~

    What you said about your relationship with your Dad completely sums up how I feel about mine. And I’m useless when it comes to movies, as I have the attention span of a goldfish. Avatar really captivated me though, as my Dad bought the DVD a while back and I managed to watch it all in one day in but two sessions (first hour and then hooked for the last hour and a half). That’s almost unheard of for me 😉

    And I have some great sock tan-lines too. My running socks come up to my ankles…ah well, no-one really sees my feet besides me anyways.

    Hope your foot heals soon!

    xxx
    P.S Burnt bits are the best. Just sayin’

  7. AWE poor FOOT 😦 yea it probably needs a little more time…

    yea, burnt bits aside, the darkened ones would make for an extra crunchy bite which isnt a bad thing! i think it looks really good and super healthy with the Truvia ❤

    xoxo

  8. It took me so long just then to figure out which part of your foot that was, haha! xx

  9. I’ve been wanting to get a kindle or reader of some sort. Do you like yours?

    Dana ❤
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  10. Pingback: Growing Gardens « Blue Eyed Heart

  11. Pingback: Here We Go Again « Blue Eyed Heart

  12. Pingback: Friday Foibles « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

