Idiocy Pays

Tuesday is my favorite day of the week in terms of physical activity: Piyo in the AM, and swimming in the PM!  (I say “physical activity” instead of “working out” because I don’t view swimming as a workout.)  I also ran .88 mile in Cramp City today… I am telling you, these side stitches are going to drive me crazy one day.

Oh, why does idiocy pay? … I renewed my pool membership at the beginning of April.  I do it in six-month increments, so my card is supposed to be valid until sometime in October, but when I got there today the guy told me it was expired!  Long story short, the problem was that when I paid the membership fee in April, like an idiot, I forgot to sign my check.  (They’re also pretty idiotic, for not catching it until now, but whatever.)  It’s not a big deal — I signed it today, and my card was re-activated.  And they didn’t even make the renewal retroactive, so now my card is valid until December, and I got two free months’ worth of swimming!  😉

I think there should be some sort of law against having to work on gorgeous days.  It was way, way too beautiful outside to be stuck indoors!  That kind of sucked.  But I made sure to get in my walk during my lunch break to soak up some sun.

Romaine, tempeh, yellow squash, roasted turnip.  Turnip, not rutabaga, because I can’t find those anywhere!  This is a suitable substitute, I guess… but rutabaga is just so much better.

There is a box of mini Larabars in my basement “pantry.”  They expire soon, so I must get through them.  Thus, a flavor I’ve never tried before.

Once upon a time, I think I liked cashews.  But this didn’t taste like anything to me, really; it wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t good either!  Very strange.

And I felt very strange, too, about doing this:

It’s a muffin topper with Barney butter; nothing unusual there, I’ve done that before.  But with chocolate chip or double chocolate chip toppers; this is wild blueberry.  It was the only flavor in the store at the time!  For some reason, it doesn’t seem like a combination that “should” go together, and the fact that it bothers me is probably a good indication that I should do it.  And the truth is that I couldn’t really taste much difference because of it, so it’s really all just in my crazy head.

There are a lot of things in that crazy head!  Including this concoction, which has been brewing in some form for a while now:

Refried kidney beans spread on a garden vegetable tortilla and topped with raspberry chipotle salsa, bell peppers and onions, and corn because it just seemed to belong there!  The salsa totally made this recipe (uh, okay, it’s a stretch to call it a recipe).  Refried beans always look like dog food, but I love them.  It just seems somehow more aesthetically appealing this way!  😉

My sister sent me an e-mail today saying that she “saw this in an article and thought it was pretty powerful”:

It has taken me __ years to discover my inner beauty & special gifts.
I don’t want you to have to wait that long to find yours. And if you
think life will all of a sudden be perfect if you look perfect on the
outside – you’re wrong.  Happiness doesn’t come from changing your
circumstances.  It comes from changing the way you see your
circumstances.

I thought it was rather beautiful, too, so I decided to share it with you!

Now that I have sufficiently babbled about so many random things that I no longer remember what I said, I will wish you a very happy Hump Day.

“I consider exercise vulgar.  It makes people smell.”
~Alec Yuill Thornton

8 responses to “Idiocy Pays

  1. traynharder23

    i love it! =D

    you know what’s weird? i thought the same thing about your combo for the muffin top. like blueberry don’t need pb or butter or something. i obv have issues.

    never tried turnip= only japanese daikon. that shit is the SHIT!

    yay for HUMONGO salads. yeah you better swim there than in my pool- rats, remmeber?

  2. how sweet of your sister to send! that article is beautiful.
    and i totally agree with the cashew cookie — everyone seems to love it but i definitely don’t see what all the hype is about! haha

  3. such a perfect quote for me right now because the book im reading “Food is not the problem; Deal with what is” talks all about this and how our thoughts generate feelings which creat our behaviors. and if we try to fix the outside but close off to whats really going on on a deeper level (ie. a need that isnt being met) than we will continue to feel negative and use coping strategies or food to survive.

    thanks for posting that ❤

  4. YUM! I love refried beans too. My VERY favorite kind are Amy’s refried black beans. I have never before had the urge to eat something straight out of the can, but those are so delicious it is hard not to.

    Hahaha, that is so funny about your pool membership. I’m glad it worked out that you got a few months free – score!

  5. Your tortilla pizza looks good! I like refried beans too, but I only eat them occasionally because the fibre does interesting things to my digestive system 😛 (then again, what doesn’t?!)

    We’ve had lovely sunny days like that in the UK recently too. I usually end up going outside to study because I can’t stand being indoors. It makes you feel like you’re missing out on something, doesn’t it? Though I suppose that’s the case for me because England is not known for it’s sunny weather!

  6. I really love that quote. I think I’ve gotten to the point where I realize that I can’t find happiness by changing the things around me, but changing how I view those things is easier said than done.

    And I completely agree that canned beans/refried beans look like dog food. Sometimes they even smell like it too… Good thing they don’t taste it; not that I would know what dog food tastes like =X

  7. Ha! They should have checked your check sooner! That’s too funny you got two months free!

  8. Pingback: Tired Teeth « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

