Twice

I took the advice of several people and had one of my pears cohabit with a banana overnight in a paper bag.  The banana ripened.  The pear did not.  But I decided to try making those pancakes again anyway, because it does not sit well with me when something doesn’t turn out the way I envisioned!

Obviously, it didn’t work out perfectly this time around, either.  I realized as soon as I started to arrange the pears that the pan I was using was too small, but I was too lazy to create more dishes to wash.  And the dairy burner (I used whey protein powder this time, so I had to use the dairy section) in my kitchen is quite powerful, even on “simmer,” so the bottom was burning before the middle was even cooked through.  It tasted incredible, it just wasn’t much to look at!

Like I said, it does not sit well with me when things don’t turn out.  I knew what I had to do to correct this: use a bigger pan.  I had half of the pear left… I wanted to try this again.  But I have this rule about not eating the same thing twice in one day.  It killed me to do it, but since rules are meant to be broken, this one was broken today.

I used 30g whole wheat pancake mix, 5g vanilla whey protein, one egg white, and a healthy amount of cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger.  I sprayed a pan and sprinkled some of the spices in it, then arranged the pear slices in a pinwheel pattern and poured a little bit of pancake syrup over them.  I let them cook for a minute before adding the pancake batter — I used water as a liquid in that, but I think I added a bit too much; had the batter not been so runny, maybe the pinwheel would have been more visible!  This wasn’t exactly the way I thought it would turn out, but it’s pretty close.  And it was good!

The no eating late “rule” (which isn’t really a rule per se, but I can’t think of a better word) is broken regularly on Friday nights this time of year.  It freaks me out like you would not believe… so much for the exposure therapy model!  Doesn’t seem to work on me.


My mom’s birthday is on Saturday.  As usual, I was commissioned by my dad to buy his gift for her.  In this case, I was instructed to buy it in a duty free shop while in St. Lucia.  Buying jewelry is so much more fun when I’m not spending my own money!  This is what my dad is giving my mom:

White gold ring with diamonds and tanzanite.

And this is from my brother and me:

Multicolored pearls.  Because they’re a lot more affordable.  😉

Supposedly, we’re going out for her birthday.  Not yet clear is the where and the when… I’d rather not go, naturally, but hey… we shall see.

I know it seems to be orange, but it’s actually yellow.

Have a great weekend!

“To live is not breathing; it is action.”
~Jean- Jacques Rousseau

10 responses to “Twice

  1. aww your gifts are beautiful my dear! and that protein pancake looks delish!

  2. I love the ring and the multicolored pearls! I’m a very lucky girl because my boyfriend is a jeweler. Anyway, pears in pancakes are delicious and you certainly can never judge a book by its cover, especially a food-book!
    Shabbat Shalom sweetheart

  3. xthefinalcountdownx

    Those pancakes look amazing. I think I might have to try them sometime 🙂

  4. ive only ever heard of fruit ripening faster when its in a brown bag with an apple!!

    god that ring is stunning!!! ❤

    WOW

  5. Oh, wow; that ring looks stunning! And the pearls are a sweet touch. Your mom is definitely one lucky lady 🙂

    I’m glad you broke the “can’t eat the same thing twice in one day” rule. I used to have the same kind of rule and I absolutely hated it. Thankfully, I’ve managed to break it and have enjoyed countless days of having the same thing twice if I wanted it, without falling over dead. Yay!

  6. Umm your pancakes look awesome! I love how you arranged the pear. Very restaurant-y. I hope your mom enjoys the gifts and has a wonderful birthday!

  7. imaginenamaste

    Those pancakes look amazing! I hope you have a good celebration with your family!

  8. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    omg such beautiful jewelery!! Your Mom will LOVE them. and those pancakes look really good, I need to try to make healthified pancakes soon 🙂 hang in there, you are doing great and i am so glad you are letting yourself eat at night, even if it is a little uncomfortable!

    xoxoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  9. You’ve got great taste in jewelry! But of course! Haha, your dad knew his gift was in good hands!

  10. Pingback: Freaking. Out. « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

