Memorial Day

Hello, all!  Did you enjoy your Memorial Day?… Or your Monday, if you aren’t in the States!  😉

I had this grand plan to go to the lab for a blood draw this morning.  It’s annoying because it requires me to fast, which means going first thing in the morning.  (Unless I care to just not eat all day, which is fine with me, but, well, you know.)  Since we are in the twenty-first century, I think it isn’t asking too much if I expect them to have an answering machine that actually states their hours.  But, alas, they do not, so I took a nice little drive over there at 7.00 AM.  They were closed, obviously.  Not like I really lost sleep over it, since I had just about the worst night’s sleep ever last night anyway!

Upon my not-so-triumphant return home, I attempted to make something that popped into my head the other day.  See, there are some pears in my refrigerator that just refuse to ripen.  Seriously — they’ve been in there for nearly a month!  I actually like unripe pears, but they don’t like me — I always choke on them.  So I’m waiting, and waiting, and waiting, and finally decided I am too impatient and I am going to do something with one of them.

Not quite the way I envisioned them!  I used the microwave since I have zero pancake-flipping skills, but the plate was too small, which ruined the would-have-been-pretty pattern.  Ah, well; will just have to try again!  Long story short: sugar-free syrup, pears, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, whole wheat pancake mix, soy protein powder, egg white, water.  No amounts because obviously this didn’t turn out the way I wanted it to!  I had some of the pear left over, so I chopped it up and microwaved it in a mixture of water and syrup.  It still didn’t soften up.  Something is weird about these pears, I tell you.

I then proceeded to traipse about in the scorching heat.  It was probably about 90 degrees out, which is actually fine with me, as I like the heat.  What I don’t like is the humidity.  Anyway, I just have to say this: I hate Trader Joe’s.  I waited in line for over twenty minutes just to buy some Pure bars.  Too bad that’s the only place around here where I can get them!!  And then I wandered around in search of disposable knives.  I found forks and spoons aplenty, but knives?  Don’t even ask.  Weapons of mass destruction, right?!  (I did find them.  In a supermarket in my neighborhood.  Figures.)

Oh!  The happy return of the baby doll (those of you who have been reading my blog since last spring might recall that I am in love with that type of top):

This actually matches the earrings I wore today, which I bought in St. Lucia.  At the time I thought they were purple, but I guess they’re not.

They had another design that I really loved; it had a tiger’s face.  I have a slight obsession with tigers (and dolphins), but I feel kind of weird about having a tiger hanging from my ear, so I went with these instead.

Requisite pile of vegetation:

Used my julienne peeler to make strands out of an e-n-o-r-m-o-u-s zucchini, then diced up the “core” and added it to a pot with sauteed eggplant, zygote carrots and black beans.  The size of this was rather daunting, but have no fear, I prevailed.


Verbal Vomit!  But not too long, because I would love to get to bed.  So.  Monday = nutritionist.  I actually popped in on Friday, just to get weighed after my vacation, but I didn’t have a full appointment then.  Which might not be such a bad thing, since we are getting very … circular.  I fail to see why it matters whether I am 100% compliant if I fatten up anyway.  I mean, yes, if I were heavily restricting and gaining because my metabolism shut down due to starvation or something, then I see the point.  But it really is quite disgusting to me how much I am eating, and to be Machiavellian about it, if the end result is the same, what’s the difference?!  I do not want to lie about what I eat; that would be stupid and pointless.  In spite of the fact that I am, unfortunately, a very good liar, I prefer to be honest about this, since the only person I’d be fooling is myself.  I said that I won’t be “perfect.”  And the circle keeps going.  And I want to pull my hair out.

Humidity and I are not friends.  Ignoring the frizzbomb on my head, humidity makes my body retain water.  (To clarify: feeling bloated is not the same thing as feeling fat, and neither of these are the same thing as feeling full.  Just saying.)  You’d think it’s dehydrated or something!  Which, believe me, it definitely is not.  It just likes to play cruel jokes on me.  I think my new strategy should be to avoid looking in mirrors or thinking about my corporeal being in any way at all, because doing either of those things makes me want to throw up.  And we know how I feel about that.

As a side note, the Cereal Situation is completely out of control.  I usually have five or six open boxes; that’s normal for me.  But now I have five or six unopened boxes waiting in the wings.  Oy.

Have a great Tuesday.

“Our deeds determine us as much as we determine our deeds.”
~George Eliot

15 responses to “Memorial Day

  1. dude, i wish i had your cereal situation! =/ of course, it’d all be shredded oats and quaker oat squares. end of story.

    sadly i did not have a pile of vegetation. meh. feeling less green coz of that.

    sorry about the pears. i can’t stand pears, sadly. not even the Harry and David “expensive” pears. something about the texture bothers me. asian pears…not great either.

    love the earrings. i really want a post in my ear…but that woudn’t look good in the hospital setting im assuming. =D

    xoxoox.

  2. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    weight gain is awkward- it is never perfect & there is no 100% right way to do it. I know it is easy to complain & feel targetted & feel like you have it terribly, but remember that if you don’t just gain the weight- you won’t live the long life you deserve to life. It is as simple as that. You are beautiful, live it!!

    & ugh HUMIDITY SUCKS- AMENNNN sister.

    xoxoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  3. theyre not gonna get ripe in the fridge!! the fridge slows the ripening process. next time stick em in a bag with a banana overnight.

    i really love all your earringsss…these are great especially!! i’m never good at picking out earrings

    re: “lying” – we’re all good at lying, esp to ourselves. it took me a long time to admit i wasnt getting better because somewhere inside i didnt want to.

    have a fab week!

  4. Love the babydoll top! And your pile of “vegetation.” =P
    Good luck with your nutritionist love 🙂

  5. mann i’m sorry about the pear situation, that’s no fun at all!

    i think it’s very admirable that though you may not always want to be, you’re honest about what you eat/don’t eat/etc.. bc it’s only going to help you in the long run, that’s a promise.

    keep it up, girlfriend, it’s worth the battles.. worth the fights…

  6. And I thought MY cereal situation was out of control…. I have about 6 opened boxes, which is horrible because I don’t even eat that much cereal; I just get bored of one type, which means that I have several opened boxes sitting around for MONTHS.

    I think it’s great that you’re honest, because lying throughout our recovery will only get us so far, and it always ends up biting us in the ass anyways. Just try and take care of yourself, hun, because this stupid ED isn’t really worth keeping around.

  7. I wasn’t able to view the photos from your trip because I’m ridiculous with technology and passwords…. 😛 It’s ridiculous how stupid I am when it comes to computers. That being said I’m glad you’re back! As a side, I always love your quotes. Where do you find them?
    Humidity and I do not get along. Or rather, humidity and my hair don’t. I seriously think hair ties are the world’s greatest invention after the printing press and light bulbs.
    It blows me away how often I can totally relate to your “verbal vomit.” The only difference is that you actually have the courage (which I really admire) to say it! And yes, I also feel that if you’re going to pay these people not telling them the truth is just a waste of your time and money.

    Rachael*

  8. When I want fruit to ripen up I put it in a brown paper bag with a banana. They secrete hormones that talk to each other and make them ripen up faster!

    I get you on the frustration with compliance seeming frustrating and pointless at times. And it’s good at least you’re honest about it. But remember, your metabolism WILL speed back up, it just takes a sustained time treating it right and having consistent fuel…the process is maddening as hell, but hang in there, remember the only way out is through…

  9. “But it really is quite disgusting to me how much I am eating”

    make your food more dense, less bulk. you seem to eat a lot of veggies/fruit which are all good and great until you need to add things like butter/whole eggs/real food in. you dont have to eat a lot at all if you just make it dense

  10. I microwave unripe apples and pears, too! A little cinnamon and lemon juice is quite good… sorry about the mess, though.

  11. im so glad u mentioned humidity and water retention!! my genetics make me prone to inflammation and fluid retention!! if i do a lot of exercise..especially in the humid weather.. my legs swell like summer squash or something to that effect. i hate it but it kind of feels cool tho lol.. all squishy and water-logged haha!

  12. I love those earrings! I wish your dietian didnt give you a hard time, thats kind of weird? I’ve had really good luck with dietians, they’ve all worked so well with me.

    Memorial day was boring for me. Missed my family, they were all BBqing up north 😦

    Dana xx
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  13. Pingback: Twice « Blue Eyed Heart

  14. Pingback: Review: PURE Bars « Blue Eyed Heart

  15. Pingback: CSN Stores Upcoming Review + Hale & Hearty « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

