All Over The Place

Glad you liked the photos — I’m one of those annoying people who is snapping pictures of everything all the time!  The instructor who went diving with us nearly spit out his regulator because he started to laugh when my battery died in the middle of the second dive.  Which, to be fair, wasn’t entirely my fault: the camera doesn’t have an on / off button, so once it’s in the waterproof housing, it’s on until I take it out.  I have a feeling that the whole standby thing probably uses up more battery power than it’s worth, but whatever.

Hmmm… I seem to have forgotten how to blog.  So.  When I travel, I take nut butter packets with me because it’s just easier than taking a jar.  That’s why I was saving this Sunbutter sample:

I didn’t knead it well, so there were some really gross chunks in there, but that was my fault.  Honestly, I don’t think this tasted all that different from peanut butter!  On a related note, I discovered that I actually don’t hate Justin’s almond butter.  Too bad my open packet was attacked by fruit flies or something and had to be thrown out.  And on another related note, those are the pitas I mentioned … they are incredibly thick and doughy, and also nearly double the size the nutrition panel says they are, but that’s what I get for being neurotic and weighing it.

But, I did not weigh myself today (I don’t weigh myself, generally, but Sunday mornings are my weakness).  So I suppose I can consider that an accomplishment.

Some other new products I picked up because I got tired of Turtle Mountain all the time:

Ciao Bella blood orange sorbet and Almond Dream “ice cream.”

The sorbet tasted, well, like an orange.  This shouldn’t come as a surprise, but I’ve tasted so many things that don’t actually taste like they say they will, so I’m just throwing it out there.  😉

Vanilla is always a winner, if you ask me.  I liked this better than soy “ice cream,” though; the texture isn’t quite as “mushy,” I guess.

Yes, so, this post is all over the place, but that’s suitable because so am I!  I am getting to work on planning my next vacation; I feel like I need to squash in as many as possible before school crushes me again.  Too bad I’m not a millionaire… I’m looking at August right now, so I can excuse that one by calling it my birthday present to myself.  😉  But there is no good reason for me to go in June, except that I feel like it!  I probably won’t, though.  Boo.

As annoying as it was that I couldn’t find the wraps I wanted and had to buy brown rice tortillas, I’m glad it happened; in fact, I think I will now be buying more of the latter.  Since I just finished a package:

Barney butter, banana slices, and sugar-free chocolate syrup.  I decided to overlook the fact that I don’t actually like warm bananas, and baked this.  I’m glad I did, because it just wouldn’t have been the same otherwise.

Today I went to my friend’s son’s upsherin. I missed my nephew’s while I was away, but I had to go to this?… I felt like a sixth wheel. Since I went with two friends and their kids (three between them — hence, the “sixth wheel” reference). I left so fast I nearly got whiplash.

Obviously, I missed my veggies while I was away.

I doused cubed tofu in chili powder, cayenne pepper and paprika and put it on a non-stick pan for a few minutes, then added the vegetables (broccoli, green beans, sugar snap peas, red pepper, carrots, celery, water chestnuts) with some more of those spices, and some garlic powder, onion powder, and salt.  Then I added some cooked rice noodles and topped it all off with crushed red pepper flakes.  I do believe I went a bit overboard on the whole spice thing, if my fiery mouth is any indication.  Whoops.

Something that made me very happy today:

Cherries!  One of my favorite summer fruits (if not the favorite)… my mom told me not to buy them, since they were on sale, so according to her, they can’t be any good.  I am pleased to report that she was wrong, and these are amazing.  Unless I’m just cherry-deprived.  😉

I’m actually not going to verbally vomit — not for lack of reason, but for lack of patience.  I just don’t feel like it.  Isn’t today your lucky day… 😉

Have a great Memorial Day! 

“The chains of habit are generally too small to be felt until they are too strong to be broken.”
~Samuel Johnson

12 responses to “All Over The Place

  1. traynharder23

    hahha i LOVE peaches. too bad they’re chock full of pesticides. =(

    i love when i shower my shit with too much curry powder. then i get a hot mouth for the rest of the day. LOVE IT.

    warm bananas…still on the fence about that

  2. thats my favorite sorbet!! mmmm blood orange.
    banana+pb+choc in a wrap. can i come over for lunch?! so good.
    as a little girl I definitely didnt get the concept of ushpirin. I cut my brother’s hair before he was three. Hahahah. Demon child? Me? Nevah.

  3. i loveee your pictures. and your mixture of sorbet and ic reminds me of a creamsicle, for sure!!

    thinking of youuu ❤

  4. imaginenamaste

    Congrats on not weighing yourself 🙂 Virtual high five 🙂

  5. Awesome news on the scale! I don’t like warm bananas either, but with chocolate…may be a totally different story! Can’t wait to hear where your next vacay will be. Do you have any ideas yet?

  6. Glad you baked those suckers. I can’t stand raw bananas. they HAVE to be hot or cooked into something. 🙂

    Hee, I take pics of everything, too. Me and my camera. We are together, always.

  7. yay u got the new almond dream!! it looks so fabulous. the only thing that suprised me was that it was 140 calories a serving.. which is totally cool compared to regular ice cream.. but i wouldve guess it wouldve been much lighter given how they always label their almond milks to be low in calories.. who knows maybe they have one liek that in the works…

    i snap pics of everything too.. ive heard comments from people like “wow hoew many angles can she take of something” .. i usually glare back at them.. geesh lol.

    CHERRIES ❤ yummy

  8. thats great you didn’t weigh yourself hun — that is a HUGE accomplishment.
    i’m also the weirdo snappin’ pics everywhere. but hey, we only get to live once ;]

    take care sweetie!

  9. sounds like you are doing well girl. glad you did not weigh the nut butter or yourself! thats a huge success, one to keep up with and celebrate!

  10. Ack! How badly do I want to try making a wrap with nut butter, banana, and chocolate? Super badly! I’ve got all the ingredients, so it’s just a matter of time.

    That’s really great that you didn’t weigh yourself, hun… that was one of the crucial steps in my recovery, as I couldn’t keep going if I saw a number I didn’t like. I haven’t stepped on… err… looked at the number on the scale in so long, that I’m pretty sure I’ll be avoiding it forever. It’s really liberating not to have your mood dictated by a few digits, and I’ll be perfectly content never knowing how much I actually weigh again. It was scary at first, but now, I’m loving it.

    Hope you’re doing well! ❤

  11. I’ve never had sun butter. Good for you that you didnt weigh yourself. I hate the damn scale. I’ve been pretty good about weighing myself recently. It’s been a hard thing for me to let go of.

    Dana xx

    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  12. Pingback: Semitchkes |

Leave a Reply

