Skip It

This is always weird… it’s Friday tomorrow, but it feels like Saturday night to me right now.  Anyway.  I am just glad that the holiday is over.  As I lack the desire to humiliate myself at this particular time, I will, for the most part, opt out of going into detail about the past few days, and just rewind to Tuesday.

I’ve been eyeing these peanut butter chocolate granola bars for a while, but they are insanely expensive.  They were on sale at Whole Foods this week, so I bought it.  And by “on sale,” I mean $4.99 for a box of five bars.

They were rather stickier than I’d expect from a granola bar, but the flavor wasn’t bad.  I just didn’t like the sesame seeds in there, which isn’t a surprise, since I hate sesame seeds.  They were good, but I don’t know if I’d regularly shell out that kind of money on this.

As I recall, Tuesday wasn’t so great, either.  On top of the oh-so-beautiful weather, there were a bunch of other things that just made an already unpleasant situation feel even worse.  Such as the fact that I nearly had a freaking coronary… take a look.

That, my dears, is the receipt from the medication I am taking for my osteoporosis.  Explain the logic to me, please.  The retail price of this is $110.  Why is my co-pay larger than the amount the insurance pays?!  They say it’s because I have to meet my deductible.  Okay, great, I’ve met it.  Now how much will it cost?… $75.  Why the hell do I even bother to pay for insurance?!  So there’s a generic, which I will be able to get for $15; obviously, I’m going to do that.  But why should I have to pay more for a generic than someone on Medicaid would have to pay for the brand?!  I know the brand works for me; I don’t care to mess around with it.  But I don’t have $75 a month to just throw out the window like that.  Because I spent all that paying the medical bills of the people on Medicaid.

Okay.  Breathing.

I was right about my not liking “raw” protein powder; I mixed the second half of the chocolate peanut butter Spiru-tein with water, cocoa powder, and chunky peanut butter… but it made me gag until I microwaved the whole thing.  Guess the protein powder will be staying at home.

Amid my soggy treks on Tuesday, I picked up some flowers for the holiday.

The roses are from my brother.  Mine are on the right.

There’s a tub of cottage cheese in my refrigerator with a rapidly-approaching expiration date, so I made a concotion based off this recipe.

It’s so flat because I scaled down the recipe, and I used the smallest pan I had, but apparently it wasn’t small enough.  Anyway.  I replaced the pumpkin with applesauce and the flaxseed with vanilla whey protein powder, and I skipped the hot water and baking powder because apparently I am a moron and didn’t see it listed there.  My measurements were all off, too, but that’s because I have zero mathematical skills of which to speak.  It tasted a little “bran-ny.”  Good thing I don’t mind that.

And, because we’re supposed to have dairy on this holiday…

Yes, I am waiting for someone to get on my case because this is a “diet cheesecake.”  Honestly, I hate cheesecake.  I always have.  I see no sense in “indulging” in something I don’t even like.  This was fine.  For the first bite.  After that, it was just too… cheesy.

I could explain how I spent an hour yesterday morning wanting to shoot myself because the “services” were an hour later than I had been told they would be, which meant that I had to hang around while the place got more and more crowded.  I could get into how my skinnier-than-me-and-gets-away-with-it niece ate three (baked) French fries today, and nobody said a word, but I can’t do that.  I could, but I won’t.  Because that would just open the floodgates, and it would be better for us all if they remained closed.  So instead I am going to go and try to figure out how to arrange the next couple of crazy days.

Happy Friday.

“Too many people overvalue what they are not and undervalue what they are.”
~Malcolm S. Forbes

11 responses to “Skip It

  1. traynharder23

    health insurance just sucks balls.

    i too hate cheesecake! bleh!

    i really like your flowers!

    Awwww feel better! i’m here for you!

  2. i almost had a coronary for you.. almost 100$ wow!!! FUK health insurance.. come to canada haha. lol. awe ❤

  3. Ack. Sorry things are so crazy/hectic/unpleasant for you, girl. I hope they all settle soon and you’re able to find some peace ❤

    And while Canada may be lacking in Greek yogurt and Whole Foods, I'm SO glad we don't have to deal with health insurance, because hot. damn that's freaking annoying….

  4. imaginenamaste

    Ahh, it always makes things worse with things are crazy and stressful. I hope everything starts to settle down for you! I feel you on the insurance stuff–I swear that my insurance debacle lately is going to cause me to need even more therapy! 🙂

  5. hang in there…i’m rooting for you with the chaos 🙂

  6. The flowers are gorgeous! Sorry about the health insurance. 😦 That’s terrible.

  7. Oh boy, holidays and family get-togethers are always interesting, for better or worse…glad you made it through. And I TOTALLY hear you on the medical insurance, I get angry every time I think about what high premiums I pay for so little coverage. 😡 I hope your weekend gets off to a good start, take care!

  8. ugh, insurance is such a pain :[ feel better hun. things will get better!

  9. Ugh, sorry about the medication drama. I’m also having insurance issues and it’s so, so stressful.

    Hope you have a good weekend!

  10. Pingback: Yet Another Insurance Rant! « Blue Eyed Heart

  11. Pingback: Post #400 Giveaway Winner « Blue Eyed Heart

Leave a Reply

